We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home sweet home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the riad Elizabeth in January. As soon as I booked our stay, Elizabeth contacted me offering to organise some excursions for us, checking if we had any dietary requirements or if we needed her to arrange any restaurant bookings. I thought it was great to have such a good service but it only got better.

We arrived quite late as our flight was delayed by the snow. Dagmara, the hotel manager, waited for us to arrive and made sure we settled ok although she should have finished much earlier.

The next day, we met John and Elizabeth, a lovely couple who really want their Riad to feel like a home. They were lovely, friendly and full of good tips!

Breakfast was really good: a combination of traditional food and continental breakfast!

The excursions organised by the riad were also great. The guides were really nice, helpful and very knowledgeable.

Although it is easy to get confused at the beginning, the Riad Elizabeth is right in the heart of the Medina which, for my husband and me, is the real Marrakech. You are very close to the souk and only 10-15 mins away from the Place Jemma El Fna.

The staff will go the extra mile to make sure you are happy. One night, the concierge walked us to a nearby restaurant and we came back a bit later. Around midnight, he knocked at our door because he didn't see us coming back and was so worried we might have got lost in the medina. The poor man looked so concerned, bless him!

I have already recommended this riad to a friend.

If you want a fantastic stay in a welcoming home, this is the place to stay! Everybody will look after you and make sure you have the best experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    31
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
223
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was are second trip to the Riad, we loved it so much it was an obvious choice to stay here again on our next visit. Again we were so impressed, the attention to detail is so noticeable and their efforts really do pay off! We were greeted like old friends, like individuals, I want to go back already!!! Having been before we had already been to some places but this didn't faze them, they we able to suggest lots of different lovely places for us to visit/dine. Wonderful trip, wonderful riad!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I just returned from spending three wonderful nights at the Riad Elizabeth. From the initial contact to check on availability to leaving to the airport to fly back home, Elizabeth and John could not have been more helpful. They accommodated every request I made. From having a chilled bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived, rose petals scattered throughout the room, (I didn't request the rose petals but they were a great surprise. Wife really enjoyed it), dinner reservations, tour guides, and transportation. We even had a delicious dinner at the Riad our first night there and John introduced us to some great Moroccan wines. They answered all my emails I sent them prior to the trip with lightning fast speed and made several great suggestions on what we could do during our visit. One was to visit a hammam to get a great massage. Make sure you try Les Bains de Marrakech. And before I forget to mention it, the breakfast that was provided every morning was fantastic. You will not go away hungry. I loved the fresh squeezed orange juice. One night John even escorted us to one of the local restaurants so we wouldn't get lost. I didn't even have to tip him! My wife and I enjoyed a bottle of wine each night on the roof top terrace, great place to see the stars on a clear night. The entire staff at the Riad were very friendly and helpful. I don't know if everybody that stays at Riad Elizabeth gets the same going away treatment but I got a hug and a kiss from the lovely Elizabeth. The place to stay in Marrakech is the Riad Elizabeth.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may want to bring a pair of earplugs with you as the call to prayer g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This Riad exceeded our expectations. From the moment of booking we felt that all of our needs were not only personally being dealt with but also being anticipated. We initially booked via secretescapes.com but then wanted to extend our stay. The discounted rate was honoured and the extra nights facilitated by upgrading our room for the whole of our stay. The Lucy room was lovely (comfy four poster bed, stylish decor, beautiful bathroom with bath and shower, ipod dock (not working though) and heater/aircon. As it is situated at the front of the riad there is a little street noise but it wasn't a problem.
We took advantage of the airport transfers which is worth while as getting lost in the medina is par for the course. However, the map provided by the riad and the personal walk by the manager Dagmara to the souks orientated us perfectly. From then on in we walked everywhere to all the usual guidebook sights. We found Morocco a totally new experience.
We would also recommend a trip to Les Bains Marrakech for a Hammam. It was five star treatment from start to finish. Finally we spent two amazing days climbing with climbmorocco.com.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a magical two night-stay in this beautiful riad in the heart of the Medina. Everything about our stay was impeccable: very personalized and friendly attention from the owner and the manager as well as other staff, with plenty of extremely helpful tips about what to see and where to go; beautifully decorated and large bedroom and bathroom - both extremely clean and with inviting linen - one of my favourite features of the room was the luxurious open fireplace - as well as on the rooftop (both perfect for having an evening drink in front of); delicious home-cooked food if you choose to eat in the Riad one evening. The location is fantastic for exploring the town. We recommend Riad Elizabeth extremely highly and would love to stay again...

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This riad is exactly as it's represented on the Riad Elizabeth website (candles around the bath and all!).
We stayed in Olivia room which was large with a fireplace, bath and shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in on holiday. There was a little noise from the street but it didn't stop us from sleeping. The advantage of this property is that it's in the heart of the Medina, so some noise is to be expected. Although it was cold outside in the evening we didn't need to use the fireplace. The room was very cosy and we used the air con/heating after bathing or showering.
The roof terrace is a real suntrap. We breakfasted in sweaters, in full sunshine, but were able to sunbathe, on very comfortable loungers, in shorts and T-shirts later in the day. We found ourselves seeking out shade to escape the heat even though it was January! Breakfast was a variety of fruit, yogurt, bread juice and wonderful coffee. We requested cheese and tomato sandwiches for lunch a couple of times and we also ate our first evening meal in the riad; a delicious lamb tagine. There's an honesty bar with water, soft drinks and beers which was a great idea and we also had a bottle of wine a few evenings.
All of the staff here were helpful all of the time and the service is absolutely personal. Dagmara's orientation walk was a great start, we only got lost once! It's a 10 minute walk through the souks to the main square, if you can do it without getting distracted by the goods for sale! We felt safe walking back after dark.
There are a few places to eat nearby. We tried two. The Photography Museum has an amazing roof terrace and their lunchtime chicken tagine was the best chicken we've tasted for a long time! Le Foundouk restaurant was just about empty at lunch and very busy for dinner (Dagmara booked it for us though) and the food was fabulous.
I honestly can't think of any disadvantages to staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the Riad Elizabeth in Oct last year( just taken me a while to write a review) for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it (although we were not so lucky with the weather!) John and Elizabeth(the owners) could not have been more welcoming and Dagmara (manager) could not have been more helpful. We ate in the Riad on the first night and were served some excellent home cooking and then ate out at the recommended restaurants on the other nights which were all good too.Elizabeth booked us into the hammam at les bains which was amazing- a must if you visit. The location is excellent for the souks and the main square. All in all an excellent place to stay- Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.