We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad SACR

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad SACR to your Saves list
Riad SACR
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   120 Derb Essnane Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #295 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Riad Sacr during the early summer (May). We picked this particular Riad after reading literally about 30 or more reviews of other Riads. I have to say that we struck gold with this one. We arrived in Marrakesh after a long journey which consisted of a flight from New York and then a long train ride from Casablanca. Upon our arrival the hostess "Kenza" sent a driver to pick us up and bring us to the location. I can honestly say that all I wanted to do was check in, take a hot shower and hit the sheets. Fate had it that we would first chat with Ms Kenza...and boy am I glad we did...she is phenominal and a pleasure to talk to. She is like historian, tour guide and big sister all wrapped up in one big glorious package. We enjoyed her and Marrakesh emincely and we will definitely be back again. Thank you Kenza for making our trip wonderful

Room Tip: first floor can be a bit noisy as people coming in can be heard but it is still ok for sleeping and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    30
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
77
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having stayed at Riad Sacr in August for two nights, I can say that I would highly recommend this Riad for a stay in Marrakech. We chose this Riad based on the reviews here, and it was a great decision! As three friends (female) who were visiting Marrakech for the first time, we were hugely grateful for the warm welcome and friendly advice from Kenza. She, and her husband, went out of their way to make us feel at home in both the Riad, and in the city, and it definitely helped us to make the most of our short stay, before moving onto other parts of Morocco.

The Riad itself is well located, and we were very appreciative of the air-con during the August heat! We had three of us in one room, and this was enough space for a short stay. The roof terrace provided a welcomed break from the hustle of the Medina, and it was a great spot to enjoy the lovely breakfast provided. The Riad is very beautiful inside, and had a traditional Moroccan feel. Our room was cleaned daily.

Thanks for such a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed five nights at Riad Sacr and spent a wonderful time in Marrakesch. The Riad is very centrally located in the Medina. From there its just five minutes to the Souq and the big square. Contrary to other Riads this one is still in moroccan hands. Khannsa, who is running the Riad with her family is very helpful and open-minded. She can give you any advice and knows almost every shop owner in the Souq... The breakfast on the roof terrasse is delicious and the rooms are warmly decorated and very clean. The riad is air conditioned and very quiet. We can recommend everyone to stay at Riad Sacr.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice; every room has a different colour.We stayed in the blue room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice time in Marrakech. The riad was just five minutes away from the jamaa el fna and the souks. Kenza, the owner was very nice to us and gave us a lot of informations.

Our room was big (the blue one) and the bed was very comfortable. The only "bad" thing was, that we sometimes had only cold water for showering, but we didn't care much about this.

You can get your breakfast whenever you want, it was very good. By the way, a second jam would be good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Travelling to Marrocco alone the biggest decision in advance was where to stay. Here on trip advisor I got a really good feeling about this little riad, where all the rooms have their color. One hour after ordering I got an email welcoming me, informing med that I would be picked up at the airport. That service was just an indication to the helpfulness and warmth that awaited me in Raid Sacr. The wonderful hostess, Kenza, made me feel welcome and at home the time I spent in Marrakesh. As a really good friend she guided me around Marrakesh, showed me the important sights, helped me with the shopping and gave me the keys to understand the colorful chaos of the souks. She also organized everything connected to my travel plans to Zagora and Essaoeira, which saved me a lot of hussle. The riad is beautifully decorated, to the tiniest corner. The rooftop is a lovely place to have breakfast, to read a book and just chill. My room was upgraded without any extra cost, and both Kenza and Hassna did everything possible to make my stay as good as possible. On my last day I had massage in the sparoom, and I left Riad Sacr relaxed and happy, eager to come back.

All in all I found it easy to travel a as a single woman in Marrocco. People are generous, hospitable and helpful. Even so, my experience in Marrocoo would have been less had I not stayed in Riad Sacr. Thank you Kenza! Merci beaucoup, Hassna! I’ll be back -Stine

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawdon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This was my first visit in Morocco and I couldn't have found a better place to stay than the Riad Sacr. Everything was perfect and above all my expectations. I stayed there 8 days and was very pleased with my room and the location of the riad, which is close to the medina.

Kenza, the owner is absolutely wonderful!! I appreciated her helpful advices and her attentions. But more than that, her kindness and generosity made my stay an unforgettable one! It was like staying at a dear friend. Also, thanks to Didier and Ahmed for great conversations, and to Assna for being so dedicated and her great breakfasts! I miss you all and look forward my next visit!! Carole

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Dear Kensa,
we were very pleased to stay in your riad! Thank you very much for your hospitality and giving us such a familial feeling. It was really amazing to be on another continent and feel so comfortable.
We had great breakfast and mint-tea all the time we wanted. Our room was very beautiful and authentic with many gimmicks and small details. The riad itself is like out of a dream of "1001 night" with an amazing terrace on the rooftop.
We hope to see you again, and also greetings to your husband Didier!
Thank you for everthying!

Lena & Manuel from Germany

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad SACR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad SACR

Address: 120 Derb Essnane Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad SACR 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Riad SACR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad SACR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.