We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Myself and my friend have just returned, having spent 4 nights in Riad Elizabeth. We had never been to Marrakech before, so was a little worried how we would find such a busy place. But we need not have worried, we felt very looked after the moment we stepped through the door, so welcoming and friendly. The staff here are amazing and go above and beyond what you would expect. From arranging taxis for us, being escorted to and from restaurants when we were unsure of the way and knowing that they were just a phone call away if we needed help. We ate twice in the Riad and the food was superb. A BIG thank you to all of the staff and to John and Elizabeth, we will be recommending you to all of our friends.

Sue and Helen

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue81bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

John and Elizabeth Gilbey have created a wonderfully comfortable and stylish retreat in the centre of Marrakesh. The couple along with Samira and the other staff are very welcoming and look after you really well nothing is too much trouble. I certainly hope to return,

Room Tip: All three rooms I saw were lovely I stayed in Lucy which has a lovely four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little comberton,uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

i chose to stay here because this riad had good reviews on tripadvisor.i decide to celebrate my birthday there with a good friend.
we had a fantastic time.When you are in the middle of the madness of Marrakech you need this wonderfull staff to help which they did when we need it.
Samira is one of the best asset to the business :)lovely and friendly girl.A BIG THANK you.
i don't need to write a long essay we definitely recommended.
isabela and adina
april 24-28th travel as friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ionelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose to stay at Riad Elizabeth on the recommendation of friends who came back with glowing reports - and they weren't wrong!

From the moment we booked John & Elizabeth were the perfect hosts. They were in touch by email with suggestions of where to go, what to do, were able to make advance bookings for us for visits to the excellent Hammam Les Bains de Marrakech, etc etc.

Then from the moment we touched down in Marrakech to the moment we left, the service we received was impeccable. Sadly Elizabeth wasn't there (she was visiting relatives back in the UK) but John and his wonderful staff more than made up for her absence. The sumptuous food we had there was as good as any we had in the city's restaurants, all served on the relaxing roof top terrace.

John has done an unbelievable job in renovating this Riad, leaving no stone unturned in returning it to pristine condition. It's a pity Kevin McCloud wasn't there to film it all! It is now a beautifully appointed tranquil escape, yet still close to the exciting hustle and bustle of the Medina.

John, the wonderful manager Samira and the rest of the staff were able to organise absolutely anything for us - from reservations at local restaurants to trips to the Atlas mountains. They also arranged for us to have our own personal taxi driver for our five day stay - Omar - who was there at our beck and call whenever we needed him.

John, Samira and the rest of the staff - many, many thanks for helping us have such a wonderful time on our first visit to this beautiful and exciting city. Elizabeth - so sorry we missed you but we will definitely be back and will share a glass of wine with you then!

Nick & Sue.

Room Tip: Could the next folk staying in 'Olivia' check that the fledglings in the nest on the adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Riad Elizabeth is the perfect balance of tradition and tranquility. A beautifully decorated Riad in a great central location. John and Elizabeth were so helpful we soon relaxed into holiday mode, relying on their efficiently organised taxi's to recommended restaurants, trips to the Altas mountains, tips on the best souks and stalls and the much needed hot tips to the best hammam experience!
After the hustle and bustle of the city, Riad Elizabeth's roof terrace and a G&T is exactly what is needed! Thank you for having us, we will see you again I'm sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

From the moment I booked I felt like family. Elizabeth and John were perfect hosts. When you are in the middle of the madness of Marrakech you need their experience and help to make sure you get to see all the wonders of the city. They booked restaurants, taxis, trips to the mountains, and of course the traditional hammam! The beautiful peaceful Riad had everything you needed and the staff were fab. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of them. Location was great, I cant thank them enough for making this trip one i'll always remember. This is the place to stay,I loved it.
Pam G

Room Tip: Olivia although they were all quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuchessofD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Amazing experience! We arrived at busy morocco and there's nothing better than having a reliable and friendly riad for stay in.
I'm a very experienced traveller but still I felt quite lost and a bit scared of the city, so for me Riad Elizabeth was key for an enjoyable experience.
A few minutes from the souqs and the main square, location was perfect and easy to find with the map the hotel provides.
Elizabeth the owner of the riad was lovely she knew exactly what we wanted and was very helpful, maps cultural info and even helped when we wanted to book a desert safari. Staff are excellent and went above and beyond in every single way and made our time in Marrakesh extremely memorable, we will definatly be back.
The price was very good, rooms are a mixture of modern with a touch of Moroccan charm, we got a bottle of water every night and breakfast was included; in the roof of the hotel there's a lovely lounge with a self service bar and a kitchen with 24hr access which is brilliant, it gave us the chance to have a nice cup of tea every day before bed without disturbing anyone.
Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely, there's no bad choice. However we were lucky enough to stay in a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing