We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Midst of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dixneuf La Ksour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dixneuf La Ksour to your Saves list
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Derb Sania No. 16 | Bab Ksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nissi47
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Midst of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Our stay at Dixneuf La Ksour felt more like staying with friends than staying at a hotel. Our room was tastefully decorated and impeccably clean, and we arrived to a nice plate of Moroccan pastries and sweet mint tea. The pool was gorgeous, and a GREAT respite after a hot day in the souks, and the friendly staff served us beer and olives on the rooftop terrace--couldn't ask for anything better!
The staff was incredibly sweet and helpful. The manager, Christian, was even nice enough to lend my friend and I some dirhams on our first day there before we had a chance to get to an ATM.
Great location, too--super close to the souks, but once you're inside the riad, you feel like you're transported to another world. Incredible value for the money-breakfast on the rooftop terrace was included too-perfect way to start the day. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
156
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

we returned last week from a fantastic trip to Marrakech, staying in the wonderful Riad dixneuf la ksour for nearly a week.
I would like to give this establishment full marks for service, atmosphere and surroundings.
We really needed to relax and get some time away from the children, and I couldn't fault our choice of Riad at all.
Not only is the hotel perfectly positioned in a quiet street, it is easy to navigate to the centre of the city. The building was faultlessly re-stored to it's former glory, and its style was chic and well considered.
Our stay was luxurious and comfortable and our needs were catered for by a wonderful cook - whose food was delicious and attentive staff.
Best of all though was the personal hospitality paid to us by the manager of the riad - Christian.
Nothing has been too much trouble and he has looked after us with great consideration.
I cannot recommend the Riad dixneuf la ksour highly enough and plan to return and stay there soon I hope. (if the kids will let me!)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I stayed at the riad for a few days last week and enjoyed every minute of it.
Dominique, the manager, and Muhammed, his assistant, went out of their ways to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfasts and lunches served on the roof were delicious and the views breathtaking. Attention to detail and service are of a 5-star hotel. Highly recommended. Very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

This riad is SUPERB - it is a five star riad experience and I recommend it as one of the best places I have stayed in the world. We happened on it by chance as I trawled the 100s of riads available in Marrakech, hoping for something special but affordable. When I saw their website I was hooked - the photos are so artistic and reflect the quiet elegance and good taste which permeates this riad. All correspondence from Dominique the manager was so courteous and welcoming that we booked 2 nights at the end of our Moroccan holiday. Riad dixneuf exceeded my expectations a hundredfold. We arrived hot, tired and dirty after a 3 day camel trek but the moment we walked through the door our tiredness melted away and we felt transported to another world. I cannot overstate how wonderful Dominique was and how beautiful this riad is. We had the Suite Medersa and our son had the Suite Menzeh. He couldn't believe his eyes - a luxurious bed, a very spacious room and a beautiful black marble bathroom and separate toilet. Our suite was equally spacious with an antique cast iron bath and the best rainshower I have ever found. Tadelakt plastered walls in a large shower space and a rainshower head that drops water on you as if you are caught in a tropical downpour - glorious! The bedding was pure cotton, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the furnishings were carefully chosen antique pieces I would love to have taken home.
All rooms were furnished with restraint and exquisite taste, unlike many of the riads where there is such a profusion of colours and textures that it can be quite overwhelming.
The central courtyard has a large pool (by riad standards) and there are several communal rooms leading off this space with antique leather armchairs, framed historical photos of old Marrakech, and African masks and spears.
Breakfast was served by Mohammed on the rooftop terrace overlooking the city and looking towards the Atlas mountains - freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt, fresh pancakes and home made bread and preserves (see photo). We had one meal at the riad and it was definitely the finest meal we ate in Morocco - carrot and ginger soup followed by bastilla (a chicken pie cooked with spices, eggs, almonds, cinnamon and sugar and wrapped in phyllo pastry) then a rice pudding that was very light and fragrant.
The riad is in a perfect location for the medina - walk out the door and within seconds you can be haggling for a light, a rug or some babouches, but walk back inside the riad and you are in your private retreat. We were not woken by the call to prayer as we had been at other riads, and we really enjoyed the sound of the water in the courtyard - it was very relaxing. By the way there is a very good lighting shop just to the right as you go out the door - I noticed it because it was the only shop I saw which was staffed by women. When I was in there the women were packaging a dozen or so giant (waist height) hurricane lamps to ship to a new hotel in Italy. This riad truly is only 2 minutes walk to the D'Jamaa El F'Na square.

However it is not just the quality of the furnishings that makes this a five star experience. It is Dominique and his staff. Nothing is too much trouble for Dominique - tired and thirsty we craved a cool glass of wine and a beer for our son - 'no problem. Within ten minutes we were watching the sunset from the rooftop with a lovely bottle of rose and a local beer as well as a selection of hors d'oeuvres. We wanted a quick inexpensive meal that was good quality - no problem - Mohammed walked us to a neighbouring riad where we had a very good pizza or two. Internet access? Shopping advice? Sightseeing? Car to the airport? No problem. Dominique is a frenchman who now lives in Marrakech. Like the Riad Dixneuf he is also elegant and refined but so welcoming. We cannot thank him enough for his kindness to us during our stay, going out of his way to make our visit relaxing and enjoyable.

I thoroughly recommend this riad to anyone who wants to be in the medina. It is incredible value for the rate charged. Book it quickly before everyone else discovers it!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

this riad is beautifully decorated and dominique, the owner goes out of his way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. you can treat the riad like your own home, and lounge in one of the many lovely corners. breakfast on the roof is served by the ever smiling muhammed. all in all a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#33 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Samarkand
Riad Samarkand
#29 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#17 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dixneuf La Ksour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dixneuf La Ksour

Address: Derb Sania No. 16 | Bab Ksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dixneuf La Ksour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within La Ksour area,only a few minutes walking distance from Djema El Fna square, the riad has a stunning patio with a swimming pool, two lounges, six rooms and sumptuous terraces .It is beautiful designed and decorated with very comfortable bedrooms, suitable both for leisure or business tourists. An excellent Moroccan food is especially designed for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dixneuf La Ksour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dixneuf La Ksour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.