We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless...............” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless...............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having decided on Marrakesh for a City Break, we searched the internet for a Riad. We struck gold when we found Riaz Elizabeth. How anyone can say a bad word about their stay here, I don't know!

From the first email Elizabeth was quick to ask of any special requirements or dietary needs.

The offer to be picked up from the airport is advisable and Mohameed (aka Danny de Vito) pointed out places of interest along the way.

On arriving at the Riad we were greeted by John Jacques, the manager who showed us to our room (Felicity), which was beautifully decorated with rose petals. Stylishly designed and spotlessly clean. Dinner was served on the roof terrace by Bahja,the housekeeper, a lovely lady who looked after us superbly. My husband decided to take up the offer of cooking one evening and Bahja took us to the local market where she bought the meat and vegetables. They both happily pottered away in the kitchen while I relaxed on the roof terrace. A beautiful meal was served that evening.

John and Elizabeth and their team are so welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble, John Jacques, Yousef the Night Guardian and the two girls (whose names I don't know) were first class.

We really felt like we were staying at a friends house. It was so relaxing and after the hustle and bustle of the amazing Souks, it was lovely to step into the Riad and close the door - a slice of Heaven.

You need not look any further, Riad Elizabeth is a must!

We can't wait to return.

Thank you all for having us.

The Graves's

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
223
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

On deciding to visit Marrakech we chose Riad Elizabeth on the recommendation of friends (who had stayed there a few years ago) and we were not disappointed! Prior to our trip Elizabeth and John, the owners of the riad, were in touch with us via email and provided us with all the information we could have required before our arrival. We decided to book an airport transfer to the riad, which they organised for us, which we would strongly recommend, especially as it can be tricky finding places in the medina when you are unfamiliar with the area and it is dark!

On arrival we were taken to our room (we stayed in 'Alessia') which was beautifully decorated, clean and spacious, with a lovely touch of rose petals scattered for our arrival. We found the room very quiet throughout our stay and it had very effective air conditioning. There was also a lovely welcome letter and a map (which also had a list of very useful numbers for during our stay, including the mobile numbers of John and Elizabeth and those of trusted taxi drivers).

As we arrived late in the evening we decided to have dinner at the riad. The food was fabulous (including the best tagine we had during our stay in Marrakech) and the service fantastic. The lovely breakfast that the riad provides (Fruit, yogurt, toasted breads, preserves, pancakes/omelette, tea/coffee and the freshest orange juice) really sets you up for the day and is served on the beautiful terrace.

Prior to our visit Elizabeth booked us in at the recommended hammam, Les Bains de Marrakech, which we thoroughly recommend booking through the riad. One of us went for the 'Traditional' package which included the traditional hammam and an hour long message (which was amazing!) whilst the other had the hammam and a facial which was also superb.

John also recommended a local restaurant, La Fondouk, which was reasonably priced for the quality of the food (and we highly recommend trying the pistachio creme brulee with dark chocolate mousse!) and the atmosphere was fantastic. He also recommended 'Maison de la Photographie', a local museum which we really enjoyed.

We can not thank Elizabeth and John enough for the warm welcome and level of hospitality we received from all the staff at the riad throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. On our first day John walked us to the souks and gave us a few pointers before we set off exploring which was really beneficial and helped us get our bearings. The friendly and welcoming nature of the staff, in beautiful surroundings, combined with the owners attention to detail and local knowledge, made our stay both relaxing, stress-free and memorable.

We can not recommend Riad Elizabeth enough to friends and family, and we would definitely stay again if we visit Marrakech in the future, which I am sure we will do!

John & Kate

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Marrakech offers a lot of choices, everything from 5 star international chains to the local phenomena known as the "Riad". These are often large elegant homes that have been converted into small hotels. Located for the most part in the ancient medina, the 1000 year old walled city that provides Marrakech its unique charm. The Riad offers the traveller the opportunity to experience the culture of this vibrant city by virtue of being a vital part of the medina itself.

There are a number of reasons for making this recommendation for the Riad Elizabeth, first and for most are the owners, John and Elizabeth are extraordinary hosts, they stop at nothing to make sure their guests are enjoying their visit. They arrange everything from airport pickups to restaurant reservations. The Riad is great, clean, excellent breakfast and a wonderful, unforgettable experience. The Marrakech choice is easy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Riad Elizabeth is a fantastic place to stay and explore Marrakech. It's close to all the excitement of the Medina yet still a quiet enough area to enjoy a peaceful break. Mint tea in your room after dinner is no trouble!...and in general the staff were happy to help with any request. We had a great second visit and would highly recommend a visit.

Rupert and Lorna

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teguise, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Staff were excellent and helped us to find our feet in the busy city.Location was excellent ...5 minutes from the souks.The owners John and Elizabeth were lovely and even helped us to buy 2 rugs at a reasonable price.Also arranged a birthday trip to the Hammam..amazing.Only slight criticism was the breakfast not the same quality as the Riad.

Room Tip: we were in felicity which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This review is a bit overdue, and a bit repetitive considering the comments below, but we had an absolute amazing stay. As it was our first time to Morocco, my friend and I did tons of research on riad/hotel options before finally picking Riad Elizabeth. We definitely weren't disappointed. The location is great, the rooms and decor are spotless, and the price is fair. The real gem is however the incredible staff at this Riad. There are so many we want to thank, but here are a few. We probably couldn't have survived without Dagmara, the manager, who fielded frantic calls from us at midnight when we got lost in the labyrinth that is the streets of Marrakech (Note: MEMORIZE the map that the Riad gives you. or be prepared to pay the touts. or be like us and run away from anyone offering help and pray that circling the same streets multiple times will somehow lead you to your desired destination). Ask her for help booking excursions, her favorite shops in the souks, etc. We took a tagine cooking class (HIGHLY recommended) with Bahija (the cook) and Aisha, both of whom are among the kindest people you will meet. Plus, their cooking is mouthwateringly good. Random notes: 1) we are heavy sleepers so basically ignored the call to prayer, but be warned (this is a general Middle East thing); 2) take advantage of the mint tea (sooo good); and 3) don't assume you'll just magically remember how you got from point A to point B when there are a million indistinguishable points in between. Long story short: five star at Riad Elizabeth. Looking forward to coming back (soon)!

Room Tip: The Louise room is cozy and on the ground floor. The shower design could be a tiny bit better to pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We came back and loved it even more than before. John and Elizabeth were so helpfull booking us some great trips and advising us on which restaurants to eat at. The service from all the staff was perfect and really helped us to enjoy our stay I'm sure we will be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.