We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Douceur Mandarine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Douceur Mandarine to your Saves list
Riad Douceur Mandarine
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 derb blal riad zitoune jdid | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
france
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First trip to Marrakech and first time in a riad. Douce Mandarine does what it says on the box. It is peaceful and hidden away from the main bustle but is quite handy for Bahia Palace and the Jemma al Fnaa is only 10 mins on foot. Saw Stephane only at breakfast and he was charming and informative. The rest of the staff are very capable and friendly. We arrived early evening and were glad of the pre-arranged taxi and driver to take us in as it would be nigh-on impossible to find by yourself the first time. We had ordered an evening meal which was home cooked and delicious and every day the breakfasts were lovely with fresh juices, yogurt, or fruit salad and little pancakes, toast, moroccan bread small pastries and a selection of jams, not to mention eggs any which way!.

If I have to make any comment regarding improvement I'd request a shower screen and perhaps access to a fridge. Bed was extremely comfortable with lovely linen. I don't know how much English the other staff speak by the way, but Stephane is fluent. I would recommend this riad.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more private than ground floor but beware the sweeping and furniture moving on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this riad in July and had a very relaxed stay. Although the owners were not there, obviously they have chosen reliable and very friendly staff. I dealt with Mounir most of the time and though my French is horrible (yes, yes, had it all the time through my high school/secondary school but is is absolutely my worst foreign language!) he managed to communicate with me. Traveling alone it was nice to have a friendly person to talk to.
This was my third time in Marrakech, but what a lovely riad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henrivantilburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed with my daughter (11 yrs) in this riad for two nights in May 2013, on our first trip to Marrakech. I always try to avoid hotels, wherever possible, and to look for B&B, maisons d’hotes , riad etc , looking for that extra personal touch. Riad Doucer Mandarine fully satisfied this need. Stephan, the owner, took the time on a Sunday morning to give us lengthy advice for our 3-day trip in the desert (btw, wonderful experience, especially for kids and young people, or people young inside…at least). Having someone that serves you a delicious, home-cooked breakfast at 5:00 in the morning (and smiling!) is something we have also truly appreciated and makes you feel valued as a guest.
The room, at ground floor, would not have been my choice as I love bright and noiseless rooms, but it was the only available at the time. Yet, we found the bed really comfortable, enjoyed the big bathroom with wet floor shower (the kind of detail I love because I associate it more to holidays than to business trips), and loved the mix of modern and (not overly) ethnic style, which encounters my taste. A spotlessly clean room, which is something that should not be taken for granted, as we learned later on while staying at other places within the same price range. As a woman with a young girl I had some concerns about walking at night through the medina alleys, but I saw security cameras installed here and there and felt somewhat safer. We enjoyed walking back and forth to the square (at midnight the alleys were still full of people) and became quick to get off the motorbikes way.
The extra personal touch of our experience with this riad struck us once already back in Europe, when I realized we had forgotten our jackets. Stephan found them and kindly went out of his way to return them to us by post. This is the kind of care for the guests that people dream to find when they travel but that unfortunately is becoming rare nowadays… so we were twice as lucky!!
We thank you again Stephan for his kindness and thoughtfulness and if we’ll ever go back to Marrakech we will definitely choose his charming riad, but won’t leave anything behind, ça va sans dire.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms, for less noise and more brightness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sissi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay, excellent value for money and staff are friendly.

Really nice roof terrace.

Would recommend arranging a taxi transfer with the Riad as it would be difficult to find when first arriving.

Regret leaving to go to Agadir.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Many thanks to you for your very nice review. Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent a long weekend with a friend in this Riad, and I am already planning to come back not only to Marrakesh but to the Douceur Mandarine
Lovely riad, perfect location, great value for money and excellent service!
Didn't matter at what time we would wake up, they would always be happy to serve us breakfast (lovely btw) wherever we wanted it (we liked to have on the terrace, but they would be equally happy to serve in the lounge or in your room
We tried the hammam with gommage and massage - definetely an experience!
Doesn't matter at what time we were coming back at night, Mounir was also welcoming us with a smile
The location was great, just a few minutes walk from the Souk, the main square, the taxis and the Palace.
Stephan gave us great reccomendations for restaurants for dinner
I totally reccomend it!

Room Tip: if you want pricacym, take one on the first floor if you love to use the communal lounge, go for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandafab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
thank you to you , it was a pleasure to welcome and meet you both.
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Riad is located in the heart of the Medina. To get there we recommend you book a taxi via Stephan & Sylvie for pick-up from the airport. Important if you are arriving late as finding your way through the narrow meandering lanes to the Riad may be a challenge if it’s your first time to Marrakesh.

Oh and pre arrange dinner for the first night as the local restaurants are in our opinion average.

Once you walk through the main door, which you can’t help noticing as the majority of the doors are amazing works of art in the Medina, you are treated to a visual a paradise benefiting from a balanced fusion of authentic and modern furnishing and decorations. You may enjoy this feeling as initial impressions when walking through the narrow lanes for first-timers to the Medina may cause a little apprehension.

Our room as well was a just as nice. Very comfortable bed and good sized bathroom with a wet room styled shower. We were located on the upper floor. Note the locks on the doors appear cumbersome but you can make a decision as to whether you really need to lock it.

Our hosts Stephan / Sylvie and our night manager Munim (hope I spelled his name correctly), looked after us really well and made sure we had all the information we required.

We quickly worked out that official guides / security were located in the lanes of the Medina, wearing high visibility waistcoats, passes around their necks with walky talkies, were there for the benefit of tourists. We used them the first night to find our way around (at 23:30), after that we learned our routes and felt very safe. (We went out a number of times returning back well after midnight via empty lanes with no problems)

Breakfast was fine which comfortably prepared us for our days discovering Marrakesh.We also spent some time on the roof for breakfast and for enjoying some lazy afternoons winding down after busy days in the souks.

We loved it at the Riad Douceuer although our French is not that good (tip, do brush up on your French) everybody there including the house maids and waiting staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HousePeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much to you, it was a real pleasure to welcome you.
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Riad Douceur Mandarine is a haven from the full-on assault of the senses that is Marrakech. No matter which member of staff opens the door when you return after an exhausting days haggling in the Souks you will be greeted with a smile and a friendly Bonjour/Bon Soir!

We recommend that unless you're an experienced traveller in this part of the World that you ask Stéphane and Sylvie to book a taxi to collect you from the airport because the Riad is hard to find. On arrival in the city the taxi driver parked as close as he could and led us through the narrow streets to the door. On our return trip to the airport the taxi company even sent a porter with a trolley for our suitcases!

Our family had two rooms. We would recommend being upstairs if you prefer more privacy and less noise. The rooms were stylishly decorated, the showers were powerful and always hot and bathrobes and toileteries were provided.

On our first night we had booked dinner at the Riad and this was cooked by the lovely Bouchra. We had three courses which included a superb lemon chicken tagine and a surprisingly good bottle of Moroccan red wine. We felt the meal was good value and eating in on your first night makes things a lot less stressful.

We found the breakfasts to be plentiful and an effort was made to vary each day's offering. We were also offered eggs and yoghurt in addition to the bread and pastries.

Nothing is too much trouble for Stéphane and Sylvie. They were always on hand at breakfast time and offered lots of helpful advice and recommendations.

Sylvie arranged for my wife to have a body scrub and massage in the riad's own hammam. This was much less scary than going to a local one! She was gone for ages and returned saying that she'd never felt so smooth, clean and relaxed! She felt it was good value, especially with the mint tea and Moroccan pastries afterwards!

We had a fantastic day trip to the mountains with a great guide, Adil and this can be booked through the Riad. We would definitely recommend this as it was one of the highlights of our trip.

The Riad is in a good position and although you might feel a little intimidated to start with you soon realise that the locals are friendly and you are unlikely to be hit by a scooter if you keep your wits about you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBingoBango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It is always rewarding to receive a such good review. Many thanks to you.
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#117 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#160 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#74 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#161 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Douceur Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Douceur Mandarine

Address: 10 derb blal riad zitoune jdid | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Douceur Mandarine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Douceur Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing