We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Massiba

Save Saved
You added Riad Massiba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Massiba
38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We had an absolutely fabulous time at the beuatiful riad massiba.The rooms are very clean and typically morrocan. Vivienne, Ahmed and Mina looked after us so well, we had a wonderful meal cooked at the riad, and the food was delicious - well recommended! It is a wonderful retreat from the bussle of Marrakech, as soon as you close the front door the peace and tranquility of the riad take over. The roof terrace is a lovely place to take an evening drink, and to enjoy the lovely breakfast that is provided. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    29
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
31
81
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trieste, italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The hosts were incredibly hospitable, we felt like members of their extended family. I was traveling with my family and fiance and it was a perfect place for all of us, we had the entire riad to ourselves. Breakfast on the rooftop was wonderful every morning and the riad is very centrally located. We had a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Marrakech is a fantastic place, vibrant and exiting and amidst all of the hustle and bustle of the town centre and square is the fantastic Riad Massiba. Situated only a short walk form the main square this great little Riad is home away from home, welcomed by the proprietor Vivienne and Ahmed we were give 'Morrocan Whisky' and shown to our room. Clean and bright and traditional we were very pleased and this continued throughout our stay. We would have no hesitation in either recommending this Riad to others or going back and staying ourselves. Thank u to both Vivienne and Ahmed for making our stay so fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Warm and friendly welcome, the staff will make you feel at home.
They are very available and will be very helpfull to make you find your way in Marrakech area.
The breakfast taken on the rooftop of the Riad is a must.
The rooms are well decorated in the tipical maroccan style.
The riad is ten minutes walk from the famous Jamaa el Fna square.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We've stayed 7 nights at Riad Massiba and enjoyed every minute of it! It is a beautiful riad decorated with great taste by its owner, a lady from France. The riad is composed of 3 rooms, and is therefore considered as a small riad. However, we were lucky enough to have the riad for ourselves for most of the stay. Of course when couple + kids are there it is a bit more noisy, but nothing more than in a home. Beds are maybe the only thing which could be improved, there were a bit hard. Other than that, a delicious breakfast was served to us every morning on the rooftop terrasse by Ahmed and Mina, bedrooms were cleaned up every day and the riad itself is super clean and very quiet compared to the city itself. The riad's location is perfect, 10 min away from Jemaa El Fna. We were really happy with our stay and Vivienne the owner was particularly helpful for planning little excursions for us (to note that she does not speak English but only French, Ahmed speaks however a bit of English).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed for three nights at Riad Massiba with my niece. We had a lovely room (small suite) nicely decorated and very clean.Madame Vivienne, the owner was charming, although our French is poor and her staff were most helpful and extremely courteous. I would recommend this Riad, although small, it is a short walk to the main square and very quiet. I have stayed in a few Riads, but would definitely go back to this one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This Riad lives up to all the reviews given. 4 of us stayed there for a week from 23rd September to 30th September. When you arrive outside there is no indication of what lies on the other side of that door. It's a calm oasis from the mad world outside. The Riad is in an ideal position just minutes from the main square, though the alleyways can be a little hair raising at times with all the bikes and motorbikes but you can't fault the location. It is clean and has everything you need. We were the only guests so had the place to ourselves and could make ourselves at home, it even has a lovely cat for company. Ahmed and Mina were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was wonderful and we would recommend getting Mina to cook for you as we had a lovely meal prepared by her. One tip is to not leave alcohol around as it did have a tendency to evaporate when the Proprietor was in residence! but we could not fault this place and would recommend it 100%

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Massiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massiba

Address: 38, rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Massiba, is an exceptional guesthouse which invites you to a timeless travel where the city of Marrakech deploys all its spell as a concubine its finery, whereme monts pass by languishingly, and where the bewitched visitor will make a salutary rest stop to feed himself with serenity and peace before pursuing his long way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Massiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Massiba Marrakech
Riad Massiba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Massiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.