We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Riad with the personal touch!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“The Perfect Riad with the personal touch!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I honestly could not recommend this place enough as everything was done perfectly. Right from when we arrived we were made to feel very welcome (when we turned up the staff had even spelt out 'welcome Chris and Anna' in beads on the table!) and John and Elizabeth are excellent hosts. On the first night we ate at the Riad which was excellent- my partner is a vegetarian and she thought their vegetable tagine was the best she had all week. The room was really niceand clean and the riad itself was contemporary whilst managing to keep enough of the original features to make it feel authentically Morrocan.

What really made this place great though was the personal touch. John and Elizabeth are excellent at making sure that everything you want is at hand. All of the restaurants they recommended were spot on and they were happy to book them for you (again they always remembered that my partner was a vegetarian and always mentioned it when they booked which was a nice touch). On the first day they take you round the centre and tell you of what you should be wary of which is VERY useful. They will also organise anything else you may want like massages and trips to the surrounding area. Whilst we were there we took a tour of the Atlas mountains which I highly recommend.

All-in-all I don't have a bad word to say about this place and if you are going to Marrakech you have to stay at this Riad!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
222
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We only stayed for one night, but this Riad is great. It is so well located, and although you can walk everywhere in Marrakesh, you will get lost and hassled if it is more than 5 minutes from the main Souk. Elizabeth and John and consummate hosts and the Riad is decorated in a modern let traditional style. It is so easy to find which automatically makes you feel reassured. A great place to stay if it is your first time in Marrakesh as John and Elizabeth will look after you brilliantly. And I also think very well priced.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

We had a lovely stay here - it's the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. The service was second to none and John and Elizabeth great hosts. Relaxing on the roof terrace was a highlight. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

My wife and I have just spent 5 nights in the Riad Elizabeth and can honestly say that it surpasses even the superlative comments we read about on the Trip Advisor site. It is the first accommodation anywhere in the world that has exceeded my expectations to such a degree. Elizabeth , John and their staff have created a unique experience combining elegance, artistic flair and hospitality. I urge anyone considering visiting Marrakech to book this Riad before it's reputation makes it unavailable. We will be returning and we will be telling all our friends and family of its outstanding qualities. Elizabeth and John can be truly proud of what they have achieved. Don't hesitate ! book it now.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

My husband booked a surprise weekend in Marrakech for my 40th birthday. He researched hundreds of riads and I do believe that he found the best in Marrakech. The riad itself is beautiful, the decor exquisite. The owners, John and Elizabeth, made us feel welcome from the word go. As we arrived late on the first night we ate there - the food was delicious. The following morning after a lovely light breakfast on the roof terrace, John walked us through the narrow alleys to the souks and main square, giving us landmarks and tips along the way. After that we were left to our own devices but they made some great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. We had a wonderful weekend and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Marrakech is a fantastic, frenetic city and Riad Elizabeth is an oasis of calm in a quiet part of the medina. John, Elizabeth and their team work really hard to make your stay memorable and make you feel instantly at home. The rooms are beautifully designed and the roof terrace is fantastic, have breakfast there, meet other guests, grab a beer or glass of wine from the fridge and relax after a hard days haggling in the souk.

We were shown how to get to the square by Elizabeth, which was incredibly useful as its easy to get lost, given top tips on what to see, John booked tables for us in fantastic restaurants, cars organised to the airport, amazing. No need to lift a finger! The perfect weekend away???

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering Northants
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

You know the conversations.......were the glowing reviews genuine? Couldn't be possible surely?....Well its up to you...book it anyway...we could always move on!
Any doubts were blown away from the moment our taxi driver delivered us to the door, 'Welcome!' said John, and we were!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.