We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Marrakesh stay, with warm hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Traditional Marrakesh stay, with warm hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed in Marrakesh for 3 nights with my parents (my father is 79) and my daughter (who is 10), so we had a diverse slate of needs and tastes - but the Riad Elizabeth suited all of them and we enjoyed not only our stay but the delicious, plentiful, home-cooked food.

After I booked the hotel, the owner John emailed me directly and we worked out all our plans for the three days we had in Marrakesh, including a tour guide for a day in Marrakesh at the medina and other sites, & a day trip to the mountains. He also helped me rent a car for our drive out to Essaouira. John was responsive, flexible, and honest. When we arrived and met him in person, he was warm and welcoming, so we felt like we were staying with friends rather than in a hotel. (Elizabeth, the hotel's namesake and his wife, was out of town when we were there.)

We visited in February, so it was quite chilly, but we spent a little bit of time on the roof, lounging. I imagine when it's warmer that would be a favorite place to hang out.

Usually when we travel, we eat breakfast in the hotel and dinner out-&-about, but in Marrakesh we not only loved the breakfasts, but also ended up having 3 of 4 dinners at the Riad because the food was delicious.

While we were there, the other rooms were held by couples on romantic holidays, and one even got engaged on Valentine's Day - so although I was there on a family vacation, I can imagine the hotel would be lovely for romance as well as family.

I highly recommend the Riad Elizabeth.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    29
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
214
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering Northants
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Its always a worry going back to a place that impressed first time around. This trip was a 'grannies on the loose' holiday, so it felt right to take dear friends to somewhere that I could recommend.
From the meet and greet by a taxi, to a hug from John on arrival, to a splendid in house meal ,to a comfy room for 3 ( ! ) everything was how I hoped. Thanks .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Riad Elizabeth is located in the heart of the old medina. You leave the ancient city and enter a gorgeous Riad. The design, decor, service, and food were all memorable. We loved everything about it. The service was especially notable. Samira made certain we were always cared for. She set up tours, arranged transportation, and made restaurant reservations at places we truly enjoyed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Olivia room. It has the largest bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Lovely riad in heart of Marrakech Medina. Samir was warm and accommodating to all our needs. The air-conditioned quiet Olivia room was perfect for the end of a busy day in Marrakech. The breakfast was superb. John recommended The Grand Cafe de Poste in nouveau Marrakech which was excellent. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose Olivia room. Not all rooms are air conditioned, I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Beautifully decorated Riad in the heart of the medina (although very hard to find without help, time and time again, although maybe that was just me), great comfortable rooms, and outstanding service from John (owner) and Samira (manager). A first was to be contacted by the hosts by email on confirming my booking website reservation welcoming me etc. One gripe - it's not on to charge a 5% surcharge on credit card payments for reservations made on booking websites. It's another first, this one not so good, and actually misleading. But otherwise a really cool way to experience Marrakech. (On getting lost, be prepared to pay little tips to the faux guides hanging around looking to guide lost tourists - part of the fun)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadelizabeth, Owner at Riad Elizabeth, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the charge for card payment, at the time of booking we send out an email with details of the booking and with the information clearly printed that 5% is charged on all card payments. The banks charge us for card payments, both debit and credit cards, and, rather than factoring this payment into our charges as a lot do, we keep our prices as low as possible and just pass on the charge to those paying by card, so that those wishing to pay cash can save money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draganovo, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Absolutely fantastic, we ended up in a bit of a pickle, due to someone else and John (Elizabeth was in the UK during our stay there) and Samira couldnt do enough for us, so accommodating, really dont know what we would have done without their help.
We would certainly recommend anyone we knew going to Marrakech to use the Riad Elizabeth, clean, lovely comfy beds, hand made soap in rooms, loved it to bits.
Breakfast slightly different everyday, but always very tasty and enjoyable, freshly orange juice was the real Mcoy and was delightful.
John was good enough to give us a guided tour of the local area, much appreciated, however it decided to pour it down, but we still had fun and gained much information.
Many thanks John and your wonderful staff, good job well done.

Room Tip: We had three different rooms and they were all brilliant, all had safe, hairdryer and a hot water bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Marrakech. The location is perfect, just 15 minutes walk from the markets. The welcome you receive is so lovely, could not have felt more welcomed. The team are very helpful in suggesting restaurants and organising (trustworthy) cab drivers. Breakfast is delicious and served on the terrace at the top of the Riad. I could not have been happier with our chosen place to stay.

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for a room upstairs, which may be slightly more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.