We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Trattoria De Giancarlo

La Trattoria De Giancarlo
179 rue Mohamed Beqal (Gueliz), Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524 43 26 41
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 549 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant with friends recently and had a lovely evening. Located in the new town it was well worth the cab ride from our hotel in the old city. The tables are arranged around a pool which added to the atmosphere. Everyone enjoyed their meal (3 of us with fish, 1 with veal). Good wine list and service. We couldn't have asked for more. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    71
    32
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amble, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a breathtaking experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We searched all the Marrakech guide books for an Italian Restaurant and stumbled across La Trattoria by accident. We were seated under the palm trees in a courtyard just off the street. We enjoyed a couple of drinks along with complimentary appetisers. It was very pleasant but the real experience was about to unfold when we were shown to our table for dinner. The restaurant is situated at the rear of the building and is approached along a corridor through an arch. What amazes is the beauty of the place, mood lighting, beautiful pool and soft romantic music. The service is discreet, friendly and professional and the food excellent. It was that good we came back the following night, to relive that thrilling experience again. I cannot recommend La Trattoria strongly enough, it is a romantic experience not to be missed if you intend to visit Marrakech.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Difficult to find but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Recommended by friends who came 10 days earlier.......don't try to find it by foot in the dark as Marrakech isn't the best for road signs, but when you do find it, it is worth the effort....make it easy for yourself and go by cab
Down a back street in the Gueliz (newer part of Marrakech) La Trattoria is simply stunning when you walk through from the terrace entrance into the restaurant.
The setting is exquisite,food is delicious and the staff attentive......my wife said her tiramisu was the best she's had.
We tried local wines which were fine accompaniment to the food.
There was a singing guitarist who complimented and enhanced the atmosphere...don't know how much of a fixture he is or whether they alternate entertainment though.
Not cheap...with a cocktail to start and wine you could easliy rack up 550-600 dirams per person(£45-50) but ask me if it was worth it...YES !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Was recommended Giancarlo by our hotel, certainly did not disappoint. My wife ,son & I Had a fabulous meal , 7 was a nice change from the Moroccan dihes we tried, which certainly varied great ly in quality. The food , the setting & the staff, agem not to be missed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most Romantic setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I literally fell in love with this restaurant. Beautiful setting i have never seen anything like it. The food was amazing. The staff literally catered to you. Staff were EXCELLENT! I honestly wouldn't even want to say it was a 5* if anything it was more! If you ever go Marakech be sure not to miss out on this beautiful lil treasure!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria De Giancarlo also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Trattoria De Giancarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trattoria De Giancarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.