We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Elizabeth to your Saves list
Riad Elizabeth
Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Me and my parents styaed one night in the Riad and it was a very cool place to spend our first night in Morocco.
It was kind of an adventure to get there without any gps or knowledge of Marrakesh but once we got there Kamal, the manager, made everything to make us feel welcome.
The riad looks really good and the terrace is a wonderful place to relax after a night tour in the Marrakesh streets.
Before we left we met John and he gave me precious tips for the next days I would spend in Morocco. I still have his map and I'm planning to give it back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
222
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and i got married in Morroco and we arranged for our families and friends to stay at riad elizabeth. We organised everything with the owners John & Elizabeth who were so helpful and really helped to reassure everyone about the visit to Marrakech.

The whole Riad was ours for the weekend and the staff were at at the service of our guests every needs. John and Elizabeths hospitality was second to none and their knowledge of Marrakech and the surrounding area really helped our guests to get the most out of their visit.

Everyone who stayed at the Riad said that the ambience of the building and the area really made them feel like they were in an oasis amidst the bustle of Marrakech and they loved it. I couldn't give a higher recommendation!

Thank you John and Elizabeth and your staff for helping to make our wedding experience perfect.

Jmayel & Sacha El-haj

England

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Riad Elizabeth was absolutely great place to stay and John and Elizabeth are very lovely and helpful couple, as well as their Manager Kamal and the excellent service from the staff.
The roof terrace is amazing and to have your breakfast in such tranquil surroundings was beautifully peaceful being so near to the souks which is only about 10 minutes away.
The rooms are so clean and cool with good air conditioning.
I would definitely recommend Riad Elizabeth as you feel so relaxed and comfortable, I would come back again as this was a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Excellent spot for a group holiday (if you have enough people to hire the whole place) - great roof terrace where you can drink and make as much noise as you like, nice rooms with strong, functional a/c. Breakfast nicely done and more provided when requested. Helpful staff who speak English, French and Arabic and who do not disturb when you are sleeping off a heavy night.

The pool is freezing though, even in summer with temperatures rising above 45C! Nice for dipping your feet in after a day walking around the old town in the sweltering heat. Only quasi-negative would be the location as it is quite hard to remember and the taxis you hail on the street can not always get you close enough at night, when you are least likely to find your way.

The owner John (I didn't meet Elizabeth) is a good bloke and very entertaining - all in all a good time. Recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

A tranquil oasis in the heart of the old city. The decor is chic and very comfortable with excellent food. The staff are very friendly and the manager could not have been more helpful. We were not due to fly back to UK until later in the evening but the manager let us leave our bags in the Riad and let us shower and get changed before our departure.
Highly recommended and although we never met the owners the efficiency with which Elizabeth responded to questions was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

First of all, thank you so much to John for a wonderful holiday.

The Riad Elizabeth is by far the best place I've ever stayed. A relaxed British-owned Riad, it was exactly what we were after.

We arranged the whole trip by email and had no problems. We also arranged our airport transfers and were picked up promptly.

We has originally booked the smallest 'Louise' room, but we were the only guests in the hotel (I believe this is only down to being low season, this riad does not deserve to be empty) so John upgraded us to the largest room, Olivia room! We were so grateful, the room was gorgeous and large with a spacious bathroom and a lovely kingsized bed. The riad is decorated in a black and white theme, its distinctly Moroccan but without being tacky or kitschy.

The thing we liked about this riad so much was its relaxed atmosphere. When we asked the times for breakfast, we were told 'breakfast is when you get up'. The girls in the hotel looked after us well and when my boyfriend took ill Kamal took me to the pharmacy and helped me buy some medication, and the girls prepared him some bread and marmalade to eat in the room as he was ill, which was much appreciated.

I also took the cooking lesson and went with Aisha to the market, which was an experience! She was a lovely girl and I had a great time learning to cook with her and the cook as well!

The pool was fun too, very cold! But great for just after braving the souks. And the roof terrace is warm if you fancy some sun! We had our dinner and breakfast on the roof terrace, which was lovely. There is also an honesty bar with cola, beers, wines, and bottled water which you can take and jot down what you have taken to pay at the end.

The location is brilliant, an experience to get to! It is far enough away from the Jemaa El Fna to avoid the noise and touristy-ness but its still only a 10-15 minute walk through the souks which is an experience in itself! At night you will have to get a taxi back as the souk gates close, but this will cost about £3 if picked up and negotiated from town, or £4 if you get the riad to arrange it for you.

Overall, I'd recommend this riad to anyone who wants something beautiful, relaxed, but less stuffy than some hotels and guesthouses can be.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I went to Riad Elizabeth alone and I felt so looked after and catered for. The wonderful staff serve up the most yummy food I've ever tasted and Elizabeth and John along with the local morrocoen manager Kamal are the most helpful people to give advice on what to do and where to go in the area. Together they all made my holiday incredible and adventurous. I must say I was a little nervous hearing of the recent bomb in the town square of Marrakesh however it was very safe and everything was running as normal, it was probably safer than ever in fact. So if you would like an amazing adventure in the most beautifully clean and exquisite Riad, Riad Elizabeth is the one to choose!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elizabeth

Address: Derb el Baroud 33, Marrakech 40,000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Elizabeth is an elegant and chic riad located in the heart of the ancient medina of Marrakech. An oasis of style and a calm refuge from the feverish pace and excitement of the souk.British-owned Riad Elizabeth offers modern comfort and facilities whilst maintaining an air of exotic Moroccan charm and romance.The riad offers six en-suite bedrooms, each tastefully and individually furnished to a high standard. For your comfort, all rooms are equipped with controllable air conditioning/heating as well as crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and an iPod dock. Just a short walk from the Medersa Ben Youssef and Musée de Marrakech, Riad Elizabeth provides everything needed to make your stay in Marrakech enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Elizabeth Marrakech
Riad Elizabeth Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.