We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven amidst buzz of Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful haven amidst buzz of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

John and Elizabeth Gilbey have created a wonderfully comfortable and stylish retreat in the centre of Marrakesh. The couple along with Samira and the other staff are very welcoming and look after you really well nothing is too much trouble. I certainly hope to return,

Room Tip: All three rooms I saw were lovely I stayed in Lucy which has a lovely four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
218
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
little comberton,uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

i chose to stay here because this riad had good reviews on tripadvisor.i decide to celebrate my birthday there with a good friend.
we had a fantastic time.When you are in the middle of the madness of Marrakech you need this wonderfull staff to help which they did when we need it.
Samira is one of the best asset to the business :)lovely and friendly girl.A BIG THANK you.
i don't need to write a long essay we definitely recommended.
isabela and adina
april 24-28th travel as friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose to stay at Riad Elizabeth on the recommendation of friends who came back with glowing reports - and they weren't wrong!

From the moment we booked John & Elizabeth were the perfect hosts. They were in touch by email with suggestions of where to go, what to do, were able to make advance bookings for us for visits to the excellent Hammam Les Bains de Marrakech, etc etc.

Then from the moment we touched down in Marrakech to the moment we left, the service we received was impeccable. Sadly Elizabeth wasn't there (she was visiting relatives back in the UK) but John and his wonderful staff more than made up for her absence. The sumptuous food we had there was as good as any we had in the city's restaurants, all served on the relaxing roof top terrace.

John has done an unbelievable job in renovating this Riad, leaving no stone unturned in returning it to pristine condition. It's a pity Kevin McCloud wasn't there to film it all! It is now a beautifully appointed tranquil escape, yet still close to the exciting hustle and bustle of the Medina.

John, the wonderful manager Samira and the rest of the staff were able to organise absolutely anything for us - from reservations at local restaurants to trips to the Atlas mountains. They also arranged for us to have our own personal taxi driver for our five day stay - Omar - who was there at our beck and call whenever we needed him.

John, Samira and the rest of the staff - many, many thanks for helping us have such a wonderful time on our first visit to this beautiful and exciting city. Elizabeth - so sorry we missed you but we will definitely be back and will share a glass of wine with you then!

Nick & Sue.

Room Tip: Could the next folk staying in 'Olivia' check that the fledglings in the nest on the adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Riad Elizabeth is the perfect balance of tradition and tranquility. A beautifully decorated Riad in a great central location. John and Elizabeth were so helpful we soon relaxed into holiday mode, relying on their efficiently organised taxi's to recommended restaurants, trips to the Altas mountains, tips on the best souks and stalls and the much needed hot tips to the best hammam experience!
After the hustle and bustle of the city, Riad Elizabeth's roof terrace and a G&T is exactly what is needed! Thank you for having us, we will see you again I'm sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

From the moment I booked I felt like family. Elizabeth and John were perfect hosts. When you are in the middle of the madness of Marrakech you need their experience and help to make sure you get to see all the wonders of the city. They booked restaurants, taxis, trips to the mountains, and of course the traditional hammam! The beautiful peaceful Riad had everything you needed and the staff were fab. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of them. Location was great, I cant thank them enough for making this trip one i'll always remember. This is the place to stay,I loved it.
Pam G

Room Tip: Olivia although they were all quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Amazing experience! We arrived at busy morocco and there's nothing better than having a reliable and friendly riad for stay in.
I'm a very experienced traveller but still I felt quite lost and a bit scared of the city, so for me Riad Elizabeth was key for an enjoyable experience.
A few minutes from the souqs and the main square, location was perfect and easy to find with the map the hotel provides.
Elizabeth the owner of the riad was lovely she knew exactly what we wanted and was very helpful, maps cultural info and even helped when we wanted to book a desert safari. Staff are excellent and went above and beyond in every single way and made our time in Marrakesh extremely memorable, we will definatly be back.
The price was very good, rooms are a mixture of modern with a touch of Moroccan charm, we got a bottle of water every night and breakfast was included; in the roof of the hotel there's a lovely lounge with a self service bar and a kitchen with 24hr access which is brilliant, it gave us the chance to have a nice cup of tea every day before bed without disturbing anyone.
Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely, there's no bad choice. However we were lucky enough to stay in a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having decided on Marrakesh for a City Break, we searched the internet for a Riad. We struck gold when we found Riaz Elizabeth. How anyone can say a bad word about their stay here, I don't know!

From the first email Elizabeth was quick to ask of any special requirements or dietary needs.

The offer to be picked up from the airport is advisable and Mohameed (aka Danny de Vito) pointed out places of interest along the way.

On arriving at the Riad we were greeted by John Jacques, the manager who showed us to our room (Felicity), which was beautifully decorated with rose petals. Stylishly designed and spotlessly clean. Dinner was served on the roof terrace by Bahja,the housekeeper, a lovely lady who looked after us superbly. My husband decided to take up the offer of cooking one evening and Bahja took us to the local market where she bought the meat and vegetables. They both happily pottered away in the kitchen while I relaxed on the roof terrace. A beautiful meal was served that evening.

John and Elizabeth and their team are so welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble, John Jacques, Yousef the Night Guardian and the two girls (whose names I don't know) were first class.

We really felt like we were staying at a friends house. It was so relaxing and after the hustle and bustle of the amazing Souks, it was lovely to step into the Riad and close the door - a slice of Heaven.

You need not look any further, Riad Elizabeth is a must!

We can't wait to return.

Thank you all for having us.

The Graves's

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.