We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Hambleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our first stay in Marrakech and so pleased we chose Riad Elizabeth for our accommodation. The owners and staff could not be more helpful, Samira kindly walked us to the souks on the first day to show us the way. Elizabeth booked a meal for us in the nearby 'Le Fundouk', again we were shown the way there by staff and also walked to the bus on the last day. We were given contact numbers in case we needed help booking a taxi.
Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and we chose to eat in the Riad one evening, We'd definitely recommend this.
It was a real experience staying in the Medina and would definitely recommend staying here. We will definitely return

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
44
201
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Used Riad Elizabeth as a base for our travels around Morocco in December, planned to stay 2 nights, ended up returning 3 times. This is a great place to base yourself in Marrakech. Run by Elizabeth & John from the UK, and managed most efficiently by the charming Samira - they really cater for all your needs. This is a true service focused hotel. Samira & the team went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay, with tips, insights and suggestions all part of the service and helped us plan our travels around Morocco as well as Marrakech. The Riad itself is smaller and intimate with 6 rooms, so guests are treated like 'family', with nooks to chill out, pool to cool off and a large roof terrace to enjoy the sun, sounds and smells of Marrakech. Breakfasts were fantastic with fresh juice, coffee, yogurt, breads, cakes and hot food that changed each day like pancakes/omelette. They have a great cook that can cater for dinners as well which offered delicious Moroccan cuisine. It is located in the heart of the Medina, but off the busier roads, and just a 10min walk to the souks that lead into the square. I can recommend Riad Elizabeth to all, specially if it is your first visit to Morocco. You will become part of the 'Elizabeth' family and want to return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

All the accolades already provided as reviews for Riad Elizabeth completely echo our experience. It is a beautiful, top quality property with comfortable, well-appointed and tastefully decorated rooms. The staff cannot do enough for you and truly bring to life the fascinating features and character of this eclectic city. The service really is above and beyond what we have experienced in some of the world's most prestigious, luxury hotels. John and Elizabeth have created and maintain a true gem, Samira, Youssef and their small band of colleagues are delightful and provide a consistent, exemplary and friendly service - nothing is too much trouble. We cannot recommend Riad Elizabeth enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

It was my 1st visit to a Riad and I must say that this is one of my most memorable stays in this city. The staff can't do enough for you from the minute you arrive until you depart. I stayed here with a colleague of mine and we wanted to experience the local life and culture.
All the rooms in the Riad are named after the owners, Elizabeth & John's daughters. There are only 8 rooms at this Riad so your not just a number. It's a real home from home atmosphere with a personal touch. Breakfast is served at your leisure & if you have booked half board then you can choose what you want to eat in the evening. The cook picks up all the ingredients from the local souks and will prepare it fresh.
Samaira is always at hand to help you, advise you and assist you with whatever you need. Her knowledge and expertise of the local area is outstanding she even walked down to the souks with us so that we could familiarise ourselves with our surroundings.
The Riad is tastefully decorated and all the rooms are too. There is a terrace on the rooftop where breakfast is served and evening meal is served down stairs in the dinning room. The small pool is located in the foyer leading into the reception area. Although the Riad isn't licensed yet, you may find a bottle of wine upstairs in what's known as the "honest bar" along with a mini fridge stocked with juices, water and soft drinks. If you decide you want a drink then you can help yourself and leave a note to indicate what you have had and settle the bill upon departure. Overall a great experience, intimate, friendly & clean. Maid service everyday no tea or coffee making facility in the room but it goes without saying if you ask then it's not a big deal it will be provided.
I would definitely recommend this Riad to couples, friends and single travellers who are looking for something authentic and off the beaten track. The rooms are made up of doubles and twins so you can request either. Thank you to all the staff who made us feel welcome I would definitely return and stay here again.

Zelko & Luke

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My first trip to Marrakech was solo and I was nervous . No need at all . I was collected from the airport by Riad Elizabeth's driver and totally enjoyed my weeks stay . John and Elizabeth took time to meet me , help me find my way around the Medina , markets and souks . They planned day trips and restaurants as well as days of rest and relaxaation . Their manager Samira was so efficient and knowledgable, nothing was too much trouble for her .
Although I arrived late there was a meal waiting for me at the Riad and a room to change in before my late departure home .
Sitting on the terrace in the sunshine enjoying a delicious breakfast was fantastic .
John and Elizabeth made sure I was escorted to restaurants and that lamp lighters brought me safely back to the Riad after dark .
The Riad is so peaceful , a little gem tucked away in the heart of a bustling town .
Altogether an amazing place to stay , top quality service and I will definately return .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just got back from 3 days at the Riad Elizabeth. It was perfect. The Riad is top class with superb rooms which keep with the original style yet have a modern twist. The hosts John and Elizabeth as well as their superb staff make you feel welcome. Breakfast was excellent and different every day. The highest accolade I can give is that it’s like staying with family. The roof top terrace is excellent and such a peaceful spot to enjoy a Gin and Tonic after a long day exploring the vibrant city of Marrakech. The Riad Wi-Fi is great as well. All in all, a fantastic spot to enjoy the city. Will defiantly be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Beautiful, tranquil place in middle of hustle and bustle. We were made to feel so welcome by Elizabeth and John and felt as if we had been friends for years. They both went out of their way to put us at ease, recommending places to eat and visit - even showing us around the busy souks. Breakfast was great and made all the better by being greeted each day by either Elizabeth or John who always put you at ease and show a genuine interest in your plans for the day - they really are just like best friends. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Hotel
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech
Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list