We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guèliz, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 43 02 74
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #31 of 507 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fine food in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Bagatelle was a surprising find in Marrakech. A local taxi driver gave us the tip that it was a good place to dine. After the madness of the medina and Moroccan food for 3 weeks the tip was certainly a good one. I had some traditional French food while my wife tried the local chicken tangine. The food was the best we had in Morocco and the service was as good as would be expected at any first class establishment. Tucked away in a side street away from the main traffic area there is a real french atmosphere. Prices were very reasonable. The staff made you feel welcome and there was no rush. By the number of local french customers it is obvious that this establishment has been providing this service for some time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    169
    88
    23
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faverham in England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good French food for when you are tanjined out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had salads to start , the smoked duck with foie gras was superb , duck confit and sautéed kidneys as main courses , both very good , deserts were ice creams as it was hot , and coffees. The bill was about £40 with tip ,, can't fault it

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Very authentically French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want a change from Moroccan food, this is almost like leaving Morocco and stepping into a Parisian brasserie. Even the waiters seem much more French than Moroccan. The walls are filled with nostalgic black and white photographs of the old days of the French colonial period, this also includes the toilets upstairs.

We had lunch outside and could have had a good deal of about 120dh each for three courses, but instead went a la carte as it was our last meal and enjoyed a lovely pastilla (about the only Moroccan thing on the menu) and a rather good beef dish with mashed potatoes and vegetables. It did feel a little strange having a meat-and-potatoes meal in the heat of Marrakesh, but I'm sure the expats living here love the chance to escape from Morocco, if only for the afternoon.

I finished off with "cafe gourmand" - coffee with 3 miniature desserts, all rather delicious. We both enjoyed our meals. The only sour note was that we were overcharged for two items on the menu - one was charged almost at double the correct price. I'm prepared to believe this was a genuine mistake, as the waiter was really most apologetic when we pointed this out and came back with a corrected bill very quickly.

I think the atmosphere inside at night would be extreemly good - there is a beautiful glass cupola over the restaurant and personally, I think evening would be the time to go here. It's quite easy to find on the corner of rue de Yougoslavie opposite the derelict cinema (of which, incidentally, there are some photos on the walls!)

Incidentally, even though this restaurant is as French as French can be, the menu did contain English translations throughout.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely building and a great future”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a impromptu bottle of wine after visiting La Majorelle Garden and decided to come back for Lunch which we barely made due to traffic as the restaurant closes at 3.00pm, however the Manager made it clear we were welcome to stay to finish our meal at leisure so all not lost. Lovely interior and Parisian feel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice splurge restaurant in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had one dinner here and it was very good. The ambiance was nice, the waiter was very attentive and efficient, and the food was excellent. The cost, though a tad high for Morocco, was worth every penny. It is located in the Ville Nouvelle part of Marrakech, on a side street that is not very attractive, but only two blocks or so from from Avenue Mohammed V. The restaurant takes reservations. We did not have one, so we had to sit outside, which was pleasant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.