We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“discreet luxury conveniently located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dixneuf La Ksour

Save Saved
You added Riad Dixneuf La Ksour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Derb Sania No. 16 | Bab Ksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Athens
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“discreet luxury conveniently located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is a small boutique hotel very nicely designed and clean. The stuff is very helpful and pleasant and Mustafa really made our stay easier.
we stayed both at the Leon room with had an excellent bathroom, and the Menzeh with a nice sitting area on the maharabiat. The bathroom though has a tub only and it is not that easy to shower in it. The dinner they arranged for us in house was excellent and in general is something worth trying. the location in the medina is also top. it is very close to the souks but not in the hectic parts of it and very close to a road where you ca find a taxi. we would definetle go there again.

Room Tip: consult the pictures on the hotel's site they are very descriptive of each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
133
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay here. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived and the staff were amazing. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a beautiful riad, however our experience was sullied by the manager Michele.

Clearly she was the one who was the foreign "face" for the customers, but had no clue what was going on to arrange things for guests. She promised us a cooking class via email prior to our arrival, so we didn't book one elsewhere, but when we arrived on site they could not arrange a market visit so we had a rather large kerfuffle over what was promised. Even our bill was a surprise -- we were nickel-ed and dime-d from the 2 euro breakfast egg to the cooking class being quoted as 25 euros, but then she charged us another 15 euros to eat the lunch we had just cooked! Were we meant to take the cooking class and not eat the food? Preposterous! She should have just quoted the entire price to begin with.

To make things worse, after we were taken by surprise by the bill, she answered phone calls and took her sweet time even though we had explained to her several times what time our train was. Which I thought was just rude. She had also arranged several dinners for us and didn't bother remembering the details, and even once claimed that she hadn't been responsible for booking one of the restaurants for us, which she had confirmed over email. If you're going to run a riad or hotel, I would think attention to guest detail is one of the most important skills to have for a personal experience.

On the other hand Muhammed and Mustafa were both amazing. Muhammed was patient, courteous, diligent and he guided us to the markets and made sure we had a very pleasant experience overall. He scrambled to make things happen that Michele had promised and was very earnest when he was worried we were not enjoying our stay.

On the plus side, and these are HUGE plusses, this is a great value for money - we got a large room for half the price of the other riad we stayed in on our way back through Marrakech. The riad itself is gorgeous, not over done, well-appointed with dark wood furniture and cream walls, quiet and nice hideaway from the madness of the Medina. The food is also delicious. Our recommendation is that if you're going for the first time to Marakech you may want to stay in the neighborhood to the north of the souks, though this location is very convenient for the large square.

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs near the roofdeck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brigitteb19, Propriétaire at Riad Dixneuf La Ksour, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Madam,
I am the owner of the riad Dixneuf-la-Ksour.
First of all i would like to thank you for choosing the riad while visiting Marrakech.
I am sorry to learn that your stay in the riad was not enterely up to your expectations.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had to face.
I already got in touch with our manager Michèle,in order to fix the failure in communication which apparently were troublesome in that case.
On the other hand, Mohammed and Mustapha will be personnaly thanked for their effectiveness.
However, i would like to make a few clarifications on our billing documents that you found troublesome.
We serve breakfast at the riad and according to our guest, are generally perceived as generous. But as usual in other hotels in the world, any supplementary item must be charged.
Of course i regreat that you have not been told about that.
With regard to cooking classes, they are planned according to availability of our cook which means that it cannot be every day and must be planned at the riad.
The lesson is charged 35 euros for lunch time, including the market visit, preparation for a three courses lunch.
Unfortunately your invoice mentionned two sorts of billing, one for the market visit and making meal and one for the lunch, mistake which give you the feeling that you were paying twice for the same thing.
On this matter also, we will make sure that this kind of misunderstanding will not appear again.
Thank you again for your interest in our riad and i hope that you may have a chance to comme visit us again and hopefully without any sort of inconvenience that you face last time.
Best regards
Brigitte Bourger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

After a 3 days 2 nights trip at the Sahara Desert, we arrived Riad Dixneuf la Ksour and were amazed by the beautiful decor and the quiet environment, so different from the medina outside! Everything was just perfect. Lovely dinner at the Riad, highly recommended! Very comfortable bed and beddings, had a super good sleep after the tiring trip! Breakfast was great as well, love the home made bread and yoghurt! Only stayed for a night which is not enough, will definitely go back on my next stay at Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We privatised the Riad with a group of friends for a week-end and it was perfect. Everything was perfect: the decoration, the service, the location, the staff, etc... we only spend 2 nights but feel at home. The Riad is beautiful. The rooms are well designed with a traditional decor. The beds are very comfortable. We slept tremendously well. The service was impeccable. The staff is friendly and very professional. The owner Michelle was very helpful. She recommended wonderful places to go and even booked restaurant and club for us. We ate at the riad the first night which I highly recommend. The food was delicious as well as the breakfast. The Riad is also very well situated to visit the Medina and its surroundings, but it also easy to find and close to taxi. The best place to enjoy Marrakech!!

Room Tip: Sabah room has two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 and the Riad was perfect - atmospheric, beautiful, and clean. The service was first class and we were very well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcowdy@hotmail.com
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

What can I say that has not already been said about this beautiful riad. As this was our first visit to Marrakech I wanted a more authentic experience so chose to stay in a riad as opposed to one of the many luxury hotels, and I am so glad I did. This was total luxury!!! To first experience the madness of the souks,roads with no apparent traffic regulations, mopeds, bicycles and donkey carts coming at you from all directions, and then to ring the bell at Number 19 and be greeted by a welcoming smile in a splendidly tranquil setting was sheer bliss!!!! The calming decor, the beautiful fresh flowers, comfortable seating by the plunge pool, and the peace and quiet of it all, nothing was missing!!! All 6 beautiful rooms were full but somehow Muhammed and Mustafa made you feel that you were the only people there. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a beautiful breakfast each morning and Atika made the most delicious omelettes for my husband. We had dinner in the riad the night of our arrival and it was so delicious we decided to cancel one of our other reservations and had a second meal in .The location is ideal for the souks and the square or alternatively the Ville Nouvelle. When you have been lost several times, walked for miles and miles, been unknowingly led into yet another carpet shop, and just had enough of the everyday hustle, bustle and heat, step inside Number 19, you are home !!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dixneuf La Ksour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dixneuf La Ksour

Address: Derb Sania No. 16 | Bab Ksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dixneuf La Ksour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within La Ksour area,only a few minutes walking distance from Djema El Fna square, the riad has a stunning patio with a swimming pool, two lounges, six rooms and sumptuous terraces .It is beautiful designed and decorated with very comfortable bedrooms, suitable both for leisure or business tourists. An excellent Moroccan food is especially designed for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dixneuf La Ksour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dixneuf La Ksour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.