We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Highly recommended.
Excellent accommodation.
Great Food.
John and Elizabeth Gilbey are both lovely people, who are concerned for you right from the start of your holiday and make you feel very very welcome. It was just like home from home with your friends poping in.
We went to Marakkesh to attend the wedding of our Son which took place in the Sahara Desert. We stayed with John and Elizabeth Gilbey at the Riad Elizabeth. This Riad is absolutely wonderful, its very tastefully decorated, very comfortable with a sun terrace where breakfast is served. There are very comfortable loungers and sun loungers if you wish to stay and take in the sun in a very relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. You can help yourself to drinks, whether it be tea coffee or something a little more potent. Food is available to you at anytime of the day, providing you let the staff know in advance, as they purchase everything fresh daily. The bedrooms are spacious with good size comfortable beds. John Gilbey was extremely helpful at all times and nothing was too much trouble he will even go and and shop for you. We even had a quided tour down to the Market place on the first morning, through the narrow alleyways and soukes, which was very much appreciated, and were given exact directions to find our way around without getting lost.As we were there specifically for a wedding, we didn,t know quite what to expect, The wedding took place in the Sahara Desert with John as the Wedding Co-ordinator, and he did a marvellous job. If you are thinking of getting married in the Desert, you cant go wrong with John as your Co-ordinator. You will want for nothing. The Desert Tour took us right through the Atlas Mountains, and to say that the scenery was absolutely spectacular is quite an understatement. John organised everything, and the hotels along the was were excellent, we could not have done better. The actual Wedding was also a dream to remember, with camel rides at Sunset receiption and belly dancers made the evening truely special.
Would we return to Riad Elizabeth,- you bet we would.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    36
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
243
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We were a group of 12 girls that stayed at Riad Elizabeth and we all had the most amazing time.
We were looked after every second of the day and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had the most pleasurable stay. The food they cooked for us was delicious, the rooms were stunning and everything about the Riad was just perfect. We could not have wished for anything more!

We were in constant contact before we even arrived with Elizabeth & John, the owners, answering 100's of questions for us!
Kamal the Riad Manager was incredible and made sure we always knew where we were going and what we were doing each day.
I would recommend this gem of a Riad to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
217 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed at Riad Elizabeth for four nights during October and highly recommend it. The whole process was seamless and we had regular email communication from Elizabeth and John confirming everything for our arrival - this included being met at the railway station and a delicious private dinner on the roof terrace on our first evening.
Kamal was there to welcome us to the riad and he explained everything we needed to know over mint tea overlooking the plunge pool. An enormous benefit was our personalised introductory tour through the Medina the first morning - our guide was Kamal who has spent his life in the Medina and who knows everything about the locale and the people! Every guest gets this benefit - either from John or Elizabeth or Kamal.
All the staff at the riad could not have been nicer or more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. An example of this - Yusuf, the night manager, insisted on walking us to Le Foundouk one evening - even though we could easily have found it given a little direction. He also served us breakfast (amidst strewn rose petals) at 4.30 am prior to seeing us into a car for a ridiculously early flight out of Marrakesh (I can honestly say I've never had a petal enhanced breakfast at 4.30 am anywhere else on my travels!!!!)
Elizabeth and/or John are there each day, and make a point of circulating among their guests to chat, and to ensure that all is well. They will give you as much help as you need (or want) to make your visit a success - from booking restaurants, to advising on shopping, and so on.
We found lively interesting company among the other guests - with a very enjoyable dinner for five on the roof terrace on our last night in Marrakesh, as well as much story- and advice-swapping over breakfasts.
All in all I would stay in a beautiful riad such as this every time over the very sterile atmosphere of a smart hotel. The best of all possible worlds!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This riad exceeded all our expectations. We were welcomed to the Riad by Kamel who looked after us so well. He could not do enough for us. He can orgaise your whole trip once you are out there. The rooms are so lovely. We got upgraded which was a nice suprise. We had dinner on the lovely roof terrace on our last night and it was great food. Breakfast was also great. You could have breakfast at whatever time you liked, they were so accommodating. We only stayed 2 nights but wished we could of stayed longer. Will definantly be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Sadly we only had one night here, but I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakesh, especially those who haven't been before and may need some help acclimatising to the madness!

John and Elizabeth, the owners, were incredibly helpful not only in advance of our stay,. but also during our visit. Also, they have a wonderful manager in the form of Kamal, for whom nothing is too much trouble. The map and tour provided on arrival was incredibly helpful, and Kamal also organised for a masseuse to come to the Riad on very short notice for me.

A wonderful place, will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at Riad Elizabeth for 4 days and 4 nights. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and had a wonderful meal, it was the best meal we had, even better than eating at the Foundouk restaurant.
Elizabeth gave us our tour the following morning through the many souks, we didn’t get lost as we think we had the best teacher.
Elizabeth and Jon, and Karmal are very kind and helpful and can organise restaurants, taxis and excursions for you.
Riad Elizabeth is a peaceful riad to escape to after the hustle and bustle of a busy day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Riad Elizabeth is the perfect home away from home. From the moment you arrive you feel special, and all of the staff will do anything to tailor your stay to how you'd like it. The food is amazing, we ate there on our first night and came back for more on our last night. The rooms are great. The roof terrace- peaceful and gorgeous. But the people are what make this place untoppable. I doubt you'd get better service at a 5 star international hotel, but the difference is, that the Riad is well priced, well located, and as homely as can be. I would recommend a visit to anyone and challenge them to find a fault. Our little break was perfect and this is in a large part due to our stay at Riad Elizabeth. Go there...now!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.