We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building and a great future” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bagatelle

Bagatelle
103, Rue de Yougoslavie | Guèliz, Marrakech, Morocco
05 24 43 02 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely building and a great future”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a impromptu bottle of wine after visiting La Majorelle Garden and decided to come back for Lunch which we barely made due to traffic as the restaurant closes at 3.00pm, however the Manager made it clear we were welcome to stay to finish our meal at leisure so all not lost. Lovely interior and Parisian feel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    181
    97
    28
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice splurge restaurant in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had one dinner here and it was very good. The ambiance was nice, the waiter was very attentive and efficient, and the food was excellent. The cost, though a tad high for Morocco, was worth every penny. It is located in the Ville Nouvelle part of Marrakech, on a side street that is not very attractive, but only two blocks or so from from Avenue Mohammed V. The restaurant takes reservations. We did not have one, so we had to sit outside, which was pleasant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

In September while visiting Marrakech, our guide took us to lunch at this incredible french restaurant. Just a short taxi ride from the town square, entering it is like visiting France in Morocco. The food was exquisite and the service excellent. After a delicious salad, my friend and I had the steak, which was done with a mushroom sauce to die for. The desserts topped it off: I tried a chocolate one with delicious vanilla ice cream on the side, and she had creme brulee. If you sat in the outdoor courtyard, there were gentle spritzers spraying water to keep you cool. This was the best restaurant we ate at in Morocco during our 2-week adventure. It's a nice change from Moroccan food, which, of course, is also delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been to many restaurants in the past where we have had a really nice meal only to be disappointed when the standard wasn't maintained on subsequent visits.
the bagatelle is a very welcome exception to this.
during the week we were in town we went there quite a few times and were delighted with the quality of both the food and the service.
this is a french owned restaurant and the menu is mostly french with a bit of moroccon slung in.
unlike in the uk were restaurants concentrate a limited menu so freshness and quality can be maintained; here the choice is large. maybe 25 mains and 12-13 starters, but the cooking whether it's a tagine or a steak, cannot be faulted. the only minor issue i had was an entrecote which was a bit chewy. i didn't complain at the time, i dare say they would have brought me something else if i would have asked.
apart from the dishes being of the highest quality, on the last night i had a tarte au citron for pudding, that would have caused most english bakers to look to their laurels. the balance between sweet and sour of the filling and the crispness of the pastry still lingers in my mouth.

the atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxed especially in the covered outside area with wicker chairs and pot plants. the inside area has high ceilings, dark woodwork decorated with black and white photographs, which gives it a relaxed and familiar feeling.
the restaurant is nicely busy but not overcrowded. we never had a problem with finding a table. it is a family affair and the owner and his brother make a reassuring presence and whats more they have quite good english, which was a great help as our french was somewhat lacking. the best place we came across in marrakesh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sorbet to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved this place, nice change from tagine, excellent steak with pepper sauce, chocolate mouse, excellent service in a beautiful setting, steak and beautiful Morroccon wine (Guerrouane)

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagatelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bagatelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagatelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.