We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Parisian Brassarie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guèliz, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 43 02 74
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #32 of 509 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Marrakech
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Think Parisian Brassarie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I loved the old Bagatelle and was extremely sad to see it closed and bulldozed for an apartment block. I am, however, extremely happy to find it re opened by the same family that have had it for over fifty years and only metres away from the old site. The decor is the same, with wonderful black and white photographs of the family and Marrakech, spread over decades.

The menu and service is as good as ever and it was wonderful to see the same staff that were there before it was closed, over five years ago. My partner and I always eat there as soon as we arrive in Marrakech and we make it a tradition, that it is the last place in which we eat before we leave.

Great location, easy to get to and any taxi driver knows it.

The clientele are mainly ex pats and locals and that too adds something special. If you eat at The Bagatelle, you really feel part of Marrakech life and it's history, more than just a tourist passing through.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    170
    90
    23
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This beautiful location has an interior that recalls early 20th century decor - recessed stained-glass ceiling, brass, dark wood, red lamps, mirrors. The outdoor seating area is filled with greenery and well-designed lighting. Service is charming and familiar. There is a regular menu, as well as rotating plats du jour. The flavor of dishes tends toward the subtle, with accents on a particular herb or spice, rather than overly complex or brash preparations that other flashy restaurants often try. All of this suggests a well-established restaurant that is comfortable with its repertoire. Altogether an excellent place to spend a leisurely evening, enjoying a multi-course meal in the relaxing, slightly-upscale-yet-welcoming, neighborly atmosphere that is Bagatelle.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

la bagatelle was absolutely stunning from its decor to its food and service. we stayed just round the corner from la bagatelle and visited on our last night. what a superb choice we made!! The french onion soup was amazing, the kidneys in red wine sauce were very tasty and as for the chocolate fondant....... i would fly back right now for one of these.. So wish we had discovered La Bagatelle earlier in our holiday as we would have gone back!!!! Cant rate this place highly enough!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fine food in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Bagatelle was a surprising find in Marrakech. A local taxi driver gave us the tip that it was a good place to dine. After the madness of the medina and Moroccan food for 3 weeks the tip was certainly a good one. I had some traditional French food while my wife tried the local chicken tangine. The food was the best we had in Morocco and the service was as good as would be expected at any first class establishment. Tucked away in a side street away from the main traffic area there is a real french atmosphere. Prices were very reasonable. The staff made you feel welcome and there was no rush. By the number of local french customers it is obvious that this establishment has been providing this service for some time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faverham in England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good French food for when you are tanjined out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had salads to start , the smoked duck with foie gras was superb , duck confit and sautéed kidneys as main courses , both very good , deserts were ice creams as it was hot , and coffees. The bill was about £40 with tip ,, can't fault it

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Bagatelle to your Saves list