We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored Riad with 5 Star Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 466 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully restored Riad with 5 Star Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

his is my first ever review on Trip Advisor, but I was so impressed by the Riad Elizabeth, that I felt compelled to review my experience.
I was lucky enough to be recommended the Riad by a friend of mine who had stayed a year previous. I booked a four day trip as a surprise birthday present for my partner. From the moment I booked, the owners and staff at the Riad Elizabeth staff were on the end of an email and ready to help. They were able to recommend restaurants and trips and were kind enough to organise many of them on my behalf. A lovely meal was prepared for us on arrival and our traditional Moroccan breakfast each morning was yummy.

My partner and I were lucky enough to meet the owners, both of which were positively charming. John made a real effort each morning to speak to each of his guests, find out about their experience and be on hand to offer them advice. But I can't finish this review without mentioning the Riad Elizabeth's fantastic manager: Samira (hopefully I have spelt that right). She was an absolute star throughout our stay, going out of her way to ensure our transfers, taxis, trips, meals and anything else was booked for us. She offered to show us around the Medina to ensure we felt comfortable navigating the complex streets and was just generally a lovely friendly presence during our stay.

Couple of tips for fellow travellers: definitely take a trip to Le Bains de Marrakech Spa, it was the highlight of our trip. The medina is complex to navigate so an English speaking tour guide would be useful. When coming home at night (or for that matter in the day), don’t ask the locals for directions unless you want to pay for it. You may think they are just being helpful, but they expect to get paid.

As a girl, I was worried about unwanted male attention and also what to wear. There was really nothing to be worried about. There were female tourists dressed in a variety of outfits (some of which I wouldn’t have considered to be appropriate for Morocco) but the locals didn’t seem to mind.

I was dubious about such universally positive reviews, but I can honestly say that the service we received in the Riad Elizabeth was better than the 5 star hotels we have stayed in. We will definitely be back to stay in the near future. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    33
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
231
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, Lancashire
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have been visiting Marrakech & Esseauira since 2007, and have stayed each year at Riad Elizabeth since their opening in 2009. Each of the 6 rooms are named after John & Elizabeth's daughters, our favourite being Olivia. The Riad, albeit traditional in shape & structure, has been lovingly restored & decorated in a modern take of Moroccan style, colours and textures - pink walls on the Terrace, and black, red and grey in the Rooms and public areas. The Plunge pool is beautiful and is inviting following a day in the Souks & Sight Seeing. This year we arrived very late in the evening and Bahija, the fantastic Cook, had prepared our favourite Harira Soup, with bread, followed by a delightful Fruit Salad & Cream - a wonderful midnight Feast served by Yousef the Night Guardian.
Marrakech is our 'bolt hole' at the end of a busy year, and will continue to be so, in sha allah, with our old friends at Riad Elizabeth. Many thanks to John, Elizabeth and their wonderful 'Team' for making this stay once again, a brilliant one !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Riad Elizabeth for three nights in mid-September. It was great. The riad is an old mansion redesigned and redecorated by Elizabeth and John, and it is stunning. Breakfast (and dinner, if you like) is on the rooftop terrace, where there are chaises for just vegging out when you're tired of wandering around the medina. The riad is in the medina, about a 20 minute walk from Jamaa el Fnaa (the main square). Samira, the manager, is wonderful, and can arrange for anything and everything - restaurants, taxis (she let us borrow a phone to call her if the taxi driver couldn't understand our garbled French), shopping - you need. The rooms come with all mod cons, including a hair dryer, safe and AC. We couldn't have been better pleased.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Riad Elizabeth for the first two nights of a 10 day trip around Morocco early September this year.
We booked this Riad after reading some great reviews and it totally surpassed our expectations!

John and Elizabeth (the owners) arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and driven straight to the Riad which is in the heart of the Medina.
John met us straight out of our taxi and immediately made us feel relaxed and very welcome indeed. It was close to 10pm when we arrived so we were shown
to our room then taken straight up to the gorgeous roof terrace for a delicious dinner which had been prepared for us. John talked to us for a little while- gave us
each an ice cold beer on the house (which was just what we needed!), wished us goodnight and assured us that Elizabeth would see us at breakfast the next morning.
The Riad operates an 'honesty bar' with a fridge stocked with bottled water, beer, other soft drinks and wine. Each room simply records what they take on a form
provided and the total is paid when you settle your final bill. This system made it so easy to grab water whenever we needed it and have a beer when we returned late
in the evening.

Our room 'Francesca' was fab- very stylish, clean and comfortable with a big bed and a great en suite. Breakfast was delicious- all freshly prepared by the in-house
cook (bread, jam, small pancakes/ potato cakes, fresh fruit, yoghurt, boiled eggs). We met Elizabeth who very kindly took us for a walk through the nearby souks
and out to the Jemaa El Fnaa- the main square (about 10/15 minutes if you walk without stopping to shop!). She told us lots about the area, showed us places of
interest and made sure we were happy with finding our way back to the Riad. After a fab day in Marrakech we went to a restaurant that Elizabeth had recommended and
booked for us- Fondouks- which was lovely; great Moroccan food on a gorgeous roof terrace.

We loved our stay at Riad Elizabeth. Welcoming and knowledgeable hosts and staff, a gorgeous, peaceful and convenient setting, fantastic value for money and John
and Elizabeth went the extra mile to make sure we were happy and comfortable. We will be recommending this Riad to all of our family and friends and to anyone else
who mentions they are travelling to Marrakech.

Thank you again John and Elizabeth and all of the other staff at Riad Elizabeth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beautiful Riad in the heart of the medina. We had booked the whole riad for our Vegetarian group of 10 for 5 nights. The riad in itself is charming and beautiful but it was the service that we received from Elizabeth, John, Samira and all the staff that exceeded well beyond our expectations. From arranging all our trips and taxis and always pointing us in the right direction, Elizabeth & Samira were on hand always and just a phone call away if we needed anything. Worried about what we would eat on our trip to the Atlas mountains, we even got given a packed lunch to take with us ... :)) On the fourth day, at breakfast, the girls asked if they had any hot chocolate and within minutes Youssef went to the shops and came back with some. Nothing was every too much trouble for them.
Overall, we all had an amazing experience with our stay at the riad and also in Marrakech. Hope to be back again sometime to climb the rest of the mountain.
Thank you guys and well done !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When I first checked into this Riad, never in my wildest dreams did I expect to have a P.A to hand (even when I checked out to stay in another hotel!). This wonderful person was Samira. She booked all our restaurants, our taxis and all our trips. A simple text to Samira and Omar (The Man!) our taxi driver extraordinaire would appear out of nowhere in the busy Marrakech Medina. I could stand anywhere on the road and he would find me!

The Owners of the Riad are Elizabeth and John. Elizabeth is known as Lady E (she is rather posh but very down to earth!). Suave John is her other half who likes to mingle with the guests at breakfast wearing a different designer outfit everyday. Whilst we were there Eid was being celebrated and John kindly offered to show us some sheep being slaughtered. I am telling you now, you wouldn't get that personal touch in a large hotel chain!

After 4 nights stay we checked into a five star hotel which sadly didn't have the same service. After my sister discovered she was sharing her shower with a live toad we made the decision to make a quick exit, although we had nowhere to go. I phoned Samira who told us to return to the Riad the following morning. Our useless taxi driver dropped us in the centre of Marrakech and after another call to Samira, John and herself arrived to drive us back to the Riad. So we stayed here for another 3 nights! We went to another hotel for our 2 final nights and Samira was still sorting out our trips and restaurant bookings-what a result!

So the moral of the story is-big does not always mean better! Don't waste your time looking at other Riads and large hotels like I did, and just book it!

Oh, and don't forget to pack your earplugs as the Medina can be quite noisy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This riad was exactly what we were looking for and more. The excellent service started from the moment we booked with an e-mail from John and Elizabeth asking us if we'd like to make any arrangements in advance (a pick-up from the the airport, dinner at the riad the first evening, various recommended trips and experiences). When we arrived the manager Samira met us and gave us an introduction to the riad and her mobile number in case we needed anything. Restaurants were recommended to us, taxis arrranged to pick us up and we were walked to a neaby restaurant by the night porter to ensure we found it ok (Le Foundouk, also highly recommended). Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very spoilt.
The riad is beautful and well-kept. The location is excellent, in the medina so close to the souks and about a 15 min walk to the main square (Jemaa el-Fna). It was down a small side street so out of the hustle and bustle, and on the roof terrace in the afternoon sunshine it was peaceful and calm.
Unfortunately on the last night my boyfriend became ill however again everyone at the riad was extremely accommodating, offering to get medicine from the pharmacy, bringing bottled water, then providing us with a spare room after we'd checked out so he could rest.
This was the best service I have experienced at a hotel, with the personal touch making all the difference.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Olivia room which was quiet at night and had a beautiful open fire which would be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.