We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, personal service at this pretty Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad SACR

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad SACR to your Saves list
Riad SACR
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   120 Derb Essnane Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, personal service at this pretty Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

First of all, this Riad would be initially tricky to find if you are arranging your own transport. However Ahmed at the Riad kindly arranged taxi transfers for us which was really very helpful. It's in a great location, tucked away a few minutes walk from the souks and the square.

The riad is beautifully decorated in traditional style and the room we stayed in, Rouge, was small but clean with lovely decor - tadelakt tile and lovely soft furnishing. There was a fridge, plenty of hot water and an efficient little heater for the chillier nights.

Breakfast is taken on the roof terrace and is traditional Moroccan crepes or breads with honey and jam and Kenza makes a great mint tea! We also ate at the riad on one evening which was delicious (thanks to Kenza's mum!) and Kenza made a huge effort to dress the room with candles and created a gorgeous atmosphere.

They have a super-friendly cat, Mimi, as I am a cat lover I was happy to fuss over her!

Kenza was also able to get us a great deal on a day trip to the Ourika Valley, which was useful and good to get out of the craziness of the city for a day!

If I could have changed one thing I'd magically be able to speak French but this was my own failing and in no way a reflection on the lovely team at the riad!

Superb value for genuinely lovely service in a good location. Thank You!

Room Tip: We were in the Rouge room; the upstairs rooms may be slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    35
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
36
86
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay close to everything in the old town, in beautiful surroundings, eat lovely breakfast with a local touch and all this to a good price - Riad Sacr is the best choice. The host Kenza really cares about her guests and we felt like a part of a big family. All our love to Kenza & her family!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked 3 days, but stayed 8 days. This place feels like home from the moment you arrive!
Kenza and her family will do everything to make you feel at home in the riad and in Marrakech. Rooms were very nice decorated, and if we wanted to eat in the riad we just asked in the morning and Youssef would make us a perfect dinner. If you want to drink beer or wine, just ask and they would go and buy it. The riad is located in the middle of the medina, so everything is really close, we never used a taxi. The riad is nice and quiet, so you don't hear a lot of noise in the night time. We highly recommend this place and if we were to go back, we would definitly stay here. Thank you Kenza and family for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hello everyone,

we can really advice this Riad to stay there! Such a friendly accommodation ist rare and it was the best stay in our 2-Weeks-Journey in Marrokko. The owner are some of the "good one´s", who help you whereever they can. Thank you very much for everything, our sister :-)

Greets from Germany!
Jessi & Daniel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech or planning to go to Morocco generally. One of the greatest reasons we enjoyed our trip as much as we did was due to the trustworthy advice we received from the Riad owner and the simply lovely experience of getting to know her and the staff at the Riad. Originally we intended to stay for three nights and then move to another town - after our first two days we decided to extend our stay for the rest of the week. It was so great to have this Riad as our home base - it's convenient to all of the sites in Marrakech as well as convenient for day trip tour providers.I could write pages about all of the small things that added up to a wonderful experience for us. A few highlights:

-the rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable, and clean;

-take advantage of the offer to have dinner cooked for you by Kinza's mom one night. It was definitely one of our best meals in Morocco and worth every penny.

-the tours that Kinza can book on your behalf are wonderful and her prices that she's negotiated in partnership with the operators can't be beat. We researched other options and understood what a great price we were getting by working with her directly!

-from a personal perspective, Kinza is simply a wonderful person. Beyond logistics, we simply enjoyed getting to know her better. She is a very warm, candid, and energetic person who genuinely loves her country and wants to share what's best about it with others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Riad Sacr during the early summer (May). We picked this particular Riad after reading literally about 30 or more reviews of other Riads. I have to say that we struck gold with this one. We arrived in Marrakesh after a long journey which consisted of a flight from New York and then a long train ride from Casablanca. Upon our arrival the hostess "Kenza" sent a driver to pick us up and bring us to the location. I can honestly say that all I wanted to do was check in, take a hot shower and hit the sheets. Fate had it that we would first chat with Ms Kenza...and boy am I glad we did...she is phenominal and a pleasure to talk to. She is like historian, tour guide and big sister all wrapped up in one big glorious package. We enjoyed her and Marrakesh emincely and we will definitely be back again. Thank you Kenza for making our trip wonderful

Room Tip: first floor can be a bit noisy as people coming in can be heard but it is still ok for sleeping and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having stayed at Riad Sacr in August for two nights, I can say that I would highly recommend this Riad for a stay in Marrakech. We chose this Riad based on the reviews here, and it was a great decision! As three friends (female) who were visiting Marrakech for the first time, we were hugely grateful for the warm welcome and friendly advice from Kenza. She, and her husband, went out of their way to make us feel at home in both the Riad, and in the city, and it definitely helped us to make the most of our short stay, before moving onto other parts of Morocco.

The Riad itself is well located, and we were very appreciative of the air-con during the August heat! We had three of us in one room, and this was enough space for a short stay. The roof terrace provided a welcomed break from the hustle of the Medina, and it was a great spot to enjoy the lovely breakfast provided. The Riad is very beautiful inside, and had a traditional Moroccan feel. Our room was cleaned daily.

Thanks for such a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Dar Naima
Dar Naima
#255 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#157 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#195 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Yamsara
Riad Yamsara
#468 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Yamina
Riad Yamina
#177 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Mamoune
Riad Al Mamoune
#230 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad SACR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad SACR

Address: 120 Derb Essnane Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad SACR 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad SACR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad SACR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.