We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond amongst the dust” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A diamond amongst the dust”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed here for 3 nights. Riad Elizabeth is perfectly located amongst the Medina's charming chaos, and only a 10 minute walk from Djemaa el fna. Airport transfers and dinner were arranged in advance, and we arrived to a warm greeting of Mint tea and a room upgrade from the Riad manager, Dagmara. Perfect start to a great few days. The decor is modern, a little bit gothic, and whole heartedly Morrocan! The roof terrace is amazing, almost too good to want to venture out at all.
Elizabeth, John and Dagmara were extremely friendly and helpful and Dagmara especially had great tips on navigating the souks and mastering the barter!! The hospitality is fantastic, and all of the staff here went above and beyond to ensure we were happy! Riad Elizabeth is a gem amongst the medina's dusty streets. We had a great experience and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    34
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
51
239
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed in this lovely riad with my sister, we were given a room upgrade, which was lovely and spacious. The riad is comfortably furnished and very centrally located for the souks and square, an approximate 10 minute walk. Before our visit Elizabeth and John answered my numerous requests and questions via email and were so helpful along with their staff in organising various excursions I wanted to do, so as to maximise my time in Marrakech. Arranged to have dinner on our first night at the riad and it was one of the best I have had on any holiday. The food was plentiful and so tasty and would definitely recommend having at least one meal cooked by their fantastic cook Bahija. Breakfasts were different every day, usually comprising fresh fruit salad, pancakes and bread with preserves. Has a lovely roof terrace, where we had breakfast each day and pool which although I did not use, is definitely an advantage during the intense August heat. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone wishing to stay in a centrally located riad and who wishes to see the real Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you are going to Marrakech this is without a doubt the place you want to stay at. Staff offer priceless hospitality, help and knowledge of the city and it's people and nothing is too much trouble. Beautifully clean and comfortable designer rooms combined with a great roof terrace and little pool make Riad Elizabeth a haven amongst the bustling city.
Help and advice with planning excursions, travelling, restaurant bookings, recommendations and airport transfers are readily available and make your trip much easier and much more memorable.
It is, however, the staff that make this hotel unforgettable. We would have been literally lost without them! We even had an authentic Moroccan cooking lesson which included being taken to the food markets (largely unseen by tourists) and shown how to prepare in true morrocan style.
Will never forget this trip, you have to stay here. 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 night break in Marrakech. We were going to stay at the Sofitel hotel but decided to stay a more traditional Riad. We were so pleased that we made this decision as the Riad is beautiful and the staff are so helpful and friendly. They provided so much useful information and even arranged a trip to the Atlas mountains. I would recommend the Riad to anyone. I am sure that you would not have got the same service in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Beautiful Riad located in the Medina round the corner from The Square and all the souks. I took my wife there for her 30th and we were not disappointed.

1. Location - Marrakech is essentially divided into 2 , Old Town and New Town. Old town is where the souks , the square are , a very traditional area. New Town is where your trendy bars , restaurants and shopping are. It takes about 5 mins by taxi from Riad Elizabeth to new town, and we didn't Pay more than 30 MAD ( about 2 GBP each way ). The Riad is in a great location as you are in the old town and literally surrounded in culture but can take a taxi or a horse carriage when needed.

2. The Riad itself has a boutique kind of decor but is also very traditional. Other reviews have mentioned breakfast and dinner on the terrace, we had breakfast included and did one one dinner. Breakfast is a different dish everyday, from french toast, morrocan breads and other things. The staff are very accomodating if you have something in particular you want for breakfast as long as you let them know the day before they seemed very happy yo do it. Something that may affect your decision when choosing this Riad , is tha there is no TV in the room , didn't affect us at all, but maybe something for you to consider.

3. Last but not least are the staff. I have decided to devote one paragraph just to them as they are , each and everyone of them, absolutely fantastic. No request was ever turned down, from omelettes for breakfast , to some last minute ironing. The Manager there is a person called Daagmarah, will make your trip and plan it for you. We told her what kind of places we wanted to eat at , she arranged the bookings and picking up and dropping off. We asked about excursions ( we went up the Atlas Mountains and had lunch in a restaurant in river! Also Moroccan Massage) and she planned it. Quite simply She was important to our trip because all the potential mistakes one would make were not made because she knows the place and restaurants so you will not go wrong by seeking her advice and expertise. She deals with tour operators on your behalf as well so no headaches from that point of view too. The service she provides, would in a 'normal franchise ' hotel add at least 2 stars to the overall rating. In short the staff make this hotel , and make your trip too. She also took us orienteering through the souks which is essential as it can seem quite intimidating and that makes all the difference when it comes to negotiating in the souks, where to eat and what to avoid. Fantastic hotel and if I ever go to Marrakech again I will go there without hesitation.

Thanks for everything and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lucy Room, the AC unit is right above your head when you sleep so you can wake up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent four nights at Riad Elizabeth and from the cordial email communications prior to our booking right up to our departure, we had a great experience. The Riad is ideally situated, tucked away on a quiet street a couple of minutes' walk from the souks and Jemaa al Fna just beyond. Our transfers were kindly organised from the airport and to our onward destination in the Atlas mountains. On arrival, we were greeted with mint tea and an orientation from the very capable manager, who was on hand at all times or at the end of the phone if we needed recommendations, assistance, navigation or restaurant reservations. The first night, we enjoyed a meal in the Riad itself, which was wonderful, plus extensive breakfasts of local dishes and fresh fruit every morning which kept us going all day. The service throughout was attentive, unobtrusive and eminently flexible - very much appreciated when you've pulled an all-nighter to catch an early flight and need a lie-in to recover! The honesty bar provided a lovely opportunity to unwind back at base with a glass of wine after visiting local restaurants or street stalls where of course alcohol wasn't served, although all the European-style restaurants are licensed. The Riad itself is a real labour of love by proprietors John and Elizabeth, but what makes it a stand-out is the hospitality and Marrakchi service.

Room Tip: It would have been nice to have an external window rather than only an internal one that opened onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Riad Elizabeth is a perfectly located, intimate riad in Marrakesh. The riad has been styled in a funky modern way that contrasts nicely with the historic medina surroundings.

While the place is funky and beautiful, what really makes Riad Elizabeth stand out is the attention they pay to their guests. My boyfriend and I were traveling through Morocco in the 'fly by the seat of your pants' style and Dagmara, Fatima and the rest of the Elizabeth team helped us make our trip. The first day Dagmara and Fatima escorted us through the souks and other parts of the medina - pointing out landmarks and the best shopping spots. When we decided to hike Jebel Toubkal, Dagmara gave us all the most-know details and found us a place to stay in Imlil.

Furthermore, Dagmara and Fatima were both lovely to speak with and always open, bubbly and ready to make our experience better.

All in all, I highly recommend this riad. In fact, Dagmara and team helped make our trip by guiding us through Marrakesh and other areas of the country. Thank you Riad Elizabeth!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.