We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS WITHOUT THE PRICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FIRST CLASS WITHOUT THE PRICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

i have been travelling the world for the last 7 months and elizabeth riad stands out as one of the best experiences!
stunning contemporary yet authentic design. a newly refurbished riad where attention to detail is evident in decor and service, right down to the rose petals scattered in the room each day.
superb personal service, from pick up to farewell, dagmara is wise beyond her years regarding marrakech, its people and customs and will do anything for you to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
beautiful inside and out, 5 mins from the main square and souks at your door.
a 5 star stay for a 3 star price.
if you are lucky to find a vacancy, book it!
thank you dagmara, liz and john x
matt x

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    37
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
247
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our experience at the Riad itself was great and we could not fault it at all.

Overall it was a good experience but when we compared it to another Riad we stayed in Morrocco we did feel that there were some small improvements which could be made.

It is in a good location and both Dagmara and Elizabeth were both very helpful.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone wishing to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
one day closer to the tropics
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had a great stay at the Riad, all of the staff including the owners John and Elizabeth are very conscientious , going out of there way to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible and your needs are being met. They can arrange trips or guides as needed or organize reservations at nearby restaurants that you would never find yourself. The Riad has a good location a few minute walk to the souks and the main square

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was my third trip to Marrakech in the last 8 years, but the first staying at Riad Elizabeth.
The location in the northern district of the Medina was perfect for acessing the Museum of Marrakech, the Medersa (religious school) and the colourful and vibrant souks as well as the main square. The hosts Elizabeth and John were very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. They organised a sumptious dinner on the beautiful little roof terrace upon our arrival and orientated us to everything Marrakech had to offer so that we could make the most out of our experience. The riad is very clean, comfortable and the colour palette of black/white/ and hints of red and silver, make it an eclectic and stylish riad. The Semarine Souk in the Medina had something for everyone and the horse and carraige ride from the main square to the Marjorelle Gardens gave a flavour of the sights, sounds and smells of this atmospheric city with the backdrop of the Atlas mountains in the distance. The highlight of the trip was Elizabeth's suggestion of a hammam experience at Marrakech's premier bath house, Les bains De Marrakech near the Saadian Tombs. It is a beautiful oasis of calm and has a relaxing atmosphere with the most wonderful background scent of Bitter Orange Blossom in the air. I had a heavenly exfoliant scrub and deep massage over 2-3 hours and felt wonderful after the experience. Can't wait to go back. I packed alot into my 5 night stay in Marrakech at Riad Elizabeth and the hosts, the lovely Elizabeth and John, certainly helped to make that happen with their kind suggestions on what to see, shop and eat. I would highly recommend this riad. I shall be back in the New Year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in a couple of Riad’s on our trip, and this was not the traditional Riad (it is decorated in a more contemporary style) But unlike many of the traditional Riad’s we stayed at, everything worked the rooms were a good size, the plumbing worked and everyone was so helpful and friendly. Dagmara was extremely helpful and put herself out to make sure that we weren’t inconvenienced, even going out of her way to get money back from the cab driver that ripped us off (a fact of life in Marrakesh. John was an excellent and congenial host and the honest bar on the roof was such a bonus late at night, it felt more like a guest in someone’s home who was looking out for you rather than a customer who was ripe for the picking (again a fact of life in Marrakesh) and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Riad Elizabeth. Before we arrived, Elizabeth was very helpful providing suggestions for our trip via email. Upon arrival, we were given a warm welcome, and Dagmara was happy to answer all of our questions and provide any assistance we needed. The location was perfect and the food was delicious! I will definitely return the next time I go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Lancashire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is our 'end of year' piece of Heaven that we have visited every year for the past 5 years, and will continue to do so, Insha'Allah.....John & Elizabeth go 'out of their way' to ensure a fabulous time for their guests, as does the new Manager, Dagmara, whom we met for the first time this year. The other staff at the Riad hasn't changed whilst we have been there - Bahija is the fabulous cook who doesn't speak much English, and always has a beautiful smile on her face... Leila and Hind are the girls who sing and chatter whilst doing their work, and Yousef the Night Gardian, who has assisted us back to the Riad on a couple of occasions late at night in 'the early days' when we had 'lost our way'. Thank you all so much for yet another enjoyable time spent with our extended 'virtual family' !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#7 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.