We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Trattoria De Giancarlo

La Trattoria De Giancarlo
179 rue Mohamed Beqal (Gueliz), Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-32641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 576 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We picked this restaurant out of a guide book and we were so glad we did! The whole evening was a magical dining experience. A place to put on your glad rags and dress up for the evening. We hadn't booked so just chanced that they had space and we got lucky. Pre dinner drinks were taken in the courtyard area (beautifully lit with candles) then we were shown to our table which was next to the shimmering, candle lit pool (that no-one swims in!) I have rarely seen such attentive staff. If I'm honest the food was, in my opinion, only OK, nothing wrong with it but only 1 out of 4 of us "absolutely loved it". We didn't have starters or mains. Despite this I would definately go again just to soak up the wonderful ambience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    83
    33
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Poolside garden dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a fabulous place. We started our evening with cocktails in the garden area then proceeded through to dine beside the pool. We food was superb and made such a change from couscous and tagines. There were 11 in our party and each and everyone of us enjoyed our meal. Many locals were eating here when we were there. All in all we had a lovely evening from beginning to end. I would thoroughly recommend this place. Out of all the restaurants that we eat in this was by far my favourite.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A restaurant worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not an easy restaurant to find but once found you don't regret looking for it! Food was fantastic and wines were good. We had the fish in lemon sauce and it was excellent. The tiramisu is delicious as well

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Avoid fake Italian restaurants”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

this beautiful restaurant would probably be one of the best of Marrakech, whether they stop to focus on Italian cuisine and maybe even was dedicated to excellent local cuisine.
The location is perfect for a restaurant with a thousand and one nights, the indoor pool, the lights decorations, the garden .... but that has to do with Italy?
Slow service, questionable choice of dishes, errors on the menu, average quality food (even bland) priced completely out of measuring!
There is no Italian here, only Moroccans and of course the style of food and service is not exactly the same.
Prices too high even for Europe... was recommended by the front desk of our hotel, but it's just a tourist trap.
In Marrakech street food can be more interesting .... and keeps you from throwing money away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant with friends recently and had a lovely evening. Located in the new town it was well worth the cab ride from our hotel in the old city. The tables are arranged around a pool which added to the atmosphere. Everyone enjoyed their meal (3 of us with fish, 1 with veal). Good wine list and service. We couldn't have asked for more. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria De Giancarlo also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Trattoria De Giancarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trattoria De Giancarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.