We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Andaluz

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Andaluz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Al Andaluz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71, Diour Jdad Zaouia El Abassia | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Beautiful hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Riad with 2 friends for 5 nights, and I really recommend the place. It feels like home: the place is small, so you are not surrounded by people you don't know, and the staff takes amazing care of you. The breakfasts are prepared for you when you wake up, and the 'chef' is very talented! Apparently she comes from a renowned restaurant. The best tagine ever was served for us the night we arrived. They really make everything for your stay to be perfect. The only downside: it's a riad, and like every riad, you can hear the surrounding noise during the night so bring ear plugs with you, otherwise nights can be interrupted by the night call to the prayer. But it's also part of the charm of the region.
Location is very handy for taxis, it is situated just a couple of hundreds meters near a door (the old city is surrounded by a wall, and you can access it via main doors only).

Room Tip: All rooms are great! But if you are not an early bird, I'd avoid the one next to the kitchen fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for one week and it's was great! Basic, but nice rooms (very clean). The rooms are noisy, if you fart, the whole Riad can hear you :D The staff is very friendly, but they hardly speak english. So take some french lessons and the conversations wil go more easy.
You have to walk 20 minutes to the soukhs/ Djemaa el fna. On the other hand you are very close to the new city! Big supermarkets, Jardin Majorelle, ATM's and taxi's are in the neighborhood!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Well located, peaceful atmosphere, nice decoration,
not too many rooms with a highly devoted service, welcoming terrace on te roof. You definitely feel at home. Ideal for a spring break with friends !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Charming and quiet riad with friendly and relatively service-minded staff. Somewhat far from the Djeema El Fnaa and center of town, so be prepared for longer walk whenever you want to go where the action is (which you probably want to do most days). However, close to a city gate, so easy to get taxi etc. We had dinner one night at the riad - it was excellent and fortunately they DO sell wine.. ;) Very nice decor, but beds too hard for my personal liking and pillows of rather poor quality.

PS. Quiet riad as in very quiet neighborhood if you disregard cocks and mullahs saluting the coming of every morning. Inside the riad mostly everything can be heard once the other guests wake up and decide to go for breakfast etc., so bring ear plugs if you are very sound sensitive...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

A very nice riad with a good location near the gate to the Medina which makes it easy to get there by taxi - but walking of course is much more fun! A friendly staff, beautifull courtyard, fantastic rooftop terrace and very nice rooms. And the best olive-lemon-chicken we had i Marrakech! Just go there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was at the Riad Al Andaluz for a weekend with my boyfriend during the winter. I was treated like a princess by the staff at all moments of the day. They served breakfast on the terrace for us, brought our drinks while we were enjoying the sun on the roof top or a glass of rosé along the swimming pool. We also had lunch at the Riad and I have to say it was the best Moroccan food we experienced during our stay at Marrakech at a very reasonable price.
We were staying in the room "Fleur d'oranger" which I highly recommend. The decoration is just amazing with every single detail in line with the name of the room. The decoration of the Library is also particularly refined in a pure Moroccan style.
The Riad is located in a very calm area, still very convenient to reach the various interest points of Marrakech.
This was my 4th time in Marrakech and I have to say that Riad Al Andaluz was the best Riad I ever stayed in. I’d definitively stay there again next time I go to Marrakech. This is the best quality / price ratio I’ve experienced with a great refinement. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: All rooms are different and you should choose the style you prefer. However you may prefer a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the Riad very much. Very friendly and helpfull staff who pick up us at the airport. It's a litte bit to the far end of the souk but it fun to see that area too... and after sometime you can find you way home!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Andaluz

Address: 71, Diour Jdad Zaouia El Abassia | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#161 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Andaluz 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Marrakesh’s Medina, just minutes away from all the tourist attractions, renowned markets and appealing historic sights, the Riad Al Andaluz Guest House offers stylish Moroccan accommodation, an outdoor swimming pool and a comfortable rooftop terrace.As soon as you walk through its doors and lay your eyes upon the picturesque swimming pool in the internal courtyard you will feel the mood of your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Andaluz Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.