We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guèliz, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 43 02 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were taken there by buy our friends on holiday and had a wonderful time. The service was very polite & friendly. The food we chose was excellent. The atmosphere was great. You can imagine being in a french restaurant in the late Fifties.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    180
    97
    28
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

As we were visiting Marrakech in March the outside garden of Bagatelle was closed, so when we first approached the restaurant we weren't even sure if it was open let alone whether it would be any good! Behind the thick red curtain lay a lovely, traditional French Bistro - our fears melted away!!

The atmosphere was great, a lot of locals and families out for Saturday night dinner, and the food was amazing! Traditional French fair but beautifully cooked. We might have been feeling sentimental for Marrakech as it was our last night but we had such a great time at Bagatelle, everyone was so friendly, I can't recommend it highly enough. Make sure you book though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good French Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Came here on the strength of the reviews and was not disappointed.

The confit of duck was seared on the outside so it was crispy but the meat was soft inside. It fell off the none easily. Best french fries in Morocco (not mushy- the usual in Morocco. IDK why). The pastilla was a crisp shell with powdered sugar, chicken with raisons, nuts and cinnamon inside. Liver was great, as was the tongue in cream sauce. Classic French desserts. All a welcome change from the ubiquitous tagines, although they offer it.

Alcoholic drinks in this Muslim country are usually disappointing. Not only do they pour them short, you cannot taste any alcohol. This is true all over Morocco, not just here.

Service was attentive and professional. The atmosphere is Paris bistro circa 1910. There is a large outdoor seating area but Feb. temps kept us inside with a cozy fire.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great food, great service, lovely garden table on a hot day. Wanted to come back but had no time. Had the best escargots and oysters ever

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very impressed by our food and the price (£40 for 2 meals with wine). Great dining space too and easy to get to in the Nouvelle Ville.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.