We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Both my partner and I spent three days at Riad Elizabeth after a busy meeting in Marrakech.
We think both John & Elizabeth have an outstanding talent for hospitality.
They zoom in and out on the right moments..have expertise, are entertainers in a modest way..
They have a small (trained) crew around them that can follow up with lovely cooking, arranging tickets, guiding or drives etc..
Next to that the rooms and house have a lovely atmosphere..A nice spot to relax from all the Marrakech impressions.
Just go there and experience it yourself!

Loes & Jeroen from Amsterdam
.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    32
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
229
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Riad was ideally located offering easy access to the Souks and main square. The staff and owners John and Elizabeth couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Restaurant reservations, taxis, tours etc were all taken care of with the utmost professionalism. The roof terrace offered a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. All in all a fantastic trip and a wonderful place to stay. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I loved this Riad, and the owners and staff were fantastic. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the communal areas are stunning and the rooftop terrace, a must for any Riad, was perfect! A total sun trap! We had breakfast up there every morning, and it was glorious in the sun even in December! Breakfast was a feast, with fresh fruit salad and pomegranate seeds, pancakes, local pastries and freshly squeezed juice. We took up the option to have a Moroccan feast cooked for us on our first night, and it was a lovely introduction to the local cuisine, and gave us a chance to meet the other occupants of the Riad. When we arrived we were given pastries and mint tea whilst being advised of all sorts of events, restaurants, gardens and hammam that we could visit whilst there. Our fabulous hosts went to every trouble for us, ensuring that when we wanted a restaurant booked up, they did it for us, effectively organising a priority booking for restaurants that often need to be booked up in advance. They recommended and booked the hammam and spa experience for us too - so reasonable and relaxing! Can't recommend them highly enough. Their lovely doormen even came to our rescue one night, when our taxi driver couldn't find our Riad! The taxi driver stopped and called the Riad, spoke with the doorman, who then jogged over to the where the taxi had stopped! The doorman also walked us to the restaurants in the Medina as well, to ensure we didn't get lost. Really lovely staff and a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Perfect location for discovering the delights of the souks and a short walk to the square.Its an ideal place to stay to get away from the mayhem of the medina with a roof top terrance to relax and soak up the sun.Elizabeth,John and all the staff are really friendly and helpful,giving us recommendastions for places to eat in Marrakech as well as in other places we were travelling to,which turned out to be fantastic! They also organised bus tickets to Essaouira for us when we returned from a 3 day tour of the desert,which was a great help.The food was faultless and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A truly lovely Riad situated in the middle of the Medina. Experience the intriguing culture of the people of Marrakech whilst staying in a little piece of paradise. John and Elizabeth were extremely accommodating from our first email to the time we left. After arriving in the evening, driving through the maze of streets, it was a pleasure to be welcomed by Samira and enjoy a huge, very appetising meal. The service provided was outstanding, with both John and Elizabeth going out of their way to provide information on the local attractions, taking us personally to specific shops, arranging restaurants and a trip to the Atlas mountains. I would thoroughly recommend the Riad Elizabeth to anyone who would like to experience Marrakech at its best. Thank you to you all for making our holiday so wonderful and hope to see you again one day in the future. Jeanette McCall

Room Tip: There are a variety of different types of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing! Marrakech is definitely not for the faint hearted but having here as your sanctuary helps you adjust easily. The staff are lovely, Samira will help in any way she can. Rooms are lovingly decorated and clean, brilliant breakfast and the location is fabulous especially for the museums. Would without a doubt recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First time in Marrakech for us and so glad we booked Riad Elizabeth. Hosts John and Elizabeth kept in touch with us via email before we arrived, suggesting places to visit etc. As we were travelling for my boyfriends 30th birthday they also arranged excellent restaurants for us to enjoy throughout. We booked transfers, a Hammam and also a trip through Atlas mountains via the Riad and would certainly recommend anyone visting doing the same. The Riad is exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated. A dip in the cool plunge pool is very welcomed! The staff, particularly Samira, we could not fault. Samira felt more like friend by the end of our time. Extremely friendly and helpful at all times. We had breakfast (very generous portions!) and one evening meal at the Riad which was delicious. We would most definitely return to Riad Elizabeth as we felt so welcomed. We would like to offer thanks to all of the staff for what was a really fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.