We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Asam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Asam to your Saves list
Dar Asam
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   53 Bis, derb El Kadi | Quartier Azbezt, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #568 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Toulouse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed 6 days in Marrakech at the Dar Asam and it was a fantastic and quiet place to stay. The staff was very friendly and it always felt like coming home after a long day of sightseeing. The rooms (5 in total) are big, clean and each has its own style. The owner has a lot of taste (I just loved the interior) and is a very nice person. She has plenty of hints what to do (Spa, Nightlife, Dinner, ....), what to see and knows as well a very good (and honest) taxi driver which loves to explain the culture and sights. The day starts already with a very good breakfast (try out the roof-terrace and enjoy the sun!) and you can have a fantastic dinner as well (not to miss either!).
The Dar Asam is located in the Medina-part of Marrakech so be prepared to see Marrakech from a completely different but true and fascinating angle, compared to the new ville or the palm-quarter where you find the normal hotels. It is absolutely no problem and safe to find the place in the night.

I could write pages about our great stay. We will definitely go back to this little magic place!

Michael

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zollikon Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

we spent 11 nights in this superb "maison d'hôtes" and we felt very comfortable during our stay. Marrakesch is a good place to roam around and to make trips to the sea side (Essaouira) and to the mountains. Our best taxi driver was nomade abdel, his phone number is +212 (0) 61 70 81 87. He gives a lot of explanations during the trip and is extremely courteous. And after each day, we were looking forward to come back to the Dar Asam, it was always like comimg home. The service in the Dar Asam is excellent and starts with a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Also dinner is excellent: you have the choice what you want to eat. We had an excellent stay! Thanks to all at Dar Asam.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

Unfortunately our stay at Dar Asam left us disappointed. Although the room was pleasant, the service was not up to basic standards. After spending our first night something seemed to have gone missing from our room as well. I wouldn't suggest staying in the heart of the medina either because the times we were left finding the place at night were fearful. Taxis not knowing where to go and hordes of Moroccan's trying to guide us home only to all get tipped. Not pleasant. The most frustrating would have been when upon our departure the owner of the riad left her security guard to give/explain our bill which was to ONLY be paid in Dirhams. At NO point in our four day stay did we get notified of this so we were left almost missing our flight because we had to get a taxi to bring us to a bank in order to take money out and return to pay the guard. If you do not take credit card or euros (which most other riads do ) WARN the clients upon their arrival, not on their departure when you know they are catching a flight. Lastly, the riad was COMPLETELY empty when we were there, and without asking us, the owner put us up in the most expensive rooms (albeit it was nice) and charged us the highest rate. In such a situation, one would only expect the choice of price/room. And if we were placed in the most expensive room we would only expect a decent rate compared to the other rooms in the riad since it was in fact empty.
All in all. I would not recommend this place. there are many other places near the main locations but not deep in the medina.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

we spent a week in Riad Dar Asam in June 2008 and had a wonderful time there.
The Riad is ideally located near the "souks" and not far from "place Jema el Fna" (less than 10 minutes walking).
The rooms are spacious and well decorated in a local but modern fashion and our bathroom was large, stylish and convenient too.
The breakfast is fantastic with "crepes", fresh fruits and fresh orange juice while you can enjoy the view on the "Koutoubia" from the roof terrace
I can only recommend this place for a short stay in Marrakech, the owner (nice french woman) lives there and is a very kind person

a satisfied traveller.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Asam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Asam

Address: 53 Bis, derb El Kadi | Quartier Azbezt, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Asam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the historical center and cultural of Marrakech, at 7 minutes ofPlace Jemma El Fna, Dar Asam is a cordial riad associating Eastern traditions and modernism for a stay of quality.Dar Asam offers a different art of living to you where wellbeing and intimacy invite to the relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Asam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Asam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.