We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting old friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like visiting old friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Beautiful, tranquil place in middle of hustle and bustle. We were made to feel so welcome by Elizabeth and John and felt as if we had been friends for years. They both went out of their way to put us at ease, recommending places to eat and visit - even showing us around the busy souks. Breakfast was great and made all the better by being greeted each day by either Elizabeth or John who always put you at ease and show a genuine interest in your plans for the day - they really are just like best friends. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
218
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I visited Riad Elizabeth for a 4 night stay at the beginning of the month with 3 of my girlfriends. Prior to booking I had trawled through A LOT of great reviews for this place so had very high hopes indeed, and thankfully they didn't disappoint!

At first I was slightly apprehensive at the idea of a girls holiday to somewhere so very different from home, but the reviews for this place did help to put my mind at ease a little, and as soon as we arrived it was plain to see why the reviews are so great. Prior to our stay we organised the finer details of our trip with Elizabeth and John (transfers to and from the airport, a traditional Hammam, a guided tour of the medina etc - all HUGELY recommended!) and so as soon as we arrived at Marrakech airport, there was our driver, ready and waiting for us. He whisked us off to the Riad (about a 30 minute drive - it's not very far away but the traffic is madness! Genuine madness; it included donkeys, people carrying babies on mopeds, buses whose doors would open randomly as they drove and at one point even a man pushing his grandma in a wheelchair..! Has to be seen to be believed). As soon as we arrived at the Riad we were greeted by the Riad Manager Samira, and it has to be said, she is absolutely the reason this review gets the full 5 stars from me. She couldn't have been more helpful to us throughout our stay. She really takes the time to sit down with you and take you through the itinerary of things that you've already booked with them, and she'll arrange all necessary transfers, let you know timings etc. She also finds out what it is you're hoping to see/do during your stay and then gives you her recommendations. Once you've made your plans for each day, she'll go ahead and book everything for you (taxi transfers, table bookings etc). There's absolutely no pushiness in her recommendations, if you know exactly what you want to do then she'll just go ahead and book it for you, but if you're open to suggestions (as we were) then her vast knowledge of the city is incredibly helpful. I can't praise Samira enough, she's an absolute asset to Riad Elizabeth, and I imagine a lot of the fantastic reviews they've received on here are in large part down to her. Elizabeth and John are also very lovely people of course, but Samira is who you have the most contact with.

The Riad itself is beautiful, and the rooms are fairly simple/basic but elegant, and offer everything you need. The very best part of the riad is the sun terrace! This is a wonderful place to relax, and believe me you need that after a day of hustle and bustle in the crazy Souks! Every day we'd find ourselves up early doors, and off out to explore after a big tasty breakfast in the Riad, but come about 3 - 4 pm we'd find ourselves seriously waning, tired of the constant chatter from the locals and people shouting random English at us like "Spice Girls! Fish & Chips! Lovely Jubbly" - amusing the first few times, but after a day of it you can find yourself longing for the unsociable streets of London where no-one talks to anyone..! It's at this point in the day that we'd gleefully bound back to the Riad and set ourselves up on the sun loungers for the last few hours of sunshine - Bliss!

Another serious worry of mine when booking this trip was that it's supposed to be a 'dry country' - a holiday with no booze is most certainly not a holiday in my eyes..! But fear not! The Riad operates an honesty bar, stocked with wine and beer. Phew... In fairness it's not as easy to get a drink as it is on your average European holiday as it's all a little hush hush, due to the strict drinking laws. This means that booze is only delivered in small quantities to the Riad each day at around 4pm, and given that we drank them dry most nights (!) this meant no more boozing till gone 4 every day. However, surprisingly I think this was a restriction that we actually quite enjoyed as it meant lively days of sober exploration before the drunken nightly shenanigans! There are also very many restaurants that serve alcohol at night time (seemed near on impossible to find one serving alcohol in day light), and again Samira's knowledge was vital to us for this!

Finally, make sure that you eat dinner in the Riad at least one night of your stay because the food is out of this world, and it works out about £18 a head for 3 courses - bargain!

Room Tip: 2 people in our party stayed in Louise room and were really unimpressed with it. They said that they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned from our stay at riad Elizabeth and were eager to write this review. Our apprehension of staying in Marrakech were soon alleviated by Samira - her smile and calm manner really helped. After our foray around the souks and medina we would return to the quiet and comfortable riad.

Breakfast was good and plentiful and on our first night we ate dinner in the riad, which was delicious and beautifully presented. I can thoroughly recommended at stay here, and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

You will probably have already read about the service received at the hotel. It really is 5 star. The owners were away on holiday but left the hotel in good hands. Beyond what is said elsewhere it is probably only worth mentioning that we came home at midnight most nights and were always met by the night porter outside to be escorted through the final 20 yards of alley. It seems the taxi driver ( the Omar guy you will have read about) calls ahead. A really nice touch.

The hotel interior is very nicely designed, balancing modern and traditional very well, someone here has a real flair for design. Rooms have some nice features albeit they cannot easily be described as 'all mod cons' as they lack tv, balcony, window and bath, not that you will notice. The one real negative is that sound, from the common areas and other rooms, carries in this hotel. Nothing ear plugs wouldn't fix though.

Didn't have an evening meal but the breakfast was fine and the terrace on which you eat was lovely.

If you want a base from which to explore this is the hotel for you, the location and service make it perfect. Any limitations in the hotel itself are more than made up for by the friendliness of the staff and the atmosphere created.

Note though, you might want to print a map of the old city at home to take with you, the riad Elizabeth doesn't provide the same quality of map as its competitors.

Very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a wonderful, small riad in the medina in Marrakech. John & Elizabeth are fantastic hosts who genuinely want to ensure you have a perfect stay and a memorable trip to Marrakech. Samira is exceedingly helpful. She assisted in negotiating our parking rate, made several recommendations about what to do and to see, and helped us try to figure out how to use our US mobile phones in country. Even Yousef, the night guard, is helpful and accommodating.

The riad itself is located just a 5-10 minute walk from the Medersa and the Marrakech Museum. And then it's just a few steps further to the souks. John and Elizabeth volunteered to help us learn our way though the souk to the market, but we ventured out on our own and figured it out. It's a 20 minute walk to the Jemaa el-Fna market if you can navigate the quick route through the souk.

My biggest recommendation is to have dinner at the riad. John & Elizabeth offered this to us prior to our arrival. After 17 days in Morrocco, the dinner we had here was the best meal we had during the trip. Had we scheduled more time in Marrakech, I would have taken a cooking class with their chef. She served a variety of appetizers. Dinner was a fabulous Chicken Tagine and desert was an apple tart. We shared our meal with our friends and two other couples who were staying at the Riad as well.

The hospitality is warm. The decor is nice. The rooftop is lovely. And breakfast is delicious. The rooms are quiet and clean. It's an experience you'll enjoy!

I highly recommend Riad Elizabeth.

Room Tip: I saw three of the rooms and I don't think you can go wrong. All were very nice. There are 5 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Beautifully decorated Riad with a lush roof terrace to catch some afternoon sun after a busy day touring the City. The service was absolutely spot on and all staff couldn't do enough for you. The food was delicious and Samira's recommendations on where to dine out were fantastic too. John & Elizabeth were wonderful as well - I would definitely choose to stay at Riad Elizabeth again on my next trip to Marrakesh.

Room Tip: First floor rooms might be better as children like to play in the street to the front of the Riad at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very convenient location, stylish comfortable interiors, owned by a really genuine, lovely couple, backed up by a fab staff. Best tagine we had in Marrakech too.Elizabeth even took the trouble to give us an escorted tour around the Souk. Can't recommend them highly enough- would happily stay again-and again if given a hint of a chance!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.