We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Choumissa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Choumissa to your Saves list
Dar Choumissa
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 derb labzioui, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #579 of 1,102 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“safe in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Together with my wife I made a tremendous trip through Marrocco that ended with 3 days in Marrakech. A unforgettable city with the biq square and the Souks. Our trip brought us from Agadir at the coast ( Hotel La Porte des Etoiles) to Tafroute in the anti Atlas mountains (hotel Chez Amaliya) to Marrakech. There we stayed in Dar Choumissa) It was our first trip in Marrocco. I you must know that all 3 hotels were very very very hospitabile, with good rooms and good beds! See also our recommendation for the other hotels. In this way you can make your own trip through Marrocco in a proper and save way.
Dar Choumissa was our safe heaven after days and evenings walking through the souks and over the big square. Everybody wants something from you. So at the end of the day you want some rest.
Darr Choumissa is in the centre about 5 minutes walking from The big Square. The staff is very helpful and while we stayed here for 4 nights we could notice that every morning there was an other surprise at the breakfast. The little things that you feel that you are welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Originally just booked for one night, but once we arrived found there was no need to go anywhere else! Dar Choumissa is beautiful and ideally located (although a little difficult to find at first, due to lack of street names) within a 5 minute walk of the main square. The staff are lovely and very helpful, with enough basic English to answer most general queries. However, some French or Arabic is useful if you want detailed recommendations/advice, as we did, which they were more than happy to provide. Plus they make a mean breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our family (2 adults and children ages 8 and 10) enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room the largest, was delightful and exotic. Staff was great and the breakfast good. Perhaps expensive but we didn't shop around. We really enjpyed the location-- close to medina but not in a super touristic area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla La Nueva, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

The Dar Choumissa was great for our purposes. We booked the 4 person room, which was spacious and beautiful. It has a great location just down the street from the main square, a helpful staff, and a DELICIOUS breakfast. Seriously, the breakfast makes it worth it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Me and my Moroccon boyfriend booked this hotel for 1 night.
However, when we arrived there was a finger pointed to me and the men in the hotel told me; "You are Welcome, but your friend here (finger pointed at my boyfriend) not!We were told that when you are not married you can not sleep in this hotel.
The guy was not friendly.
We went to another Riad were we were before and we were very welcome there.

The day after the Hotel took money from our Visa acoount with the words that we were not there on the day that we booked!

Nice hotel, no! They discriminate!
So, our advice...look for another Riad in Marrakech. There a so much nice places were everybody is Welcome!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

I stayed in this riad for two nights with my boyfriend.
It's very convenient location, just 5 min walk to the main jamma el-fna square.
The riad is very pretty and clean, and staff provided amazing hospitality with professional manner. They have very nice breakfast in a terrace. I definitely want to stay there again if I would go to Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends. The rooms are basic but spacious and clean. Staff extremely helpful although you might need to use a few words of French. The water pressure on the first floor made showering tricky but my friends on the ground floor said their shower was great.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Choumissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Choumissa

Address: 14 derb labzioui, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 1,102 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Choumissa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad of charm with swimming pool for an authentic stay in Marrakesh... "Choumissa" means sun in Moroccan, an attractive name for an attractive riad in Marrakesh. Very well situated in the medina, in 2mn on foot, by the place(square) Jema El Fna, Dar Choumissa is a very easily accessible riad. Compound(made up) of 6 rooms(chambers), a patio, a swimming pool and a terrace on the roof, our hosts' house welcomes you in a peaceful atmosphere in colors and Moroccan flavors... Have breakfast typically Moroccan, fresh(cool) orange juice, crêpes(pancakes) Moroccans, bread and jams house, olive oil … Under the Berber tent, Dar Choumissa proposes you a table d'hôte of season. Dar Choumissa proposes you the exclusive rent of Riad in Marrakesh for 20 people. Take advantage of charms of our hosts' house Marrakesh, for your stay in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Choumissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Choumissa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.