We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in a charming Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in a charming Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Riad Elizabeth is a perfect place to stay while in Marrakech. It is small, welcoming and very relaxing. The staff are all extremely friendly were always ready to help. It was my first time in Marrakech and I was there for business primarily. I was made to feel very at home at the Riad which made my whole experience extremely enjoyable. The rooms are spacious and stylish and the terrace is a wonderfully tranquil place (ideal for the very tasty breakfast!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
218
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful, tranquil & tastefully decorated Riad in the Medina within easy walking distance of the souk. Great place to stay. John & Elizabeth are excellent hosts and Samira, their highly efficient manageress, a minefield of information and always ready to help with a smile. They all offer incredible support to ensure a happy and pleasant stay. All the staff are brilliant and if we do ever return to Marrakech there is no doubt that Riad Elizabeth will be our first and only choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Riad Elizabeth and were very happy with the whole experience. The hotel is small and intimate and the owners are probably the most obliging hotel owners we have ever met. They and their excellent manageress Samira arranged our excursions to perfection, tailored exactly to our wishes. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a very comfortable room and the food is excellent. There are also some very good restaurants within walking distance. We had an excellent local guide (Yuseff) who spoke first class English and is very knowledgeable on the city. We would strongly recommend him also. All in all a great experience and one we will be pleased to repeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

At last a trip to Marrakesh after many years longing to see and experience it! Riad Elizabeth was the perfect base for my daughter and I to make various sorties into the wonderful experience that is Marrakesh! All the staff and the owners were so supportive, full of interesting anecdotes and recommendations of places and restaurants to visit. The staff were always on hand to provide an escort to a restaurant and organise our way home and we felt safe and supported at all times.
The restaurant recommendations were so good, dining under the stars on a roof terrace or in the middle of the night market.... not to be missed. Our guide Hamza was so interesting and made our journey through the Souk and past places of interest a real delight.
It was really enjoyable to meet John and Elizabeth and chat with them at breakfast.... I felt as if they were friends. Samira their wonderful manager was full of life and energy and had the information needed for a great stay at her fingertips and if not she would very quickly find it and always with a big smile!!
Hope I will be back in Marrakesh soon

Room Tip: All the Riad rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My mother and I travelled to Marrakech for a 3 night stay, to fulfil a long-held dream of hers to experience the culture, people and food of this vibrant city. On my in-law's recommendation, I booked the Riad Elizabeth for our stay and for the 6 months preceding our trip, I received many useful and informative emails from the owners, John and Elizabeth, suggesting both trips that we may enjoy during our stay (which they booked for us), and promptly answering the many questions I had in a friendly and relaxed way. The riad is really a home from home. The staff are charming and happy to assist. One evening we arrived back fairly late and I mentioned that I was going to buy some water from the honesty bar on the roof terrace. The night watchman said he would get us water, and when we asked for large bottles, he disappeared off for about 10 minutes. We were chatting with some other guests, so didn't notice the delay until he re-appeared through the front door, having run to the local store to purchase large bottles for us - there were only small ones in the honesty bar! Talk about five star service! John and Elizabeth were gracious hosts, relaxed and friendly and full of stories of their time in Marrakech. The manager Samira was an angel, and was available all the time for restaurant recommendations (and bookings), taxi organising and to ensure our stay was living up to expectation. It certainly did, and more. The room (we stayed in Francesca, a twin room) was roomy and nicely decorated, as is the rest of the riad. A lovely bathroom with walk-in shower and fluffy towels. The chef served up a delicious meal our first night, as we arrived late, which was a great introduction to the local cuisine. All in all, a memorable experience, and one that I hope we will be repeating again. I would not hesitate to recommend Riad Elizabeth to anyone wanting to visit Marrakech, who wants to get immersed in the culture and people of the city, but still return to an oasis of calm and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Old Farmhouse
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed with friends for 4 nights. We were picked up from the airport and personally escorted to the riad by the driver. On arrival we were welcomed by Samira (a gem of a manageress)and offered refreshments before being shown to our room.
The riad is beautifully refurbished to a very high standard and is spotlessly clean. Our room overlooked a narrow street which is too narrow for cars and consequently quieter than you would expect in the centre of a bustling city. Our friends rooms were equally as nice as ours and possibly even quieter.
Our party went on may excursions which were all arranged prior to arrival by Elizabeth and John. We had excellent guides who were very knowledgable and spoke excellent English - well worth paying a little extra for.
Breakfast was served on the roof patio and every morning we were treated to a different array of goodies. Dinner was arranged for one special evening at the riad. What a wonderful experience ! It started in the morning by going to the butcher with Samira to buy the lamb and on the way picking up all the other ingredients to go in the tangier pot. We then watched the cooks preparing the dish and we the set off with our pots to go to the communal oven down the road. 6 hours later it was beautifully presented and thoroughly enjoyed.
Marrakech is fascinating,buzzing and suprisingly clean. Many places of historical interest and of course the souks, which remain unspoilt.
We shall definately return to Riad Elizabeth, you will find it hard to beat !

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to have every comfort one needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Down a typically Moroccan narrow alley is Riad Elisabeth. It opens into a carefully redone building with charm and integrity. The staff are exceptional and handled our various problems with patience and charm. The owners are genuine and genuinely helpful. Superb value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.