We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to feel at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect place to feel at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at Riad Elizabeth for 4 nights with my girlfriend and it definitely worth it. I usually go to nice hotels but this time I wanted something different but with a good service and it was exactly what I got. You really feel you're a guest, just like if you were staying at friends. Someone very friendly came to pick us up at the airport, then we had some the and little pastries, were shown the place.

The room we chose was small but nice (Lucy room), with rose petals all over, that room had a huge bath tub. No desk, Telephone or TV but who cares, we're not in Marrakech to watch TV or to work and spent a little time in our room. Everything is really clean ad neat.

The decoration of the riad is exotic, arabian way but yet quite modern and design, it's a nice mix.

Every morning we have a super good breakfast, not the same all the time, home made with fresh products. A very good start.

On the terrace there is a fridge with beverages, when possible if you want something to eat during the day and there' someone in the kitchen, you'll have something to eat (like the day we left, we finally decided to stay at the Riad, and at the last moment asked for something light for lunch, the cook managed to make some very good tuna sandwiches with tomatoes and salad).

What's really valuable in this place is service. People there really care about you and you cannot get a best service, it's very very personal. (Thanks to Samira, an absolute sweety, who will always try to do her best to advise you, to make reservation for you, to plan everything you need. They'll do whatever is possible to fulfill your needs (and they don't fake it), they really like there guests and treat them like personal friends. it's not really the kind of treatment you'll get in regular hotels. I met John and Elizabeth (the owners) only once but they really are nice people. You never get the impression that there warms and smile are faked just because you are customers. You never feel like a customer

you can have diner or some food at that place and they really know how to cook, with fresh product and traditional cuisine.

The location is the heart of the Medina, that is to say, not very close from trendy places or modern area of Marrakech. That must be a well known choice (which was our case). Streets are narrow, small, area is very poor, 5 year old kids or teens in the streets all the time and my girl friend would not really feel secure to go out by herself at night (but it's just a feeling because nothing bad ever happened). As I said, the riad is a little remote of the trendy areas but for 7 dollars (5 euros) you can have a cab who will pick you at the riad and drive you anywhere in town, so unless you are totally broken, with a 30 $ daily budget of cab you good to go. If you just want to visit the medina and the souk, the location is perfect, you won't need a cab.

Another thing that we loved was the fact that, the day we arrived we had a diner with some other guests, at the same table, it turned out that they also were our age and we've had a fun talking evening. We even met a nice couple with whom we shared our time for the rest of our stay for visits and outings. That's not often the case when you're staying in a classic hotel where people won't mingle.

I do really recommend this place because you know that, if a problem would occur inside or outside the Riad, Samira, John and Elizabeth would do everything possible to help until you're happy or the problem is solved. It's a guaranty that you have a good stay.

Even though the Riad as all the qualities of a nice hotel, this place is more about people than big fancy rooms and to my point of view, that's what's important. For the price they ask you will never regret it. Of course, one can always find something to critisize because perfection doesn't exist, but as an experienced traveller, you can believe me, for what you can expect from a Riad (it's not a Palace hotel, but price is accordingly) you are close to perfection.

Thanks to all these nice persons who did there best to make our stay pleasant, and they definitely succeeded.

PS : I'm a very critical person and I wrote very bad reviews when not satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on street side because there are kids at night playing or shouting all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    36
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
245
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location - with souks and Medina within easy walking distance of the Riad. Elizabeth (the owner) provided a "personal touch" with a warm welcome and a guided tour from the Riad to the souks together with some great tips that made the whole experience. enjoyable and fun. The airport pick-up and evening meal gave us the perfect start to our stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A fantastic location, 2 minutes from Ben Youssef Madrasa, Beautiful Riad, Excellent Staff. Everyone was so welcoming, the tour that was arranged through the Riad was superb. We ate in the Riad on the 2nd night and was some of the nicest food we ate in Marrakech. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay such a lovely one. We will be back to Riad Elizabeth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Riad Elizabeth was our second stop in Marrakech, and was a welcome step up from our previous accommodation.

My partner and I were slightly concerned about finding the Elizabeth, but fortunately, both John and Elizabeth, the owners, offered help over the phone, and we arrived without incident - handily, this Riad has parking facilities about 30 yards from the door.

We were greeted by John, who was very welcoming and friendly. We shared some mint tea and homemade biscuits whilst we chatted and discussed what my partner and I wanted to do over our 3 night stay. He also introduced us to Samira, the manager, who is an absolute gem. She went out of her way to make our stay as lovely as possible, organising nights out, excursions, and offering advice on what to do.

Our room had very much a 'boutique' feel. Everything was comfortable, clean, and stylish. A retreat within a retreat; the Riad Elizabeth is incredibly peaceful compared to the nearby souks and medina as a whole, and our room was more relaxing still.

The Riad Elizabeth has a fridge for guests on the roof terrace, which is lavishly furnished, for sun chasers and those that want a little shade. Breakfast is served there each morning, with a variation each day - excellent food, indeed. We decided to have dinner there on our first night, and it was so good, we booked again for our second. A nice touch is that you share the table with other guests; the Riad Elizabeth helps create a very friendly atmosphere.

It's worth mentioning Youssef, the night porter/guard. Though he didn't speak much English, he was ever friendly, and added to the sense of security within the Riad.

We met Elizabeth on our second day. Like John, she was very friendly and welcoming, adding to the overall charm of the Riad.

I cannot recommend the Riad Elizabeth enough. A truly first class place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just returned from 3 fantastic nights staying in the Riad Elizabeth. We couldn't have found a better place to stay in Marrakech. It is situated just 5 minutes walk from the Souks, and 10 minutes from Le Place. John and Elizabeth are excellent hosts, going out of their way to organise guides, trips, spas etc, and taking us round to more obscure parts of the old city which we were interested in.
The Riad, is clean, bright and new, with a wonderful sun terrace to have breakfast, or take in the rays in the afternoon. It is run professionally yet very casually. There's an honesty bar so there's no need to go on the wagon for your stay, and they were more than happy to provide cutlery and crockery when we came back to the Riad with some street food.
They provided a lovely Moroccan meal on our first night, and booked restaurants for the rest of the stay, sending staff with us to the places so we didn't get lost.
And, most importantly for a Yorkshire man, it's great value.
We highly recommend this place to stay whilst in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Myself and my friend have just returned, having spent 4 nights in Riad Elizabeth. We had never been to Marrakech before, so was a little worried how we would find such a busy place. But we need not have worried, we felt very looked after the moment we stepped through the door, so welcoming and friendly. The staff here are amazing and go above and beyond what you would expect. From arranging taxis for us, being escorted to and from restaurants when we were unsure of the way and knowing that they were just a phone call away if we needed help. We ate twice in the Riad and the food was superb. A BIG thank you to all of the staff and to John and Elizabeth, we will be recommending you to all of our friends.

Sue and Helen

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

John and Elizabeth Gilbey have created a wonderfully comfortable and stylish retreat in the centre of Marrakesh. The couple along with Samira and the other staff are very welcoming and look after you really well nothing is too much trouble. I certainly hope to return,

Room Tip: All three rooms I saw were lovely I stayed in Lucy which has a lovely four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#20 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.