We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guèliz, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 43 02 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This beautiful location has an interior that recalls early 20th century decor - recessed stained-glass ceiling, brass, dark wood, red lamps, mirrors. The outdoor seating area is filled with greenery and well-designed lighting. Service is charming and familiar. There is a regular menu, as well as rotating plats du jour. The flavor of dishes tends toward the subtle, with accents on a particular herb or spice, rather than overly complex or brash preparations that other flashy restaurants often try. All of this suggests a well-established restaurant that is comfortable with its repertoire. Altogether an excellent place to spend a leisurely evening, enjoying a multi-course meal in the relaxing, slightly-upscale-yet-welcoming, neighborly atmosphere that is Bagatelle.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    182
    97
    28
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

la bagatelle was absolutely stunning from its decor to its food and service. we stayed just round the corner from la bagatelle and visited on our last night. what a superb choice we made!! The french onion soup was amazing, the kidneys in red wine sauce were very tasty and as for the chocolate fondant....... i would fly back right now for one of these.. So wish we had discovered La Bagatelle earlier in our holiday as we would have gone back!!!! Cant rate this place highly enough!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fine food in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Bagatelle was a surprising find in Marrakech. A local taxi driver gave us the tip that it was a good place to dine. After the madness of the medina and Moroccan food for 3 weeks the tip was certainly a good one. I had some traditional French food while my wife tried the local chicken tangine. The food was the best we had in Morocco and the service was as good as would be expected at any first class establishment. Tucked away in a side street away from the main traffic area there is a real french atmosphere. Prices were very reasonable. The staff made you feel welcome and there was no rush. By the number of local french customers it is obvious that this establishment has been providing this service for some time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good French food for when you are tanjined out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had salads to start , the smoked duck with foie gras was superb , duck confit and sautéed kidneys as main courses , both very good , deserts were ice creams as it was hot , and coffees. The bill was about £40 with tip ,, can't fault it

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Very authentically French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want a change from Moroccan food, this is almost like leaving Morocco and stepping into a Parisian brasserie. Even the waiters seem much more French than Moroccan. The walls are filled with nostalgic black and white photographs of the old days of the French colonial period, this also includes the toilets upstairs.

We had lunch outside and could have had a good deal of about 120dh each for three courses, but instead went a la carte as it was our last meal and enjoyed a lovely pastilla (about the only Moroccan thing on the menu) and a rather good beef dish with mashed potatoes and vegetables. It did feel a little strange having a meat-and-potatoes meal in the heat of Marrakesh, but I'm sure the expats living here love the chance to escape from Morocco, if only for the afternoon.

I finished off with "cafe gourmand" - coffee with 3 miniature desserts, all rather delicious. We both enjoyed our meals. The only sour note was that we were overcharged for two items on the menu - one was charged almost at double the correct price. I'm prepared to believe this was a genuine mistake, as the waiter was really most apologetic when we pointed this out and came back with a corrected bill very quickly.

I think the atmosphere inside at night would be extreemly good - there is a beautiful glass cupola over the restaurant and personally, I think evening would be the time to go here. It's quite easy to find on the corner of rue de Yougoslavie opposite the derelict cinema (of which, incidentally, there are some photos on the walls!)

Incidentally, even though this restaurant is as French as French can be, the menu did contain English translations throughout.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.