We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing & Unforgettable trip in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Douceur Mandarine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Douceur Mandarine to your Saves list
Riad Douceur Mandarine
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 derb blal riad zitoune jdid | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing & Unforgettable trip in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just got back from a beautiful 5 days in Marrakech. The Riad was the best part of the trip. it was like a home away from home. Stephane and Sylvie were brilliant & the Riad is a true secret of the Marrakesh. its right in the middle of the craziness that is the Medina and the main square is a comfortable 10 minute walk away. watch out for the scooters and the constant call of the shop owners. never buy at the first shop you see and always start bargaining at half the price quoted by the shop keeper.
If you want some winter sunshine and wish to see some clear blue skies this is the place to go, and this Riad is awesome with its roof terrace which is a dream sun catcher.
The trip arranged to the Atlas mountains by the raid, was spectacular and Not to be missed.
I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough, I am a constant traveller and cannot remember the last time I enjoyed the accommodation so much and where I felt so welcome.
The breakfast provided was varied and interesting and the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
many thanks to you for this so lovely review.
see you soon
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    40
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nakskov, Denmark
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are fancy arab ambience and narrow street, Riad Douceur Mandarine is a great place to stay. The access alleys look like a place you would't go at night, but don't worry - you are safe and sound at all times. The area has a great charm when the lights are on.
Our room faced a tiny atrium in the centre of the house as is normal in arab cities. Hence no view from the window, only looking stright up into the smy or down into the breakfast area. Everything was very neat and clean.
The breakfast was OK, but not abundant. The host turned on a heater then it was too chilly.
Well, the French/Morrocan host actually annoyed us a bit. We probably annoyed him as well in that we did not want to buy any of his expensive sightseeing tours. When we asked him where we could park our hired car he more or less told us that we were crazy and that we would never manage to drive anywhere in Marrakech. But eventually he did tell us where to park, and after collecting the car we found the right places, five minutes walk from the Riad. You can't drive any closer, so trying to drive here straight from the airport is maybe not the best idea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in this beautiful Riad in Marrakech medina and couldn't recommend it higly enough. It was like a god-send to step into this calm and peaceful haven after the crazy streets of the medina. The Riad is so tastefully decorated in traditional moroccan fashion and was such a relaxing place to end our Moroccan trip. The staff are so helpful and made our stay one to remember. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It was wonderful to welcome you at home. thank you so much for this stay.
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Comfort, calm, beautiful, graciously helpful staff, delicious food, owners who are generous with their time, expertise, and their selves!! As the other reviews state, Marrakech is crazy upon first arrival. When Hassad greeted us at the door, our cares melted away.
We stayed in many hotels and 2 more riads on this trip and Riad Douceur Mandarine was the best....hands down. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Review the photos. They do not misrepresent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
WOUAH !!! what a very very nice review. just few words to say that it was so easy to welcome. You were perfect guests. really !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I bought a 4 night trip to Marrakech as a Christmas present for my sister and after alot of research settled on the Riad Doucuer Mandarine and was not disappointed. If you have not been to Marrakech before then it is easy to be quite intimidated by the city on arrival as it is a crazy place however it is far safer than it first appears and once you have adjusted to their lifestyle an amazing place to visit. Riads are tucked away inside the medina and hard to find so I would definately advise arranging the airport transfer with the owners as you may struggle to find it but once you arrive you will be given a map (which was well used!) and the area explained fully by Sylvie or Stefan (who are so helpful and kind)

An immaculately clean property, comfortable and well equipped, with staff that are lovely. The roof terrace is beautiful and it was a shame we could not use it as much as we would have liked to due to the weather being a little cooler in Feb. Breakfast was basic but plentiful and they are happy to accommodate your requests.Wifi in the rooms works well, and despite being cool in the evenings the airconditioning worked well to heat the room quickly. The bathroom is large with plenty of hot water although the shower a little low down for me as I am almost 6 foot, but was not a real problem.

10 minutes to the main square through a residential area with friendly locals, and although can seem a little intimidating at first you soon realise nothing could be further from the truth. I had been to Marrakech once before and stayed in a large hotel. Big mistake! Riads are traditional and beautiful and the only way to make your stay complete. Would definately stay at Riad Douceur Mandarine again......in fact planning to take our mum later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Douceur Mandarine, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks a lot for this veyr nice review.
and maybe see you soon
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We are a couple and have just come back from Marrakech we stayed at Riad Douceur Mandarine , it has a fantastic location, we organised a airport transfer and the taxi driver walked us to the riad, it was quite a relief as I am sure we would have got lost. The location is perfect it is tucked away about 10 mins from main square, on a cobbled street, it is a residential area and the kids outside are always bidding you goodnight and morning it just has a great atmosphere. Stefan could not have been more helpful on arrival he gave us a map and told us what attractions to visit and the 'dos and donts'. The riad is very clean, with a beautiful terrace with a jacuzzi, the food in the riad itself is fantastic. We decided to eat at the riad and had a beautiful meal and it was incredibly romantic. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this riad, and will definitely stay again if I go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This little riad hidden in the small alleys of the medina is a nice and very clean riad. In the midst of all the hustle and bustle the riad will offer you a great place of rest. Not only the rooms are very nice and quiet, they are all facing the patio. The rooms on the ground floor are a bit dark which might be nice in summer, as the terrace was already very bright in March. The rooms are well equipped but simple, all that in a fusion of modern and marrocain style, we loved it. Also the roof terrace is very peaceful and is overlooking the surrounding area, on clear days the Atlas can be seen, too. Our days started just great with a friendly breakfast (I loved the fresh orange juice) and a very friendly staff who was always happy to help. We haven't tried any dinner in the riad as many restaurants and bars can be reached within a few minutes only. A great choice of hammams is within walking distance, too.

If you're looking for a simple but nicely kept little riad, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Douceur Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Douceur Mandarine

Address: 10 derb blal riad zitoune jdid | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Douceur Mandarine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Riad Douceur Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Douceur Mandarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.