We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poolside garden dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Trattoria

La Trattoria
179 Rue Mohamed Beqal Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-32641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 667 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
Cuisines: Moroccan, International, European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Romantic, Family, With friends
Dumfries
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Poolside garden dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a fabulous place. We started our evening with cocktails in the garden area then proceeded through to dine beside the pool. We food was superb and made such a change from couscous and tagines. There were 11 in our party and each and everyone of us enjoyed our meal. Many locals were eating here when we were there. All in all we had a lovely evening from beginning to end. I would thoroughly recommend this place. Out of all the restaurants that we eat in this was by far my favourite.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A restaurant worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not an easy restaurant to find but once found you don't regret looking for it! Food was fantastic and wines were good. We had the fish in lemon sauce and it was excellent. The tiramisu is delicious as well

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid fake Italian restaurants”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

this beautiful restaurant would probably be one of the best of Marrakech, whether they stop to focus on Italian cuisine and maybe even was dedicated to excellent local cuisine.
The location is perfect for a restaurant with a thousand and one nights, the indoor pool, the lights decorations, the garden .... but that has to do with Italy?
Slow service, questionable choice of dishes, errors on the menu, average quality food (even bland) priced completely out of measuring!
There is no Italian here, only Moroccans and of course the style of food and service is not exactly the same.
Prices too high even for Europe... was recommended by the front desk of our hotel, but it's just a tourist trap.
In Marrakech street food can be more interesting .... and keeps you from throwing money away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinosarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant with friends recently and had a lovely evening. Located in the new town it was well worth the cab ride from our hotel in the old city. The tables are arranged around a pool which added to the atmosphere. Everyone enjoyed their meal (3 of us with fish, 1 with veal). Good wine list and service. We couldn't have asked for more. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a breathtaking experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We searched all the Marrakech guide books for an Italian Restaurant and stumbled across La Trattoria by accident. We were seated under the palm trees in a courtyard just off the street. We enjoyed a couple of drinks along with complimentary appetisers. It was very pleasant but the real experience was about to unfold when we were shown to our table for dinner. The restaurant is situated at the rear of the building and is approached along a corridor through an arch. What amazes is the beauty of the place, mood lighting, beautiful pool and soft romantic music. The service is discreet, friendly and professional and the food excellent. It was that good we came back the following night, to relive that thrilling experience again. I cannot recommend La Trattoria strongly enough, it is a romantic experience not to be missed if you intend to visit Marrakech.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingRaider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing