We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food but hardly any vegetarian choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guèliz, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5244-30274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food but hardly any vegetarian choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went to Bagatelle twice in one week and both times the food was fantastic. The location is great (inside as well as the terrace) and includes good lighting, pleasant music and cooling vapours being sprayed at you in a very pleasant way. As a meat eater, I had plenty of choice and found particularly the liver dish as well as the trout divine. A slight drawback though was that my partner is vegetarian (but eats fish) and if it wasn't for the trout on the menu, there were hardly any non-meat choices available. Overall, Bagatelle is a great place with good food and a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    114
    31
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food here was amazing! We sat outside to have dinner and it had a very relaxed atmosphere with its fairy lights and quiet music in the background. Try the duck confit if you can as it was so nice! The waiters were very professional and happy to help with queries.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here many times. As a moroccan I know quite well the difference between what tourists are served up in the square and what authentic moroccan is, and this is really it! It tasted just like home. Delicious moroccan courses in great portions will have you unwilling to move. We had the beef tajine, and some moroccan salads. Delicious! The terrace was stunning with a night view to the crazy street. The our music player was very talented and played some gnawa classics really well & sometimes nice nomad music. The service was impeccable and the waiter spoke great english for my guests. We were the last people to leave and they waited on us out of sight allowing us to enjoy the terrace and appeared only when we had decided to head home. Very discreet. We also had the pleasure of watching a moroccan wedding procession happening down bellow. It was magical really. All in all a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone in Marrakech for friends, family or couples.
Moha

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“French chic' is a treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Now this place knows how to cook a basic dish and wrap it up in a French cuisine, it's a very good place, it is busy and you can feel you are going "posh" for the night, you can budget around the menu but you can dig deeper than other restaurants too, but we ate here twice, and I would recommend it, for a more refined night treat yourself and enjoy the Bagatelle!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chanced upon Bagatelle one night, like many other nights looking for a restaurant of a higher standard and both really enkjoyed our meals. The quality of the food was great, we had the chicken tagine and chicken skewers with snails and salmon to start. The Moroccon wine was a gamble but was very tasty and cheap. For a very enjoyable 3 course meal with bottle of wine in a really nicely decorated garden you cant go wrong for around £50!

Just be careful walking home, lots of packs of dogs hanging around barking at each other in the area as its a bit quiter than the medina area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.