We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and nothing too much trouble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Massiba

Save Saved
You added Riad Massiba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Massiba
38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #93 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location and nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at Riad Massiba. All the bases were covered from the convenient location, quiet, clean and warm room through to the fresh breakfast on the terrace....and this is before the help we had with reservations and VERY early taxis. A delight!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    27
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
28
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at Riad Massiba for three nights and had a lovely time. Vivienne, her lovely cats and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The riad felt like home, and the proximity to places in Medina was great. A great place to stay when visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. The airport pickup was worth the 15€ and well organised. The location is quiet and only 7-8 minutes (walking distance) away from jemaa el fna.
For you get your own key for the riad, it is possible to come back for a rest after having visited some parts of the medina like the souks and relax before you go on e.g. to south part of the city.
The Riad is ideal for those who like to visit Marrakech's inner town and not to be recommended for a longer stay at the Riad itself because there aren't so much amenities like in a hotel with pool and garden and so on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Once you knock on the authentic wooden door in the street wall and it opens (mind your head!), you feel so welcome when entering the hallway and patio of this gorgeous old house.
Do not recall to be welcomed so warm and kindly by a total stranger, the French owner of the house, who very quickly isn't a stranger anymore, more like a sweet old friend who is so happy to see you again.
Take your time to discover and admire all hidden treasures of this aunthentic, beautifully restored riad: every single, small detail calls for attention and even after a couple of days one still finds new hidden artifacts. We peticular loved the fact that it wasn't stuffed and over done with lots of local items, but tastefully designed with some beautiful examples of old, local craftsmanship: one of the reasons why we chose this riad.

So once the warm welcome and first glasses of sweet mint tea (Berber whiskey..) were history, we were shown our chosen Sable Suite on the first floor, a very spacious, silent and cool space with a certain atmosphere which cannot be described: it felt good, like coming home after a long trip into history. The Sable Suite has, apart from a double bed in the main room, an alcove with 2 single beds as well, very smart for families with children. To obtain optimal profit from the A/C (an absolute necessity), the thick white curtain to the second room was drawn, a very good idea.
En suite bathroom with interesting bathtub, all tadelact, is another eye opener: a feeling of going back into time, but more than sufficient and convenient. Large, heavy towels as well as smaller ones were changed daily. The bedlinnen is of excellent quality and was changed every 4th day.
Roof top terrace: much is written about it already, it is charming. We loved to watch the 2 gorgeous cats of the owner and their little friend proudly parading over the adjoing rooftops, playfully and naughty - as cats can be. One of the cats talks... and expects you to join him in conversation as he seeks attention.
Breakfast had little changes from day to day, Always served gracefully with a modest smile, by Ahmed and Soumia, 2 beautiful sweet people, either on the sunlit rooftop terrace or downstairs inside when weather was less nice and rain showers fell over hot Marrakech...
What struck us was the absolute silence once inside the riad's walls: hardly any streetnoise (and it ís very noisy on the Streets of Marrakech), no smells, just the occasional sounds from the muezzins around at certain hours.
Location is very convenient: all main places and points of interest can easily be reached and are within walking distance, one does need public transport to go to places outside the old city walls.
And the fact that everything was so well maintained (the plants all over are Ahmed's pride) and extremely clean, in spite of the sand and dust outside, added to the pleasures.
Over the 11 days of our stay in this riad we became good friends with the owner, Vivienne, and when time came to return home we felt sorry to go and to leave this fantastic house and the sweet staff: it wasn't a 'Fare well " but rather an '''Au revoir ".

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are equally beautifully furnished, each room has its own charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was the best riad I stayed at during my stay in Morocco. It is beautifully decorated and very clean. Having breakfast on the roof was a great experience. They also arranged an airport pick up at night which was much appreciated! I would definitely stay at the same riad if I'm back in Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This riad so authentic, it only has 3 guest rooms so is always so peaceful, and it is decorated traditionally and features beautiful orange trees in the courtyard and original features dotted throughout. Breakfast was plentiful, of excellent quality and served on the stunning roof terrace at a time which was convenient for you (we always chose 9am). It is spotlessly clean and they are so helpful, drawing you little maps so you don't get lost, and although the owner doesn't speak any English at all she is welcoming all the same, and Ahmed does speak good english. Nothing is too much trouble for Ahemd, one afternoon we asked for a pot of coffee and he got it for us straight away and didn't charge us for it, this is just one example of their hospitality; this place feels like home. Location is great too, just a 10 minute walk from the square. The only thing I would say is they do not tell you that they served dinner and I wish they had informed us of this, as dinner in may have been more suitable on certain nights (Marrakech can tire you out!). Despite this would not hesitate to reccomend this beautiful and peaceful play to anyone. Great value too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I wonderful welcome to Marrakech - the hosts are lovely & speak English & French easily. The atmosphere is calm, cool and totally relaxing with a stunning roof terrace where a super breakfast is served. It is in easy reach of the main square and local attractions. The room was perfect, clean, comfortable, tastefully furnished and enhanced with A/C. We hired an extra bed and there was plenty of room for 3 adults.
We were a group of 3 women on a small break for 4 nights in June & loved every minute of it and felt safe at all times if a little hot! We easily found our way around with the help of a map & support from our lovely hosts.
We would certainly return to Marrakech and definitely recommend this Riad Massiba to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Massiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massiba

Also Known As:
Riad Massiba Marrakech
Riad Massiba Hotel Marrakech
Address: 38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#196 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Massiba, is an exceptional guesthouse which invites you to a timeless travel where the city of Marrakech deploys all its spell as a concubine its finery, whereme monts pass by languishingly, and where the bewitched visitor will make a salutary rest stop to feed himself with serenity and peace before pursuing his long way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Riad Massiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Massiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.