We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cozy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Douceur Mandarine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Douceur Mandarine to your Saves list
Riad Douceur Mandarine
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 derb blal riad zitoune jdid | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice and cozy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Choosing this riad in place of a hotel was a very good idea. This is my second visit to marrakech and my first riad experience. I liked it and I wont hesitate to do it again. The riad is in the old city, the house was clean and traditional. The roof is a very goodplace to take breakfast and to relax in case it was a sunny day. The room was confortable and something special was the bedsheet and the mattress were exceptional !
The staff were very nice , we met bouchra that welcomed us with moroccan tea. The next day we met Stephan that made sure that everything was fine .
The cons:
The place is a little bit overpriced so we couldnt try their meals and massage.
In the bathroom there no bath curtain and the electricity was unprotected so this s a safety concern that I think was the main cons of that place.

Would definitely do it again and recommend it for others!

Room Tip: We were in Saada room and I recommend it, I dont know abt the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    44
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
84
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just got back from a beautiful 5 days in Marrakech. The Riad was the best part of the trip. it was like a home away from home. Stephane and Sylvie were brilliant & the Riad is a true secret of the Marrakesh. its right in the middle of the craziness that is the Medina and the main square is a comfortable 10 minute walk away. watch out for the scooters and the constant call of the shop owners. never buy at the first shop you see and always start bargaining at half the price quoted by the shop keeper.
If you want some winter sunshine and wish to see some clear blue skies this is the place to go, and this Riad is awesome with its roof terrace which is a dream sun catcher.
The trip arranged to the Atlas mountains by the raid, was spectacular and Not to be missed.
I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough, I am a constant traveller and cannot remember the last time I enjoyed the accommodation so much and where I felt so welcome.
The breakfast provided was varied and interesting and the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
many thanks to you for this so lovely review.
see you soon
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
334 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are fancy arab ambience and narrow street, Riad Douceur Mandarine is a great place to stay. The access alleys look like a place you would't go at night, but don't worry - you are safe and sound at all times. The area has a great charm when the lights are on.
Our room faced a tiny atrium in the centre of the house as is normal in arab cities. Hence no view from the window, only looking stright up into the smy or down into the breakfast area. Everything was very neat and clean.
The breakfast was OK, but not abundant. The host turned on a heater then it was too chilly.
Well, the French/Morrocan host actually annoyed us a bit. We probably annoyed him as well in that we did not want to buy any of his expensive sightseeing tours. When we asked him where we could park our hired car he more or less told us that we were crazy and that we would never manage to drive anywhere in Marrakech. But eventually he did tell us where to park, and after collecting the car we found the right places, five minutes walk from the Riad. You can't drive any closer, so trying to drive here straight from the airport is maybe not the best idea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in this beautiful Riad in Marrakech medina and couldn't recommend it higly enough. It was like a god-send to step into this calm and peaceful haven after the crazy streets of the medina. The Riad is so tastefully decorated in traditional moroccan fashion and was such a relaxing place to end our Moroccan trip. The staff are so helpful and made our stay one to remember. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It was wonderful to welcome you at home. thank you so much for this stay.
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Comfort, calm, beautiful, graciously helpful staff, delicious food, owners who are generous with their time, expertise, and their selves!! As the other reviews state, Marrakech is crazy upon first arrival. When Hassad greeted us at the door, our cares melted away.
We stayed in many hotels and 2 more riads on this trip and Riad Douceur Mandarine was the best....hands down. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Review the photos. They do not misrepresent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
WOUAH !!! what a very very nice review. just few words to say that it was so easy to welcome. You were perfect guests. really !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I bought a 4 night trip to Marrakech as a Christmas present for my sister and after alot of research settled on the Riad Doucuer Mandarine and was not disappointed. If you have not been to Marrakech before then it is easy to be quite intimidated by the city on arrival as it is a crazy place however it is far safer than it first appears and once you have adjusted to their lifestyle an amazing place to visit. Riads are tucked away inside the medina and hard to find so I would definately advise arranging the airport transfer with the owners as you may struggle to find it but once you arrive you will be given a map (which was well used!) and the area explained fully by Sylvie or Stefan (who are so helpful and kind)

An immaculately clean property, comfortable and well equipped, with staff that are lovely. The roof terrace is beautiful and it was a shame we could not use it as much as we would have liked to due to the weather being a little cooler in Feb. Breakfast was basic but plentiful and they are happy to accommodate your requests.Wifi in the rooms works well, and despite being cool in the evenings the airconditioning worked well to heat the room quickly. The bathroom is large with plenty of hot water although the shower a little low down for me as I am almost 6 foot, but was not a real problem.

10 minutes to the main square through a residential area with friendly locals, and although can seem a little intimidating at first you soon realise nothing could be further from the truth. I had been to Marrakech once before and stayed in a large hotel. Big mistake! Riads are traditional and beautiful and the only way to make your stay complete. Would definately stay at Riad Douceur Mandarine again......in fact planning to take our mum later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks a lot for this veyr nice review.
and maybe see you soon
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We are a couple and have just come back from Marrakech we stayed at Riad Douceur Mandarine , it has a fantastic location, we organised a airport transfer and the taxi driver walked us to the riad, it was quite a relief as I am sure we would have got lost. The location is perfect it is tucked away about 10 mins from main square, on a cobbled street, it is a residential area and the kids outside are always bidding you goodnight and morning it just has a great atmosphere. Stefan could not have been more helpful on arrival he gave us a map and told us what attractions to visit and the 'dos and donts'. The riad is very clean, with a beautiful terrace with a jacuzzi, the food in the riad itself is fantastic. We decided to eat at the riad and had a beautiful meal and it was incredibly romantic. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this riad, and will definitely stay again if I go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Douceur Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Douceur Mandarine

Address: 10 derb blal riad zitoune jdid | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Douceur Mandarine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Douceur Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Douceur Mandarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.