We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live in the old town and walk to the soukhs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Live in the old town and walk to the soukhs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

A friend booked us in to Riad Elizabeth and we really enjoyed our weekend in Marrakech. Comfortable rooms, superb service and you can walk to the main Place Jemaa El Fna and back in twenty minutes before breakfast - provided you take the hotel's very clear handy map with you, and note your main turnings. Otherwise you may get lost in all the little streets - see the photo. Can't praise the staff too highly: Semira arranged a very good tour, baths, restaurants and even a football match for our football team weekend away (on real grass!). She's a diamond and speaks five languages.

Room Tip: For a quiet night stay away from the main street (so stay on the inner courtyard) as the external wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    29
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
215
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights, on either side of a tour of southern morocco. The rooms were a good size and the bed was comfortable. I had breakfast every morning, which was always great.

The best part of the stay was the staff. John, the owner, came by during breakfast every morning and chatted with everybody. The manager Samira, was awesome. She met with me on the first morning I was there to review a map of the city, and how to get to points of interests from the hotel. In addition, she was available by telephone in the evenings, when she was off site. This was important as her English was excellent, while the majority of the staff, although exceedingly friendly and helpful, only spoke French or Arabic. Samira was able to arrange taxis, to/from the riad, which was very helpful. This was the other benefit of Riad Elizabeth; a taxi could come within one block, which made getting around much easier.

The only negative part of my stay was that on arrival, I had arranged for transport, but they did not show ( I understand that the Riad, uses various taxi companies, who are aware of their location-so I dont blame the Riad). I wound up taking a cab from outside the airport who said he knew where the Riad was. This turned out not to be the case, but in calling John from the taxi, he was able to direct the driver to a nearby post office, where he sent a member of the staff to meet me and bring me back.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here, and would stay here again if I were to stay in the medina in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was our first visit to Marrakech and we're so glad we chose Riad Elizabeth, which is a beautifully-decorated stylish haven of Englishness amid the riotous blast of noise - and no doubt heat if you go in the summer - that is Marrakech. It was great to have the knowledgeable John to advise us and he was so hospitable and kind. (Sadly, Elizabeth was away at the time so we did not meet her, but both she and John are superb communicators by e-mail). Nothing was too much trouble (booking restaurants, taxis etc), and everything went like clockwork. The Riad is wonderfully situated in the Medina, near the Souks and the main square, and we were guided to nearby places as a matter of course. John arranged for us to be collected and returned to the airport, which is extremely advisable given the maze of little streets that would confound a newcomer. We also had a day in the mountains, arranged by John, and that was great too. All the drivers and staff involved were informative, courteous and reliable. Only one night did we eat in the Riad, and it was delicious - the best meal we had in Marrakech. Five stars all round!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mérida, México
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel was a perfect example of how it's suppose to be.
We felt at home, everyone was so kind, it was an amazing experience. From the beginning, the welcoming, until the very last minute.

I strongly recommend to take a cooking lesson, you can go to the market, and prepare the meal for the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was the second time that I visited Riad Elizabeth. On this occasion it was just my girlfriend and I. We had the most wonderful time. Not only was the room lovely (I booked the second cheapest room) but as with last time the staff were superb. Nothing was ever too much trouble no matter what the time or the request. Before we went I bombarded John and Elizabeth with questions about christmas in Morocco, currency, weather etc and was always met with a courteous and prompt response. While we were there Samira was attentive without being intrusive, met with us every morning to see how the previous day had gone and gave us advice when needed.
I am already planning a third visit to this wonderful place!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Thought I owed this place a long overdue review. It's lovely. We were 3 girls and stayed in the smallest room (I think) but it was still lovely. Roof is great. Takes around 10-15 mins to walk to the main square, it's not an easy route but you learn quick enough. Recommend you eat at the riad at least once. Breakfast also nice. Only gripe was the in accessibility for cars, it meant we couldn't get our own cabs as we couldn't explain where we needed to get to. Of course the great staff will order them for you but it's more expensive. It's a very good looking place also. They booked a spa treatment for us at the bains de Marrakech which I'd also thoroughly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Even before we arrived, Elizabeth has already provided excellent service through emails. She was friendly and helpful, and helped with every detail. We had booked this Riad almost 7 weeks before our arrival, and Elizabeth had, besides helping with the room reservation, also recommended restaurants and spas for us. She had also helped us to make reservations at all the restaurants we wanted.

Upon our arrival via train from Casa, the Riad pickup was there, and our transfer was without a hitch. after 25hours, the last thing we needed was to fuss about getting to the Riad in the maze like Medina. Thankfully, we had the pickup arranged.

During the stay, Semira was as helpful and courteous as can be. This made our Honeymoon even better. she was always available and provided all sorts of assistance and even organised a trip to Ourika Valley for us. That side trip was actually the highlight of our Honeymoon!
Staff was always cheery and helpful, and that added to the charm of Riad Elizabeth.

Location wise, it was just 5-10mins walk to the Souk, and 15mins to the Square... you couldn't ask for a better location, its near the major sights, yet far away enough from the noise.

Great Find!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.