We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Massiba

Save Saved
You added Riad Massiba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Massiba
38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #90 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
scarborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Anyone that has been to Marrakech will know that it is a bit like Marmite, you either love the noise and the extreme hustle and bustle or you hate it. I love it! I stayed at Riad Massiba with some friends on a shopping trip to Marrakech ... If you go to Marrakech stay in a Riad and not a hotel. In my opinion a Riad helps you experience the true Marrakech.

Behind little wooden doors off the maze of streets are were many of the Riad's are and provide a quiet, safe haven from the bustling street's. Riad Massiba is authentic, rustic and full of charm. The team and lovely and warm, welcoming people. Ahmed in particular is very helpful and nothing is to much trouble.

Our flight arrived quite late and they had organised a taxi to collect us from the airport which was waiting for us when we arrived. Upon arrival at the Riad we were met with hot snacks and the famous hot sweet mint tea. We were seated in the 'tented area' which is really beautiful. Nothing is too much trouble here, from our bags being whizzed to our room, to showing us maps of where to go and even walking us all to the Haman for a treatment we had before we left.

As with all Riad's be careful when you go through the wooden doors, they are small and my friends and I cracked our heads a few times!!!

The room was basic but full of charm. The most lovely think for me was being woken by the Azzan (Call to Prayer) which fills the Riad. Breakfast was huge and served on the terrace. Fresh pastries, pancakes and coffee which seemed to just keep coming! Well received prior to our shopping trip!

I hope to visit the Riad again later in the year. You can choose more 'flash' Riad's but you will pay more it. This Riad is great, you must go.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    30
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
31
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This New Years we stayed with our 2 kids (8 and 10) at the Riad Massiba. The owner, Vivienne and her "team", Ahmed and Meena, made us feel very welcome and well looked after. Ahmed in particular was wonderfully courteous and attentive. Nothing was a problem - whether it was very early/late breakfasts, late check-out, packaging up our delicate souvenirs for the journey home. We had 2 superb dinners there - we highly recommend eating dinner there at least one evening. The location was excellent - in the heart of the Medina, just 5 mins walk from the Jamal El Fna square. The riad itself is cosy and beautifully furnished and decorated. It was a little sanctuary of calm and tranquility. One thing to bear in mind though is that there was no locks on the guestroom doors. That is the only reason we didn't give it an "excellent" rating. However it is only a small riad with 3 guestrooms and Vivienne let us use the safe in her office.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I along with our 18-year old daughter and friend spent five fabulous days at the Riad Massiba. The Riad is located in the heart of the Medina, a short walk from the famous Jamal El Fna square. Riad Massiba is small and charmingly cosy with beautiful furnishings. It is like an oasis of calm and quiet admist the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Vivienne, the owner, is most welcoming and very informative about what to do and see in Marrakech. The homemade breakfasts and dinners (when we chose to "eat in") were delicious. By the end of our stay, we felt a little like locals and were sad to leave. We highly recommend the Riad MASSIBA.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This place has it all for people who really want to live Marrakech. The 3 rooms riad gives this very nice warm contact and feeling which you will never have in those too big or international hotels. It fits perfect aswell for a couple as for a whole family.

The situation is simply perfect to get out of the city, or to walk into the medina. The staff is very helpfull and devoted, aswell as the owner. We got different tips and tricks about Marrakeck what s quit very helpfull here.

The riad is a traditional one, so restaurated and accommodated with respect for the Maroccon culture and values what i experience as a big plus! Stay certainly also overnight eating because the quality and finition of the typical Maroccon food is simply great! And yes, the beds are super, what s for me besides the qualty of the food one of my main expectations.

This is the prefect place for people who want to live and taste Marrakech and whome are able to step out of their golden cages or prisons. Come here, walk out, discover & enjoy, smell, live and taste Marrakech from here out, this riad will provide you the full dimension and perfect base for all that.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had originally booked a room with Riad Alamir through www.luxury-riads.com but they had overbooked us so we decided to choose Riad Massiba on account of their reviews and location. We were not disappointed! The riad is pretty well located and the square is about 8-10 minutes walk away. Ahmed was very helpful and explained everything to us, even providing us with a map and detailed instructions. Down with a slight flu, we woke up late for breakfast everyday but they were so accommodating. Breakfasts were great and they asked us how we wanted our eggs done. Ahmed even lent us his phone to make an appointment with the spa! There was no one there except us as this is a very small riad, only 3 rooms. The only gripe we had was the shower... because the shower head is slightly clogged up it emitted sharp jets of water which made showering weirdly painful! But it was nothing unbearable. Other than that, we would highly recommend Riad Massiba, really like its decor, tranquility and great service. Thank you Vivienne, Ahmed and Mina!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed at Riad Massiba for 4 days in end of July for my first trip to Marrakech. The riad is about 10mn walk from the central square Jemma El Fna. I found the riad very well renovated and decorated, keeping in line with tradition instead of aiming for modern/occidental interiors. I must say that what I liked best was the food: the breakfasts were huge and great to start off the day, but the thing you really should not miss out on is the kefta tajine!
The lodging was nice and clean. The rooftop enabled some sun bathing even though limited in time given the extreme heat in August. All in all, a great vacation and definitely a place I recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We arrived on 11 May and were given a very warm welcome including mint tea served by Mina and a helpful map of the way to the main square by Ahmed. The owner Vivienne was wonderful and nothing was any trouble whether booking a taxi to the Majorelle gardens or asking for a recommendation of a restaurant. The Riad is peaceful and calming after a hectic day exploring the many narrow streets of Marrakech. I loved the alcove where breakfast was served and the beautiful terrace. The rooms were comfortable and individual. The location of the Riad is perfect for reaching the main square and souks. Vivienne was so caring we were treated like members of her family. We were genuinely sad to leave. I would recommend Riad Massiba to anyone wanting a reasonably priced adventure to Marrakech. Thank you Vivienne. Damon & Martin, London, England.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Massiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massiba

Address: 38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Massiba, is an exceptional guesthouse which invites you to a timeless travel where the city of Marrakech deploys all its spell as a concubine its finery, whereme monts pass by languishingly, and where the bewitched visitor will make a salutary rest stop to feed himself with serenity and peace before pursuing his long way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Massiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Massiba Marrakech
Riad Massiba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Massiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.