We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imouzzer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Imouzzer
Save Saved
You added Hotel Imouzzer to your Saves list
Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice hotel just around the corner of Jemaa el Fna. Simple, small and clean rooms in authentic style. They serve breakfast and meals on the roofterrace, a nice place to hang around. The staff was very welcoming. They quickly new my name and were always helpful (they kept my stuff there when I left the city for a few days for free, answered all my questions about the city and the man on the nightshift loves teaching Arabic). At night you need to be silent cause any noise will echo and bother other guests. So no showers after 23.00 for example. This hotel felt like home and I will return here for sure next time I'll visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    36
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Beautiful old Moroccon-style hotel, with a superb roof-terrace. Rooms with water, shared showers and toilets. Cheap and on a beuatiful location, on a few meters from Djema el Fna. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

On the positive side: the location of Hotel Imouzzer is excellent, just moments away from the main square but as soon as you enter the alleyway the noise is gone. The roof top terrace gets sunshine all day long – perfect for breakfast in the morning, relaxing in the afternoon, and sampling the fantastic cooking for dinner (the best prune and almond tagine all trip). The female staff in particular were excellent, the cooking and cleaning was to a very high and friendly level. At 120 dirham (about 12 euros) for a room for the two of us, it was extremely cheap, and the room was spacious and clean enough. They were happy for us to leave our bags the day we checked out, and then to kill some time on the rooftop before catching our flight.

On the downside: one shower between about 10 rooms on each floor (potentially 20 people) is just not enough. Although the shower was cleaned regularly, the hot water and water pressure were unreliable, and a couple of days we just didn’t bother battling the shower and visited Hammam Ziani down the road instead. The owner (manager?) wasn’t particularly interested in helping us with organising day trips or transport, or giving recommendations for things like a place for my husband to have a wet shave – this was a real shame as we would have loved a local to suggest some places to us.

Two tips: although bed linen is provided, towels are not, so pack your own. And while there’s no air con during summer, there’s no heating during winter so the nights get very cold. Blankets are provided, but pack your flannelette pjs too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Hotel Immouzzer was SUCH a great find! For 120 Dh (about $14) a night, we had a spotless room in a location just steps from the Djemaa el Fnaa, but on a quiet street, so we left the noise and commotion behind. The staff were super friendly, and we a great breakfast on the lovely terrace. The bathrooms are shared, (though you have a sink in your room) but very clean, and the water in the showers was hot!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

A great budget option in the medina if you don't mind shared bathrooms. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable, furnished with a small desk and chair, and also equipped with a sink. It was cozy and more than adequate! Bathrooms were basic also but kept very clean. I did notice that the lady working at this hotel cleaned it from top to bottom each day. There is no noise insulation, but that's the case for pretty much any traditional accommodations in Morocco. The manager also books good value tours. I booked my 3 day/2 night desert tour through him for 950 dirhams.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

my husband and me stayed here for a few nights... a great roof terrace where you can see the koutoubia moshee... great views... very good breakfast (not included in the price, but cheap as well)

the rooms are very basic and very small, the ones in the patio are better in summer cause they are cool! (no air conditioning!) there is a sink in every room, toilet and shower is shared, it is cleaned every day!

all very basic but it was enough for us! had a great time in marakesh although i have to say we stayed on the first floor and we´ve been there in summer (june) i can recommend the hotel in colder seasons or ask to stay in a room in the patio! it was quite hot during the night!!!

great location, only a few minutes from Place Djemaa el Fna.

only 6 euro per person which is great!!!!

if you travel budget, there are a lot of places like this in the area of this hotel... but if you arrive and you dont know where to go there are thousands of guides running up to you and want to lead you to a hotel... so it is best to know beforehand where you are going, that is why i recommend this one place... but i guess there are thousand more :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague/ UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

I have stayed three times in two years at the Imouzzer and am returning there again in September 2008. It is amazingly good value at about 5 quid per person per night (70 MAD), particularly now that the pound is sinking steadily on the currency markets.
A typical Moroccan hotel with a nice, greenery-filled, blue-tiled courtyard and attractive roof terrace, it is in the centre of where things happen, about two/ three minutes on foot from the place Djemma el Fnaa, in a side street, derb Sidi Bouloukate, just off the pedestrian street Bab Agnaou with its cafes, restaurants, pizzerias, cinema, banks, tourist kitsch shops, tobacconists (for stamps, phone cards etc) and an informal evening open air street market to tempt you as you make your way back to the hotel. You can very easily pop home for a quick, free hot shower or a rest during the day or evening and it is also very near the Bank of Morocco, other banks and ATMs and the Main Post Office facing Djemma el Fnaa .
Rooms are typically small, basic and simple (bed, bedside table, wall coat hooks but nowhere much except your suitcase to store things in the room), but very clean with comfortable, recently purchased mattresses and clean bedding, washbasins (cold water only) and electricity points. Hot showers are available at any time from 6am to midnight on each floor, as are flush toilets (not the Turkish type) which will be welcome news for most Brits.
Clearly, at this price level, you cannot expect luxury, but the hotel does offer everything I need and I find it perfectly satisfactory and more. I don't need a hotel pool, disco and cocktail bar and you will certainly not get those here, but I really do enjoy staying at the Hotel Imouzzer. It simply suits my purposes very well, and the smiling welcome and excellent service from the staff is friendly, helpful and genuinely meant. They will also happily do washing for a small fee and good quality meals are available on request on the terrace, as is a copious, good quality breakfast for a modest charge that goes on until late morning .
I don't want to get carried away with enthusiasm, but this hotel is an ideal base for anyone with an open mind, a small budget and the desire to get to know Marrakech a little more closely than in a Western Identikit chain hotel. I am 60 but it is a hotel ideal for any age and there are always cheerful young families with children, oldies with walking sticks, students from all countries imaginable, a variety of middle aged visitors and other young folk staying there every time I visit. Many guests clearly return again and again and apparently just reserve with a simple phone call or e-mail and a deposit sent to confirm the booking. (eg via Western Union), but I usually pay in full for my next trip before I leave Marrakech and, at less for a one-week stay than for a single night in more self-consciously up-market or swish places, it is not an expensive option in any case. We cannot all be wrong. Go on, be adventurous and give it a try. It really doesn't need a great sense of adventure anyway. And at this price you cannot go far wrong. Highly recommended!!!

  • Liked — Excellent price, cleanliness, welcome, location, good, simple, inexpensive food.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Imouzzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imouzzer

Address: Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 461 hotels in Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imouzzer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.