We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best food we got in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Trattoria De Giancarlo

La Trattoria De Giancarlo
179 rue Mohamed Beqal (Gueliz), Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524 43 26 41
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #65 of 508 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Maybe the best food we got in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After we had walked past the restaurant several times during our trip, we one day decided to stop by to see if it was good. The small entrance doesn't match the inside of the restaurant which is big and beautifully decorated, even with a small pool in the dining area !

The food was lovely, maybe the best food we got here in Marrakech. The prices are a bit high in Marrakech-standards, but if you order a pasta-dish and a dessert it doesn't add up to more than 14-18 £. The sorbet ice cream is on my top ten list of the best ice creams I have ever had !! Also the waiters are very professional and you almost feel like you are back in Europe.

It is located in the new town area, so if you are staying there you HAVE to drop down here to have a taste !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    113
    62
    29
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best night in Marrakech!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to this resturant for our last night in Morocco after a month of travelling. We took a taxi for 20DH from Gueliz and it was SO worth it.
We were welcomed from the moment we walked in and what a haven! We were given the choice to have a drink before being seated but wanted to be sat straight away which wasnt a problem even though we hadnt booked. The dining area is gorgeous and very romantic. The tables are all set around a swimming pool and the majority of the lighting is left purely to candle light.
I chose the risotto which was amazingly delicious and great value. My boyfriend had the lasanga which as he was saying he'd like some bread to dip in, the waiter, as he said it, provided us with some!!
Perfect evening and great service with delicious food and wine.
I would 100% recommend this place while in Marrakech. Great last memory of our holiday!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location and lovely ambience. Have to say felt rushed as the food came too quickly between the courses.
But okay

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton surrey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“very nice italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

not sure if it is the same as trattoria giancarlo we had nice meal after recemandation from la maison arabe which is italian owned had good pasta and steak

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definately worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We picked this restaurant out of a guide book and we were so glad we did! The whole evening was a magical dining experience. A place to put on your glad rags and dress up for the evening. We hadn't booked so just chanced that they had space and we got lucky. Pre dinner drinks were taken in the courtyard area (beautifully lit with candles) then we were shown to our table which was next to the shimmering, candle lit pool (that no-one swims in!) I have rarely seen such attentive staff. If I'm honest the food was, in my opinion, only OK, nothing wrong with it but only 1 out of 4 of us "absolutely loved it". We didn't have starters or mains. Despite this I would definately go again just to soak up the wonderful ambience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria De Giancarlo also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Trattoria De Giancarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trattoria De Giancarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.