We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Douceur Mandarine

Save Saved
You added Riad Douceur Mandarine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Douceur Mandarine
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 derb blal riad zitoune jdid | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Germany
1 review
“Friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This Riad is a great place to stay. It was my first time in Marrakech with my 12 year old daughter. We were well looked after and Stephan and Sylvie spent time each day advising us on where to visit each day. Mounir was also very friendly. We loved the Riad's location and its welcoming and tranquil atmosphere proved a welcome escape from the madness of the Souks. The room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast served on the terrasse was well presented and we loved every bit of our holiday. We arranged a trip to the Atlas Mountains through the Riad and really enjoyed it! All in all, a fantastic place to stay and a great holiday destination

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hello, Thank you for this nice comment. We were pleased to receive you and give you all the information to discover Marrakech, the Medina and the Atlas. We are happy to know that you have good and beautiful memories of Marrakech and Riad.
Maybe soon, thank you for your visit,
Sylvie
Riad Douceur Mandarine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    38
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
71
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very good location,tasteful design, glorious rooftop and very quiet despite being in the heart of the busy Medina (old town) with the main square just 10 mins walk away. The owners, Stephane & Sylvie, were fantastic hosts, giving a very inclusive and welcoming feeling, as well as being available every morning over a generous breakfast for local tips and helpful advice. Would highly recommend this hotel to other couples travelling to Marrakech and won't hesitate to return on our next visit .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Reading previous views decided to cancel reservations elsewhere and purchase a Groupon offer to stay at Riad Douceur Mandarine for six days. Both myself and my friend were not to be disappointed.

Riad Douceur Mandarine personifies an air of tranquility and calm in decor, and style from the moment you step in. Either one of the proprietors Stephane or Sylvie were available each morning to advise, and assist to plan your day or to arrange tours.

This was my friends first visit to Marrakech, who welcomed the location, which was very close to the medina, Jemaa el Fna and souks. If you like walking you can easily get to some local tourist attractions and the New City on foot. Of course this may be dependent on how hot the day is!! When not out and about it felt good to relax in the terrace read a book.

Our stay in Riad Douceur Mandarine was an asset which helped to ensure our stay was perfect from pick-up to drop-off. We both really appreciate Stephane and Sylvie for the hospitality as well as the members of staff who were also on hand during the day to assist. Thanks also for making arranging our trip to the Atlas mountains valleys, visit to a Berber family, the new market and aromatherapy centre. with Aziz. Well worth a trip and had a great day. Note the price did not really vary from booking online which again was another bonus.

Will definitely recommend Riad Douceur Mandarine to family and friends. Once again thanks.

Room Tip: Recommend if possible a room on the first level as opposed to the ground floor so as not too be dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in this riad. Stephane and his wife are two lovely people and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and relaxed - something you will need in a city which can be so overwhelming. The place itself is immaculate and has very comfortable rooms with great bathroom facilities. If I was to return to Marrakech I would stay here with no hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First trip to Marrakech and first time in a riad. Douce Mandarine does what it says on the box. It is peaceful and hidden away from the main bustle but is quite handy for Bahia Palace and the Jemma al Fnaa is only 10 mins on foot. Saw Stephane only at breakfast and he was charming and informative. The rest of the staff are very capable and friendly. We arrived early evening and were glad of the pre-arranged taxi and driver to take us in as it would be nigh-on impossible to find by yourself the first time. We had ordered an evening meal which was home cooked and delicious and every day the breakfasts were lovely with fresh juices, yogurt, or fruit salad and little pancakes, toast, moroccan bread small pastries and a selection of jams, not to mention eggs any which way!.

If I have to make any comment regarding improvement I'd request a shower screen and perhaps access to a fridge. Bed was extremely comfortable with lovely linen. I don't know how much English the other staff speak by the way, but Stephane is fluent. I would recommend this riad.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more private than ground floor but beware the sweeping and furniture moving on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this riad in July and had a very relaxed stay. Although the owners were not there, obviously they have chosen reliable and very friendly staff. I dealt with Mounir most of the time and though my French is horrible (yes, yes, had it all the time through my high school/secondary school but is is absolutely my worst foreign language!) he managed to communicate with me. Traveling alone it was nice to have a friendly person to talk to.
This was my third time in Marrakech, but what a lovely riad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed with my daughter (11 yrs) in this riad for two nights in May 2013, on our first trip to Marrakech. I always try to avoid hotels, wherever possible, and to look for B&B, maisons d’hotes , riad etc , looking for that extra personal touch. Riad Doucer Mandarine fully satisfied this need. Stephan, the owner, took the time on a Sunday morning to give us lengthy advice for our 3-day trip in the desert (btw, wonderful experience, especially for kids and young people, or people young inside…at least). Having someone that serves you a delicious, home-cooked breakfast at 5:00 in the morning (and smiling!) is something we have also truly appreciated and makes you feel valued as a guest.
The room, at ground floor, would not have been my choice as I love bright and noiseless rooms, but it was the only available at the time. Yet, we found the bed really comfortable, enjoyed the big bathroom with wet floor shower (the kind of detail I love because I associate it more to holidays than to business trips), and loved the mix of modern and (not overly) ethnic style, which encounters my taste. A spotlessly clean room, which is something that should not be taken for granted, as we learned later on while staying at other places within the same price range. As a woman with a young girl I had some concerns about walking at night through the medina alleys, but I saw security cameras installed here and there and felt somewhat safer. We enjoyed walking back and forth to the square (at midnight the alleys were still full of people) and became quick to get off the motorbikes way.
The extra personal touch of our experience with this riad struck us once already back in Europe, when I realized we had forgotten our jackets. Stephan found them and kindly went out of his way to return them to us by post. This is the kind of care for the guests that people dream to find when they travel but that unfortunately is becoming rare nowadays… so we were twice as lucky!!
We thank you again Stephan for his kindness and thoughtfulness and if we’ll ever go back to Marrakech we will definitely choose his charming riad, but won’t leave anything behind, ça va sans dire.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms, for less noise and more brightness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Douceur Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Douceur Mandarine

Address: 10 derb blal riad zitoune jdid | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Douceur Mandarine 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Douceur Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Douceur Mandarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.