We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in the new town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guèliz, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 43 02 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 553 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Instow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great find in the new town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a great place for lunch. A lovely spot for an unhurried lunch. Really good bistro food. Great value and really great food. He plat du jour of roast beef, cauliflower cheese and fine beans was historic ( sorry Michael Winner!) and the profiteroles we delicious - and enormous!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    104
    29
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Touch of France in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was brought here by a friend and fell in love! The food is perfect each and every time, the service is great and the atmosphere allow for every type of situation. I had the lamb brain and was impressed with the presentation and tatse! Wonderful wine selection as well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“J'adore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this restaurant by a friend of mine who was a single diner. I chose to go alone and was instantly struck by the beautiful decor and pleasant natures of the staff. I chose the Spanish mussels to start; they were cooked beautifully and were absolutely divine. I was also recommended a wine to complement the dish but chose to go with the hard liquor instead. For the main I again opted for Spanish mussels, I was disappointed with the flavour but on the whole I would recommend this restaurant to anyone/everyone. Five stars!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I ate here last night and turned up as a single diner, with no reservation. I received a very warm welcome and was shown to a good table. I ordered oysters and asked for their recommendation for a glass of wine to accompany this - their choice was excellent. This was followed by a very, very good rib eye steak and frites. Extraordinarily good and again accompanied by a recommended wine. I can't recommend this place highly enough, absolutely outstanding in every way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“As bistro as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Who'd of thought you had to go to Morocco to have the best French restaurant experience. Everything about Bagatelle is as authentic as it gets, from the atmosphere and decor to the cuisine and service. For starters we went for a dozen of escargot. The freshness of the snails combined with the garlic and parley butter glaze was as heart warming as it gets. I then had the escalope cordon bleu, which consist of cheese and ham sandwiched between cuts of veal and the whole thing enveloped in a crispy breading... Luckily Lent had just ended, because all that goodness left me feeling like I had sinned for the year. My companion went for the magret de canard, served with a side of caramelized apples. The duck was so tender and the caramelized apples, although a classic combination with duck, lifted up the dish to another level. It's classic french bistro food at its best. As for dessert, couldn't go wrong with the french classic Profterol, a combination of vanilla ice cream and choux pastry topped with warm flowing chocolate. And if this doesn't convince you...
Overall, it's been a real surprise to have found such a bistro amongst all the new wave inspired restaurant which look so alike. This one stands out to bring the finest of french bistro cuisine to your table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.