We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good French Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guèliz, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5244-30274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good French Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Came here on the strength of the reviews and was not disappointed.

The confit of duck was seared on the outside so it was crispy but the meat was soft inside. It fell off the none easily. Best french fries in Morocco (not mushy- the usual in Morocco. IDK why). The pastilla was a crisp shell with powdered sugar, chicken with raisons, nuts and cinnamon inside. Liver was great, as was the tongue in cream sauce. Classic French desserts. All a welcome change from the ubiquitous tagines, although they offer it.

Alcoholic drinks in this Muslim country are usually disappointing. Not only do they pour them short, you cannot taste any alcohol. This is true all over Morocco, not just here.

Service was attentive and professional. The atmosphere is Paris bistro circa 1910. There is a large outdoor seating area but Feb. temps kept us inside with a cozy fire.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    131
    37
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great food, great service, lovely garden table on a hot day. Wanted to come back but had no time. Had the best escargots and oysters ever

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very impressed by our food and the price (£40 for 2 meals with wine). Great dining space too and easy to get to in the Nouvelle Ville.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went here for lunch during my stay in Marrakech, I think the only saving grace was the service.
The Menu is classically french, but just not executed very well!
My Partner had a Breaded pork chop that so thick it wasn't cooked properly in the middle, but was over out the outside, in fact inedible unless wanted food poisoning. I had liver which was supposed to be medium well, but was just well, well done!!
Would really recommend it, it wouldn't visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We found this restaurant on TA and decided to give it a try. What a great decision. The service was very good, the decor was amazing. The food was fine- we both had a steaks which where ok. To be honest I had here the best orange juice and mint tea during all my stay in Marrakech. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.