We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-30274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

la bagatelle was absolutely stunning from its decor to its food and service. we stayed just round the corner from la bagatelle and visited on our last night. what a superb choice we made!! The french onion soup was amazing, the kidneys in red wine sauce were very tasty and as for the chocolate fondant....... i would fly back right now for one of these.. So wish we had discovered La Bagatelle earlier in our holiday as we would have gone back!!!! Cant rate this place highly enough!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine food in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Bagatelle was a surprising find in Marrakech. A local taxi driver gave us the tip that it was a good place to dine. After the madness of the medina and Moroccan food for 3 weeks the tip was certainly a good one. I had some traditional French food while my wife tried the local chicken tangine. The food was the best we had in Morocco and the service was as good as would be expected at any first class establishment. Tucked away in a side street away from the main traffic area there is a real french atmosphere. Prices were very reasonable. The staff made you feel welcome and there was no rush. By the number of local french customers it is obvious that this establishment has been providing this service for some time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greymanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good French food for when you are tanjined out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had salads to start , the smoked duck with foie gras was superb , duck confit and sautéed kidneys as main courses , both very good , deserts were ice creams as it was hot , and coffees. The bill was about £40 with tip ,, can't fault it

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pilgrim3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
353 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Very authentically French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want a change from Moroccan food, this is almost like leaving Morocco and stepping into a Parisian brasserie. Even the waiters seem much more French than Moroccan. The walls are filled with nostalgic black and white photographs of the old days of the French colonial period, this also includes the toilets upstairs.

We had lunch outside and could have had a good deal of about 120dh each for three courses, but instead went a la carte as it was our last meal and enjoyed a lovely pastilla (about the only Moroccan thing on the menu) and a rather good beef dish with mashed potatoes and vegetables. It did feel a little strange having a meat-and-potatoes meal in the heat of Marrakesh, but I'm sure the expats living here love the chance to escape from Morocco, if only for the afternoon.

I finished off with "cafe gourmand" - coffee with 3 miniature desserts, all rather delicious. We both enjoyed our meals. The only sour note was that we were overcharged for two items on the menu - one was charged almost at double the correct price. I'm prepared to believe this was a genuine mistake, as the waiter was really most apologetic when we pointed this out and came back with a corrected bill very quickly.

I think the atmosphere inside at night would be extreemly good - there is a beautiful glass cupola over the restaurant and personally, I think evening would be the time to go here. It's quite easy to find on the corner of rue de Yougoslavie opposite the derelict cinema (of which, incidentally, there are some photos on the walls!)

Incidentally, even though this restaurant is as French as French can be, the menu did contain English translations throughout.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely building and a great future”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a impromptu bottle of wine after visiting La Majorelle Garden and decided to come back for Lunch which we barely made due to traffic as the restaurant closes at 3.00pm, however the Manager made it clear we were welcome to stay to finish our meal at leisure so all not lost. Lovely interior and Parisian feel.

Helpful?
Thank jeeveschester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing