We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic Riad in the Heart of Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Massiba

Save Saved
You added Riad Massiba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Massiba
38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #93 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exotic Riad in the Heart of Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was the best riad I stayed at during my stay in Morocco. It is beautifully decorated and very clean. Having breakfast on the roof was a great experience. They also arranged an airport pick up at night which was much appreciated! I would definitely stay at the same riad if I'm back in Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    27
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
28
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This riad so authentic, it only has 3 guest rooms so is always so peaceful, and it is decorated traditionally and features beautiful orange trees in the courtyard and original features dotted throughout. Breakfast was plentiful, of excellent quality and served on the stunning roof terrace at a time which was convenient for you (we always chose 9am). It is spotlessly clean and they are so helpful, drawing you little maps so you don't get lost, and although the owner doesn't speak any English at all she is welcoming all the same, and Ahmed does speak good english. Nothing is too much trouble for Ahemd, one afternoon we asked for a pot of coffee and he got it for us straight away and didn't charge us for it, this is just one example of their hospitality; this place feels like home. Location is great too, just a 10 minute walk from the square. The only thing I would say is they do not tell you that they served dinner and I wish they had informed us of this, as dinner in may have been more suitable on certain nights (Marrakech can tire you out!). Despite this would not hesitate to reccomend this beautiful and peaceful play to anyone. Great value too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I wonderful welcome to Marrakech - the hosts are lovely & speak English & French easily. The atmosphere is calm, cool and totally relaxing with a stunning roof terrace where a super breakfast is served. It is in easy reach of the main square and local attractions. The room was perfect, clean, comfortable, tastefully furnished and enhanced with A/C. We hired an extra bed and there was plenty of room for 3 adults.
We were a group of 3 women on a small break for 4 nights in June & loved every minute of it and felt safe at all times if a little hot! We easily found our way around with the help of a map & support from our lovely hosts.
We would certainly return to Marrakech and definitely recommend this Riad Massiba to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Initially I would stay in Riad Massiba with 1 friend. However 2 weeks before our stay 1 other friend decided to join us. We called with the owner, Vivian and this was absolutely no problem (for an extra price of course). Staff is very kind and helpful. The taxi driver they work with, Hassan, speaks English and I recommend to tour with him.
It is about 5 minutes from the square and there are great restaurants in the neighbourhood. Bear in mind that you might get lost on your first day due to the fact the medina is a bit of a maze. We are experienced map readers and love to walk around, but it is hard to navigate in the medina.
I recommend to go to a local hammam if you have the time, and do explore this beautiful city, but beware of children and young men trying to help you. They will ask you for money.
A tour to the Atlas mountains is also a great experience.
The room is lovely, spacious and clean. Breakfast is amazing, the self made jam for example is delish. The medina is crazy loud and noisy, but as soon as you enter the Riad you feel calm again. I recommend this Riad for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Mint tea on arrival was lovely, Ahmed organised a taxi and helped with luggage. Vivienne the owner was super and with our limited French we managed to have some interesting conversations. Super breakfasts on the terrace and the ideal location for getting to the main square in Marrakech without getting lost. Riad is on a busy side street but once the door is closed the accommodation is a peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Rooms are clean and comfortable and tastefully furnished. Would certainly return.

Wish we had Remembered/been offered a home cooked evening meal on just one night (as we forgot that this was an option) rather than having to find something suitable ourselves all the time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in Riad Massiba for two noghts in April 2013 and it was an excellent choice. Everything was perfect and the room was beautiful, clean and very cosy. Thanks to a super hospitality of Vivienne and Ahmed we felt like at home. We can highly recommend this Riad to all visitors. It is the best place in Marrakech. The main square was very close, breakfast was delicious and everything was nice and clean.
Ivana and Vladimir, The Czech Republic

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a lovely riad!
We stayed me and my wife Jessy for 4 days at Riad Massiba and everything was so perfect. Vivienne and Ahmed was taking care of us and gave us so nice advice to visit the city.
Breakfast was delicious and fullfilling. The room was very typical and decorated with care. Thank you soo much Vivienne and Ahmed for this lovely stay and all you nice care. For sure, if we come back to Marrakech we will come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Massiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massiba

Also Known As:
Riad Massiba Marrakech
Riad Massiba Hotel Marrakech
Address: 38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#196 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Massiba, is an exceptional guesthouse which invites you to a timeless travel where the city of Marrakech deploys all its spell as a concubine its finery, whereme monts pass by languishingly, and where the bewitched visitor will make a salutary rest stop to feed himself with serenity and peace before pursuing his long way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Riad Massiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Massiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.