We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an amazing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Andaluz

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Andaluz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Al Andaluz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71, Diour Jdad Zaouia El Abassia | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Faaborg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such an amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We had booked the raid though the hotel we stayed at in Essaouira so when we got there with the taxi we though that the guy who came and spoke with the driver was from the hotel, but he wasn't he and ended up being 2 other guys took us to the Raid, and wanted 100 Dirham for less than 5mins walk, and they got very unpleasant shuting very laud and was very threatening, but the staff was very kind to us and took care of it. We ended paying them 30.

How ever every thing else in our 3 night stay was perfect. Both the room beautifull and bathroom was lovely, very very clean. The courtyard was so lovely with flowers and a small pool. The breakfast was ok, could have had a bigger selection, the dinner was very very good, very filling and very good value for money.

The staff was very helpfull, but didnt speak any english except the guy at the evening, who really tried his best in French/English, and did understand my little bit of French :-)

It is locaded just at the end of the media, which also makes it easier íf you are coming in with a taxi from airport or somewhere else in Morocco it is best to be drop of outside the medina, there is only 2 mins walk from there. It is easy to go into the median about 15 min, and in the evening it is a real expirence to walk around in the area. We felt very secure there, and had lovely food at the food stalls in the streets for only about 8 Dirham.

A real lovely stay, and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monterey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

The location, location, location is terrible. A taxi can't take you there. They (taxi drivers) leave you off in a dirty dusty taxi plaza where someone ( who expects money) has to walk you down narrow, dirty, winding alleyways to the riad. If you don't speak French, you're out of luck. The door on your room does not lock, so don't think about leaving valuables in your room. The bathroom door locks from the OUTSIDE. You feel like you have to whisper there. They overcharge for the meals. We never saw the owners, only their overpriced bill. If you go to Marrakech, stay in the center near the shops and the Medina. This place is too scary and way too far from the center. Don't do it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Although Riad Al Andaluz was very charming, there were serious problems with this place. The riad itself was very attractive, although you could not lock your room and you could not close the bathroom door from the inside. We think the owners are a French couple but we never met them, although we talked to Caroline by phone prior to arrival. We arrived to two local staff people who were very sweet - but as our French was very poor, we could not ask questions regarding how get around, etc., so we felt very isolated. The location was very difficult; it was at the edge of the Marrakech old town. We found it hard to find our way to the market and we (two women) were persistently pestered by men offering their services to find shops, etc. On our way back, we accepted help from a young man to find our riad and paid him very generously. He and his two friends were very belligerent in trying to make us pay more, backing us into the door of the riad while we were frantically pushing the doorbell. We paid, feeling threatened. We decided to leave after one night due to the difficulties in getting back and forth to the market and having no one we could ask questions of. We told the staff the night before. In the morning, a staff person gave us an email from Caroline, saying that we must pay for all 3 nights that we had originally booked due to their cancellation policy. They would not take a credit card, insisting on cash, although I did not see that in the booking policy. All in all, a very bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I stayed in this riad for 3 nights and it was fantastic.The two guys running the place could not have been more friendly if they had tried.They gave me maps of the area,made sure i did'nt get lost,asked when i'd like breakfast in the morning.I was worried that it might be too noisy for me but it was very quiet at night.I slept like a baby!If i go back to Marrakech i would definately stay here again.Was fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We spent 4 nights at this lovely Riad. We had a Canelle room which only cost us 40 Euros a night.
The Riad itself is VERY clean, tastefully decorated and cosy. In the evening you can sit by the pool, drinking mint tea served by very friendly and polite staff, who, unfortunately, only speak French. However, being able to say just a couple of sentences in French, we didn't really have any problems there.
The breakfast is rather nice but basic: freshly pressed orange juice, good coffee, bread, jam and traditional Maroccan pancakes (or whatever it was).
I absolutely loved the bathroom with its colourful tiles and a lovely sink. Would love to pack it all up and take home with me.
The riad is located in the North of Medina. It is VERY easy to find your way to the medina wall from there - and take a 15 dirham taxi to Jemaa al Fna.
However, we weren't too impressed by the dinner. The food was good but I wouldn't really pay 30 Euros for a basic soup, a chicken tagine and a fruit salad again. I'd say, 20 Euros would have been enough :)
We had a good experience communicating to Caroline, the English speaking manager, via e-mail so all in all I'd say: GO for it (and don't forget your Oropax or you'll be woken up by the muezzins ;)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallorca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

This was a fantastic riad really beautifully and tastefully decorated. If you want a riad that has been fully renovated but still has its moroccan charm and beauty in tact then i would happily recommend it. Fantastic price we only paid 104€ for two nights for the two of us, including breakfast. Has a gorgeous dipping pool in the courtyard and rooms are lovely. Ours had a polished concrete bath, sitting area and ac. worth noting that our friends room had no ac on the bottom floor so possibly worth checking before booking. Breakfast was the best we had in morocco (very simple but well done) served on the terrace. Only bad point and for us it was very minor and actually a plus in the end is it is a 15min walk from the start of the souks and 20 mins from the big square. It is tucked into the narrow streets and on first arriving (in our case at night) seems rather daunting walking down dark allays and in some places tunnels but you soon learn that all the medina looks like this and we actually felt safe in this area as it is quite residential. Our taxi arranged a guide to take us from bab taghzout (nearest square and taxi point) as you have to walk a couple of mins to get to the riad but i think you can arrange to be picked up by the hotel if you want. As a women I would not like to walk around on my own but I felt this in all of the medina except the very touristy areas, but be prepared to be hassled especially by groups little boys at night who want to be your guide and will hassle and follow you especially if you look lost (not hard to do!) be firm with them, try saying la (means no) shockran (thankyou) sometimes works! You get to see the real medina and its nice to be away from the heavy tourist areas. The web site photos are very honest and I will post photos soon when home.

  • Liked — Fantastic price for a really beautiful and tastefully renovated riad + dip pool is great as very hot in july.
  • Disliked — location as on the edge of the medina
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Andaluz

Address: 71, Diour Jdad Zaouia El Abassia | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#161 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Andaluz 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Marrakesh’s Medina, just minutes away from all the tourist attractions, renowned markets and appealing historic sights, the Riad Al Andaluz Guest House offers stylish Moroccan accommodation, an outdoor swimming pool and a comfortable rooftop terrace.As soon as you walk through its doors and lay your eyes upon the picturesque swimming pool in the internal courtyard you will feel the mood of your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Andaluz Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.