We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good French Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guèliz, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 43 02 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 567 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good French Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Came here on the strength of the reviews and was not disappointed.

The confit of duck was seared on the outside so it was crispy but the meat was soft inside. It fell off the none easily. Best french fries in Morocco (not mushy- the usual in Morocco. IDK why). The pastilla was a crisp shell with powdered sugar, chicken with raisons, nuts and cinnamon inside. Liver was great, as was the tongue in cream sauce. Classic French desserts. All a welcome change from the ubiquitous tagines, although they offer it.

Alcoholic drinks in this Muslim country are usually disappointing. Not only do they pour them short, you cannot taste any alcohol. This is true all over Morocco, not just here.

Service was attentive and professional. The atmosphere is Paris bistro circa 1910. There is a large outdoor seating area but Feb. temps kept us inside with a cozy fire.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    113
    29
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great food, great service, lovely garden table on a hot day. Wanted to come back but had no time. Had the best escargots and oysters ever

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very impressed by our food and the price (£40 for 2 meals with wine). Great dining space too and easy to get to in the Nouvelle Ville.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went here for lunch during my stay in Marrakech, I think the only saving grace was the service.
The Menu is classically french, but just not executed very well!
My Partner had a Breaded pork chop that so thick it wasn't cooked properly in the middle, but was over out the outside, in fact inedible unless wanted food poisoning. I had liver which was supposed to be medium well, but was just well, well done!!
Would really recommend it, it wouldn't visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We found this restaurant on TA and decided to give it a try. What a great decision. The service was very good, the decor was amazing. The food was fine- we both had a steaks which where ok. To be honest I had here the best orange juice and mint tea during all my stay in Marrakech. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.