We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little Riad, ideally situated for 'the square'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Massiba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Massiba to your Saves list
Riad Massiba
38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #102 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely little Riad, ideally situated for 'the square'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed for three nights at Riad Massiba with my niece. We had a lovely room (small suite) nicely decorated and very clean.Madame Vivienne, the owner was charming, although our French is poor and her staff were most helpful and extremely courteous. I would recommend this Riad, although small, it is a short walk to the main square and very quiet. I have stayed in a few Riads, but would definitely go back to this one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    38
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
37
103
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This Riad lives up to all the reviews given. 4 of us stayed there for a week from 23rd September to 30th September. When you arrive outside there is no indication of what lies on the other side of that door. It's a calm oasis from the mad world outside. The Riad is in an ideal position just minutes from the main square, though the alleyways can be a little hair raising at times with all the bikes and motorbikes but you can't fault the location. It is clean and has everything you need. We were the only guests so had the place to ourselves and could make ourselves at home, it even has a lovely cat for company. Ahmed and Mina were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was wonderful and we would recommend getting Mina to cook for you as we had a lovely meal prepared by her. One tip is to not leave alcohol around as it did have a tendency to evaporate when the Proprietor was in residence! but we could not fault this place and would recommend it 100%

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Six of us stayed at this Riad for 3 nights and had a fabulous time in Marrakesh – Vivienne was a charming host and even through we did not speak French we somehow managed to communicate well with assistance from Ahmed.
Ahmed and Mina were wonderful staff and we felt that this was our home from home. Mina cooked the most divine meal for us one evening and breakfasts were fabulous too.
Nothing was ever too much trouble and I would highly recommend this riad to any travellers to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
335 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We really picked a gem with Riad Massiba. Vivienne has put so much time and energy into making the riad into such a beautiful place to stay, and welcomes her guests like you are long-lost friends coming back home. We enjoyed talking to her very much in our broken French. Her "right hand man" Ahmed was a true gentleman. Nothing was too much trouble for him, and he made our two-night stay a truly memorable one. I have no hesitation recommending this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech. It was the real highlight of our time there. (BTW, for those of you with cars, there is an excellent parking facility directly opposite the riad, costing about US$3.50 per day.)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We 4 friends stayed at Riad Massiba and I can't recommend it enough. Vivienne and Ahmed did so much to make our stay enjoyable, nothing was too much to ask - from organising taxis to imprompture dinners, everything was managed with expert care. The big rooms and ambience of this riad made it our favourite in Morocco. Thankyou Vivienne and Ahmed for making our stay in Marrakesh so wonderful.
Ford and Montgomery party, Australia.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Vivienne could not have been more welcoming. We travelled with friends and our 5 month old baby booking the entire riad. A travel cot and baby bath was provided even though we did request this - a thoughtful gesture that we greatly appreciated.

One of our friends cancelled at the last minute so we only used 2 of the 3 bedrooms for our first night - we offered to pay the full price but Vivienne refused to accept full payment. She is truly a magnificent hostess.

The riad is well situated in a safe area of the medina about 10 minutes from Jma el Fna. Our breakfast was served on the terrace and it was delicious.

My friends and I all agreed that we would stay there again. Recommend booking the entire riad with a group of friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

we spent 3 nights at the riad Massiba and we have been completly satisfied of our choice. good ambience, spacious room and bathroom, and a very good breakfast on the private terrace. Vivienne, the owner, and the staff were very kind and helpful. good value for money.
Milano, 1 dicembre 2009, Clarissa e Matteo

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#89 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#62 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#40 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#91 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#103 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#92 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Massiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massiba

Address: 38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Massiba, is an exceptional guesthouse which invites you to a timeless travel where the city of Marrakech deploys all its spell as a concubine its finery, whereme monts pass by languishingly, and where the bewitched visitor will make a salutary rest stop to feed himself with serenity and peace before pursuing his long way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Massiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Massiba Marrakech
Riad Massiba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Massiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.