We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Riad is situated in the Medina, a short walk from the souks and with easy access to the main square. We stayed for four nights in June in the Olivia room. The room was comfortable and has an open fire for those cold nights in winter. This was not needed during our stay with temperatures above 40 degrees.

Elizabeth and John are the owners and they could not have been more helpful. Having travelled widely we have never experienced owners do as much for us. We had booked at Riad Elizabeth and had made arrangements with Elizabeth for day trips, a spa visit and airport transfers. The day before our departure our flights was cancelled due to the French air traffic controllers going on strike. Elizabeth arranged to transfer our booking, changed other arrangements on our behalf and went way beyond what we could have hoped for in assisting us.

Samira, the manager, was also very helpful during our stay. She arranged taxis at night, showed us how to get into the square and took us to shops. Every morning she would ask what we proposed to do and what she could do to assist. She arranged a trip into the High Atlas and nothing was a trouble to her.

We had dinner at the Riad on one night and we would recommend that guests take this opportunity. The food was as good an anything we ate in Marrakech. We ate dinner on the rooftop balcony which is also where breakfasts were served. Fresh juices and fruits, pastries, a surprise such as savoury omelettes, and good coffee. Great way to start each day.

We would certainly recommend Riad Elizabeth as a great place to stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
218
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Since our first visit 5 years ago we have been lucky enough to visit Marrakech and stay at Riad Elizabeth most years. On every visit we feel the stresses of every day life lift off our shoulders as we enter this oasis in the medina.
We are already planning our next escape.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We go to the Riad and there was no one there that could speak English, our room wasn’t clean as someone had just moved out, the staff went up to clean it, once we got in the room the person that left the room had left their belongings in the safe and the bed sheets had not been changed. Not a great start. The manager then turned up and was kind enough to walk us to the market and show us the way. The next morning things improved, the manager and the owners met us on the roof terrace for breakfast and gave us some recommendations for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadelizabeth, Owner at Riad Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We were so horrified and dismayed to read this review. Neither John nor I had any idea that this happened and can only apologise profusely. We take such pride in the presentation of the rooms, and of course the cleanliness, and you should never have been shown to a room before it was ready for you. Also our manager (the manager we had in March is no longer with us, we now have Samira, a wonderful girl who is everything we have always hoped for in a manager but never managed to find before) and or John or myself always meet and greet guests and share a Moroccan tea and cakes with them and discuss what they want out of their stay, again our apologies as it seems this also didn't happen. We are so sorry that your stay began in such a poor way, but are pleased that you still felt able to rate us with 4 stars, We would dearly love the opportunity to change your 4 star experience into the 5 star one experienced by the majority of our guests, and do hope that you will one day return so that we can do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have visited Marrakech on numerous occasions over the years although this was the first time we had actually stayed in the Medina. We only had 2 nights to spare as we were en route elsewhere but upon recommendation by friends we were lucky enough to stay at Riad Elizabeth. An absolutely top class riad blending traditional Morocco with European design resulting in opulent style and comfort.

We were also fortunate enough to get a room upgrade (thank you very much) but all the rooms were equally of a high standard complete with air conditioning and the entire riad was spotlessly clean.

Elizabeth and her staff (particularly) Samira (whose English is excellent) couldn't do enough for us and it was very much appreciated. Although we didn't eat at the riad apart from breakfast which was very enjoyable and plentiful, we did hear from other guests that it was well worth eating in.

After spending time in the bustling souks, the roof terrace is just the place to be to watch the sunset whilst sipping a drink from the honesty bar where you can just help yourself.

Will definitely return and would thoroughly recommend Riad Elizabeth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I chose the Riad Elizabeth on the basis of a recommendation from friends who had stayed there before. We were confident that it was going to be a good place to stay, but were amazed at just how good it was. It is a beautiful building with everything that you could possibly want. It is the perfect place to relax after a busy day caught in the hustle and bustle of the souks. What makes this riad truly excellent however are the people who work there. Everyone is so pleasant and seems genuinely happy to meet you. Samira in particular will ensure that there is nothing for you to stress over, thinking of everything that you might possibly want, without it ever feeling intrusive. You are left to enjoy your holiday, but know that there is someone on hand to fix any problem or to offer advice or recommendations for somewhere to eat or something to try. We would definitely recommend the cooking class, which was superb. The food, which is served on the terrace, was the best that we had during our whole stay in Morocco. We would definitely recommend the Riad Elizabeth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Riad Elizabeth is situated perfectly in the centre of the old town, were the real centre of Marrakesh comes to life. Behind a huge door lies this wonderful boutique Riad which was a delight in all respects. The room we stayed in was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and managed to captivate the real appeal of a place like Marrakesh. John and Elizabeth, the hosts of the Riad were very helpful in pointing out all the good spots to see and even made dinner reservations for us. All the staff were inviting and helpful, so thank you very much to all at Riad Elizabeth for making out trip so authentic!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I so enjoyed my previous stays at this chic Riad that when the opportunity came to visit Marrakech again 2 weeks ago, there was only one place I wanted to be. I first stayed here in 2011 and again last year (though somehow did not write a review last time?) so this is my third trip to Marrakech and third stay here. In the bustling Medina you really do need to find an oasis of calm to escape to - and this is it! It's great to be near to the souks and the fascinating square (Jemaa el Fna) and I prefer to be where there is lots to see and do, but it takes some beating to be able to lie on the roof terrace sun beds with a glass of something cold from the bar, take a dip in the pool or just relax in a beautiful air-conditioned room - and all within 5 to 10 minutes walk of the main attractions. The best of both worlds really.
If I had any doubts that the third trip might not be as good as the first, they were quickly dispelled as everything was still as clean and lovely as before...... and I was greeted like a long lost friend by the staff!
Perfect place to be near to the action whilst being able to escape from hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.