We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend in Marrakech!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad SACR

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad SACR to your Saves list
Riad SACR
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   120 Derb Essnane Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Marlow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Girls weekend in Marrakech!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Us four girls had an incredible experience on our four nights in Marrakech. We stayed in Riad Sacr which is close to the old Medina Square. The Riad was really comfortable and the staff were very attentive. The Riad decor is typically Morrocan and beautiful. We had the Blue room and the Orange room, both of which were wonderfully dressed in Morrocan style and colours. Breakfasts were served on the terrace, freshly prepared and delicious, the Morrocan orange juice is amazing!

Room Tip: We loved the Blue Room! Very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    34
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this riad based on its favorable combination of reviews, fair price, good location and appealing photos and were very happy with our choice. Ahmed was prompt in courteous in responding to emails and he even upgraded our room when he learned we were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday.

I highly recommend taking advantage of the riad's complimentary airport transit service, for like many riads, this one is tucked away down a labyrinthine side street and would be very difficult to find on your own. But don't let the narrow, windy streets scare you: as a young woman, I felt safer in Marrakesh than I have in many parts of North America and Europe, and the distance from the main road provides a welcome retreat from the city's bustling streets.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with the first of many pots of delicious mint tea. Ahmed's brother Youssef provided helpful and candid recommendations and sincerely welcomed us to make ourselves at home, or "faites comme chez nous."

The decor is authentically colorful and gracious, with each room having its unique charm. Just take note that in the traditional style, there are no windows to the outside: all rooms face the interior, indoor "courtyard, " with natural light coming from a large skylight.

Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and included homemade Moroccan breads, butter, jam, honey, coffee and mint tea. The most memorable meal we had there, however, was a succulent homemade dinner of chicken tagine, salads and an assortment of Moroccan pastries. I only regret that the chillier-than-usual temperatures did not permit us to fully enjoy a lazy evening on the terrace, but highly recommend dining in at least one night during your stay.

The only cons were the weak internet signal and temperamental hot water, but these were only minor inconveniences. Overall, we enjoyed a very cozy and comfortable stay and would happily recommend it to travelers seeking authentic Moroccan hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A wonderful week at Riad Sacr where you feel part of the family in their lovely home. The ambiance is perfect and all guests are made to feel really welcome. The 3 course evening meal we had in the riad was surperb and the best meal we had in Marrakech. The whole stay was amazing - they are such lovely people. I can't wait to go back!!!

Even Mimi the family cat is very friendly!!!

Ahmed arranged for us to go to a traditional local hamman which was worth the experience in itself and we are still feeling relaxed and clean from it!!!
You could easily visit Riad Sacr and stay in doors all the time to relax in the lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: We were in the habibi room and although other comments on this site had said the room was noisy it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for four nights in this lovely Riad close to the heart of the city. We could not have asked for more friendly and accommodating hosts. The owner told us that during our stay it was 'our house' and he could not have meant it more. It was elegant, beautiful and spotlessly clean. Our room was wonderfully decorated and the bed was very comfortable, on our last night it was even garnished in rose petals! The roof terrace was a great breath of fresh air from the hustle and bustle of the souks, and if you are there for more than 5 minutes a staff will appear (seemingly from nowhere) with complimentary mint tea! The excursion provided by the the hotel was one of our best days, and at only 150 dirhams (about £12) each was incredible value for money. Despite checking out in the morning, we were able to leave our bags in the Riad and even make use of the terrace (and the tea!). The owner then showed us to our taxi and gave my girlfriend a rose as a parting gift. Simply cannot recommend it enough, if you are going to Marrakech and want a wonderful and authentic experience look no further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. On arrival we had such a warm welcome by staff. Very glad they arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport otherwise you would never find it.
The Purple room was simple, practical and very clean. The whole Riad was very quiet and it was lovely to have the roof terrace available for guests to relax during the day and evening. Breakfast was nice, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. Everytime we came back from a day out staff would make mint tea to revive us! much appreciated.
This Riad is perfectly situated for all the Souks and is lovely to in amoungst it all. About a 10min walk to the main square. Even though the Riad is in the centre of things it is down a quiet alley so at night I'm not sure how safe i would feel walking back there as a girl on my own. However there were 3 of us and we never had any trouble.
The Riad Sacr comes highly recommended from all 3of us and we thank the staff for making our stay in Marrakech so wonderful. Just wish we could have spoken more French.
Lucy, Kerry & Stacey from England.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Compact and clean room, spotless bed linen, clean towels every day, plenty of hot water and good breakfast taken on the roof terrace. Located within easy walk to Souks and main square. Owner very helpful with advice both on arrival and during stay and also booked us an excellent day trip. Very friendly, this Riad was a good choice and has a nice relaxing ambience, and we really enjoyed our stay. Be sure to ask to eat in at least once for an excellent value for money meal nicely served - the best meal we had !!.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad SACR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad SACR

Address: 120 Derb Essnane Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad SACR 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad SACR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad SACR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.